|

12 Best Books Like And They Lived By Steven Salvatore

Meet Chase Arthur, a young animator who adores Disney films and dreams of finding true love. But Chase battles deep insecurities—he’s recovering from an eating disorder, struggles with body image issues, and is questioning his gender identity.

Starting college is tough, especially when he misses his sister, needs to make new friends, and faces competition from his ex-best friend Leila for a coveted mentorship.

Everything takes a turn when he meets Jack Reid, a thoughtful poet eager to explore life beyond his sheltered upbringing. Their relationship challenges Jack, who is still figuring out his sexuality, as he’s grown up in a conservative family. When Jack’s parents and childhood friend visit campus, their prejudiced views threaten their budding love.

Chase must embark on a journey of self-love, learning to accept himself, while Jack grapples with his past beliefs to discover what it truly means to live and love authentically.

In this blog, we are listing down the best books like And They Lived by Steven Salvatore.

Books like And They Lived by Steven Salvatore
And They Lived… by Steven Salvatore

Best Books Like And They Lived By Steven Salvatore

Here’s the quick run through of the best books like And They Lived by Steven Salvatore

  • Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertelli
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
  • More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
  • The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth
  • Girl Mans Up by M-E Girard
  • Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy
  • Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram
  • The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
  • I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
  • We Are Okay by Nina LaCour
  • The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali by Sabina Khan
  • Autoboyography by Christina Lauren

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda By Becky Albertelli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli is a popular young adult novel that follows the life of Simon Spier, a high school student who is gay but has not come out to his friends and family. His world is turned upside down when his emails with an anonymous classmate known as “Blue” are discovered by another student.

As the emails reveal their true selves and their growing feelings for each other, Simon must confront the challenges of coming out, dealing with friendship dynamics, and discovering the identity of his secret crush, Blue. 

It is a heartwarming and humorous coming-of-age story that resonates with readers of all ages and backgrounds. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda has been praised for its LGBTQ+ representation and its portrayal of the challenges and triumphs of a young person’s journey to self-acceptance and love.

Aristotle And Dante Discover The Secrets Of The Universe By Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz is a young adult novel that revolves around the deep and transformative friendship between two teenage boys, Aristotle “Ari” Mendoza and Dante Quintana. Set in the 1980s, the story follows Ari and Dante as they navigate the complexities of adolescence, family, and identity.

Ari, a quiet and introspective young man, and Dante, an open and artistic soul, forge a deep bond as they explore their Mexican-American heritage, grapple with their feelings of isolation, and confront questions about their sexual identities. Together, they discover the profound and sometimes painful truths about themselves and the universe.

More Happy Than Not By Adam Silvera

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera is a young adult novel that delves into the complexities of identity, memory, and self-acceptance. The story is set in a near-future world and follows the life of Aaron Soto, a teenager living in a gritty neighborhood in the Bronx.

Aaron is dealing with a range of challenges, including his father’s suicide, financial struggles, and his own confusion about his identity and sexuality. When he meets Thomas, a charismatic and understanding boy, he begins to develop feelings he can’t ignore. However, Aaron lives in a society where a new medical procedure called the “Leteo Institute” can erase unwanted memories, and he becomes increasingly desperate to forget his feelings and avoid facing the prejudice of those around him.

The Miseducation Of Cameron Post By Emily M. Danforth

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth is a young adult novel that follows the life of Cameron Post, a teenage girl grappling with her sexual identity and coming to terms with her attraction to other girls. The story is set in the early 1990s and begins with Cameron’s discovery of her feelings for her best friend, Irene.

After her parents die in a car accident, Cameron is sent to live with her conservative and religious Aunt Ruth in a small town in Montana. Here, she must navigate the challenges of her newfound identity in an environment that promotes conversion therapy and attempts to change her sexual orientation. Despite the adversity she faces, Cameron forges connections with other LGBTQ+ individuals, forming a supportive and understanding community.


RELATED POSTS

15 Best Books Like They Both Die At The End By Adam Silvera
9 Best Dystopian Books Like Hunger Games: My Ultimate List
The Best John Grisham Books: Must-Reads For Legal Thriller Fans


Girl Mans Up By M-E Girard

In Girl Mans Up by M-E Girard, Pen Oliveira faces a profound struggle to be her authentic self. Pen has always identified as a girl, but her appearance and behavior don’t conform to traditional gender expectations. This leads to misunderstandings and criticism from those around her who believe she’s attempting to be something she’s not.

In an effort to gain acceptance and respect, Pen is pressured to conform to societal norms and her family’s expectations, including dressing and behaving in ways that don’t feel true to her identity. She also faces challenges in her friendship with Colby, who expects her to fall in line with his desires.

As Pen grapples with these conflicting pressures, she begins to realize that the concepts of respect and loyalty are far more complex than they initially seem. She discovers that adhering to others’ expectations and suppressing her true self leads to emptiness and dissatisfaction.

In the midst of old-world parental values, crumbling friendships, and her growing feelings for other girls, Pen embarks on a journey of self-discovery. She learns that to truly embrace who she is and be authentic, she must summon the courage to defy societal norms and expectations, even if it means facing challenges and misconceptions head-on.

Ramona Blue By Julie Murphy

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy is a young adult novel that tells the story of Ramona “Blue” Leroux, a teenager from a small town on the Gulf Coast of Mississippi. Ramona is known for her tall stature and striking blue hair, which she dyes herself. She’s always felt like she doesn’t quite fit in, but she’s also been the rock for her family, especially her younger sister.

Set against the backdrop of Hurricane Katrina recovery and the challenges of small-town life, Ramona Blue is a poignant exploration of the fluidity of sexuality and self-acceptance.

Darius The Great Is Not Okay By Adib Khorram

Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram is a young adult novel that tells the story of Darius Kellner, a teenage boy who struggles with feelings of inadequacy and displacement. 

Darius is a half-Persian, half-American teenager who often feels like he doesn’t quite fit in anywhere. He’s bullied at school and doesn’t have a strong sense of cultural connection with his Persian heritage.

The novel takes a significant turn when Darius and his family travel to Iran to visit his maternal grandparents. During this trip, Darius begins to connect with his Persian roots, form meaningful relationships, and discover a sense of belonging he had never felt before. He befriends Sohrab, a neighbor and soccer enthusiast, who helps him navigate his newfound sense of identity and acceptance.

The novel offers readers an intimate and emotionally resonant journey through Darius’s life as he learns to appreciate and embrace all that makes him who he is.

The Gentleman’s Guide To Vice And Virtue By Mackenzi Lee

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee is a historical young adult novel that combines adventure, romance, and humor. 

The story is set in the 18th century and follows the adventures of Henry “Monty” Montague, a young British aristocrat, as he embarks on a grand tour of Europe with his best friend Percy and his sister Felicity.

Monty, who is bisexual, struggles with the expectations of his overbearing father and the constraints of societal norms. As the trio sets out on their journey, they encounter highwaymen, pirates, and political intrigue, leading to a rollicking adventure filled with danger and romance. Monty’s feelings for Percy, his best friend, are at the center of the story, and their relationship deepens as they face challenges together.

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a captivating and enjoyable read that combines historical fiction with LGBTQ+ representation and is beloved by readers of all ages.

I’ll Give You The Sun By Jandy Nelson

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson is a young adult novel that tells the intricate and emotionally charged story of twins, Noah and Jude Sweetwine. The narrative is split into two timelines, alternating between the perspectives of the siblings at the ages of thirteen and sixteen.

Thirteen-year-old Noah is an artistic and introspective boy struggling with his identity and budding romantic feelings for the charismatic boy next door. Sixteen-year-old Jude, once a carefree girl, faces her own challenges after a tragic event.

Through lyrical prose and vivid imagery, I’ll Give You the Sun captures the raw emotions and transformative experiences of adolescence. It is a powerful and moving story about acceptance, forgiveness, and the healing power of creativity, making it a compelling read for both young adult and adult readers.

We Are Okay By Nina LaCour

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour centers around Marin, a college freshman who has isolated herself in an empty dormitory over winter break, far from her California hometown.

Marin is grappling with profound sadness and a sense of abandonment following the death of her beloved grandfather and the painful revelation of family secrets. Her best friend, Mabel, unexpectedly visits her during the break, leading to a heartfelt and emotionally charged reunion that forces Marin to confront her past and the emotions she’s been trying to bury.

The novel beautifully delves into themes of friendship, family, love, and the ways in which people cope with grief. Nina LaCour’s lyrical writing style and evocative storytelling create a moving and introspective narrative that explores Marin’s journey towards acceptance and the possibility of finding hope and connection amid loss.

The Love And Lies Of Rukhsana Ali By Sabina Khan

The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali by Sabina Khan is a young adult novel that tackles important themes of identity, family, love, and cultural expectations. The story follows Rukhsana Ali, a high school senior living in Seattle, who is secretly in a romantic relationship with her girlfriend, Ariana.

Rukhsana’s world is turned upside down when her conservative Bangladeshi parents discover her relationship and force her to travel to Bangladesh to consider an arranged marriage. In Bangladesh, Rukhsana must navigate the challenges of her family’s expectations, cultural traditions, and the struggle to be true to herself and the person she loves.

Autoboyography By Christina Lauren

Autoboyography by Christina Lauren is a young adult novel that revolves around Tanner Scott, a bisexual teenager, who moves to a conservative town in Utah. Set against the backdrop of a writing class, Tanner decides to join a prestigious seminar where the students are challenged to pen a novel within the school year.

During the class, Tanner finds himself drawn to Sebastian Brother, his talented and charismatic classmate, and mentor. However, Sebastian is a devout Mormon and openly gay relationships are not accepted in their community. As Tanner and Sebastian grow closer, they must navigate their feelings amidst societal and religious pressures, leading to a heartfelt and emotional journey of self-discovery, love, and acceptance.

Books Like And They Lived By Steven Salvatore – Final Thoughts

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *