10 Wonderful Books Like Anna and the French Kiss (Must-Read Alternatives)

If you’re in the mood for a heartwarming and enchanting story like Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, then get ready to fall in love with these must-read alternatives. 

Each of these books captures the essence of young love, self-discovery, and unforgettable adventures, guaranteeing a delightful reading experience.

Books like Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

From the gelato-filled streets of Italy in Love & Gelato to the magical and whimsical world of Eleanor & Park, these books will transport you to different places and introduce you to characters that will capture your heart.

Whether you’re looking for a love story that will make you swoon or a coming-of-age tale that will leave you feeling inspired, these books are perfect for any reader who enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss.

Books Like Anna and the French Kiss – Quick List

  1. Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch
  2. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
  3. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
  4. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Lara Jean Covey
  5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  6. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
  7. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  8. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
  9. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
  10. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

01. Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Love & Gelato is a heartwarming novel by Jenna Evans Welch that takes readers on a journey to the romantic city of Florence, Italy. The story follows Lina, a young girl who is sent to live with her estranged father in Italy after her mother’s death. As Lina explores her new surroundings, she discovers a journal written by her mother during her own time in Italy, revealing secrets and a past that Lina never knew.

With its beautiful setting and a mix of romance, mystery, and self-discovery, Love & Gelato is a perfect read for fans of Anna and the French Kiss. Like Anna, Lina finds herself in a foreign country and falls in love while navigating personal struggles and uncovering family secrets. Both novels capture the magic and excitement of being in a new place and finding unexpected connections.

In Love & Gelato, readers will be swept away by the descriptions of Italian culture and the mouthwatering descriptions of gelato. Welch’s writing brings Florence to life, making readers feel like they are right there with Lina as she explores the city’s landmarks and tries to solve the mysteries of her mother’s past.

Overall, Love & Gelato is a delightful and captivating read that captures the essence of love, adventure, and self-discovery. Fans of Anna and the French Kiss will enjoy this heartwarming tale set in Italy, making it a must-read alternative for those craving a similar romantic and immersive experience.

10 Great Books Like A Gentleman In Moscow (For the Sophisticated Reader)

02. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Isla and the Happily Ever After is a heartwarming young adult novel written by Stephanie Perkins. It tells the story of Isla Martin, a shy and introspective girl who attends a boarding school in Paris. Isla has secretly crushed on Josh, a talented artist, for years, but she never worked up the courage to talk to him. However, when the two unexpectedly cross paths in New York City during the summer, their lives take unexpected turns.

Like Anna and the French Kiss, Isla and the Happily Ever After explores themes of love, self-discovery, and the challenges of navigating relationships. It takes readers on a journey filled with romance, friendship, and personal growth.

Stephanie Perkins’ writing style is engaging and captures the essence of young love. Readers will find themselves rooting for Isla and Josh as they navigate their feelings and face obstacles together.

If you enjoyed the cozy romance and Parisian backdrop of Anna and the French Kiss, Isla and the Happily Ever After is a must-read alternative. It is a charming and heartfelt story that will leave you with a warm and fuzzy feeling long after you finish reading.

Related: 18 Remarkable Books Like Every Last Word: Recommended List

03. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is a heartwarming young adult novel written by Jennifer E. Smith. It follows the story of Hadley Sullivan, a teenager who meets a charming British boy named Oliver while traveling to her father’s wedding in London.

The novel explores the idea of fate and coincidences, as Hadley and Oliver’s paths continue to cross throughout the story. As they spend more time together, they embark on a journey of self-discovery and learn about the complexities of love and relationships.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight delves into themes of family, forgiveness, and the importance of being open to new experiences. It captures the excitement and uncertainty of falling in love for the first time and reminds readers that sometimes, love can be found in the most unexpected places.

This book is perfect for fans of Anna and the French Kiss who are looking for a heartfelt and romantic story with a touch of destiny. It explores similar themes of young love and personal growth and is sure to captivate readers with its relatable characters and engaging storytelling.

Related: 10 Stunning Books Like It Happened One Summer (Recommended Reads)

04. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Lara Jean Covey

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is a heartwarming young adult novel written by Jenny Han. It follows the story of Lara Jean Covey, a high school student who writes love letters to all the boys she’s had a crush on and keeps them in a secret box. However, her life takes an unexpected turn when the letters are accidentally sent out, and she must navigate the consequences.

This charming and relatable story explores themes of love, identity, and the challenges of growing up. It captures the complexities of teenage emotions and the ups and downs of first love. If you enjoyed the romance and coming-of-age elements in Anna and the French Kiss, you’ll likely find To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before to be a delightful read.

Jenny Han’s writing is engaging and full of heartfelt moments that will leave you rooting for Lara Jean and her journey of self-discovery. The book also features a diverse cast of characters and addresses important topics such as family, friendship, and cultural identity.

If you’re looking for a similar read that will make you swoon and warm your heart, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is definitely a must-read. So grab a copy and get ready to immerse yourself in Lara Jean’s love story and the captivating world created by Jenny Han.

Related: 12 Heartwarming Books Like The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

05. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars is a heartbreaking and poignant young adult novel written by John Green. It tells the story of Hazel and Gus, two teenagers living with cancer who meet at a support group. As they navigate their illness and falling in love, they find hope, joy, and meaning in their limited time together.

The novel explores themes of love, friendship, mortality, and the search for meaning in the face of adversity. John Green’s writing is known for its wit, humor, and emotional depth, making The Fault in Our Stars a must-read for fans of Anna and the French Kiss.

Like Anna and the French Kiss, The Fault in Our Stars captures the complexities of young love and offers a realistic portrayal of teenage experiences. It delves into the raw emotions and challenges faced by teenagers dealing with serious illnesses, while also highlighting the beauty of life and the power of human connection.

If you enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss, The Fault in Our Stars is a book that will tug at your heartstrings and leave you with a renewed appreciation for the fragility and beauty of life.

Related: 20 Heart-stopping Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens 

06. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & Park is a heartwarming young adult novel by Rainbow Rowell that tells the story of two misfit teenagers who find solace in each other’s company. Set in the 1980s, the book explores themes of love, friendship, and the challenges of navigating adolescence.

The novel follows the unlikely connection between Eleanor, a red-haired girl with a troubled home life, and Park, a half-Korean boy who loves music and comic books. As they bond over shared interests and experiences, their relationship grows deeper and they begin to discover the power of first love.

Eleanor & Park beautifully captures the complexities of teenage emotions and the struggles of fitting in. Rowell’s writing style is both poignant and realistic, making it easy for readers to connect with the characters and become absorbed in their story.

This book is a must-read for fans of Anna and the French Kiss and anyone who enjoys emotional and character-driven coming-of-age stories. Eleanor & Park is a touching and honest portrayal of young love that will tug at your heartstrings and leave a lasting impression.

Related: 10 Books Like When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

07. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl is a young adult novel written by Rainbow Rowell. It tells the story of Cath Avery, a college freshman who is an avid fanfiction writer and a dedicated fan of the Simon Snow book series. As Cath navigates the challenges of her first year of college, she must also confront her fears of change and find her own voice.

The novel explores themes of identity, family, friendship, and finding one’s place in the world. It delves into the world of fanfiction and the online fandom community, highlighting the power of storytelling and the connections that can be formed through shared interests.

Cath is a relatable and complex protagonist, and her story will resonate with anyone who has ever felt like an outsider or struggled with self-doubt. Fangirl is a heartwarming and engaging coming-of-age story that captures the excitement and anxieties of entering adulthood.

Readers who enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss will appreciate the similar themes of self-discovery and the exploration of relationships. Fangirl offers a unique perspective on the experience of being a fan and the transformative power of storytelling.

Related: 15 Great Books Like No Longer Human by Osamu Dazai

08. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

My Life Next Door is a captivating young adult novel written by Huntley Fitzpatrick. The story follows the life of Samantha Reed, a responsible and rule-following teenager, who has always been intrigued by her next-door neighbor’s chaotic and unconventional lifestyle.

The Garretts, a loud and boisterous family with nine kids, are the complete opposite of Samantha’s own tightly controlled household. But when Samantha’s curiosity leads her to a secret late-night rendezvous with Jase Garrett, she finds herself drawn into the warmth and love of his family.

As Samantha and Jase’s relationship deepens, she discovers the complexities of family, love, and the true meaning of home. But their romance is not without its challenges, and Samantha must navigate the expectations of her own family and the obstacles that stand in their way.

My Life Next Door is a heartwarming and thought-provoking novel that explores themes of first love, family dynamics, and the choices that shape our lives. It is a must-read for fans of Anna and the French Kiss who are craving another heartfelt and engaging story.

Related: 13 Great Books Like Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow: Ultimate List

09. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Lola and the Boy Next Door is a captivating young adult novel written by Stephanie Perkins. It tells the story of Lola, a quirky and creative teenager who finds herself caught between her current boyfriend and her long-time crush and next-door neighbor, Cricket Bell.

Lola is a unique and fashion-loving character who expresses herself through her extravagant and ever-changing outfits. Readers will be drawn to her colorful personality and relatable struggles as she navigates the complexities of teenage love and self-discovery.

The novel is set in the vibrant city of San Francisco, which serves as a backdrop for Lola’s journey of personal growth and understanding. From exploring the city’s diverse neighborhoods to attending the famous Bay Area Costume Ball, the setting adds charm and excitement to the story.

Lola and the Boy Next Door explores themes of identity, acceptance, and the importance of following one’s heart. Stephanie Perkins’s writing captures the emotions and dilemmas of adolescence with wit and authenticity, making it a must-read for fans of Anna and the French Kiss and anyone looking for a delightful and heartwarming contemporary romance.

Related: 19 Great Books Like Normal People by Sally Rooney: Best Titles

10. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour is a heartwarming and adventurous coming-of-age story written by Morgan Matson. The book follows Amy Curry, who is dealing with the loss of her father and a cross-country move, and Roger Sullivan, an old family friend who offers to drive her from California to Connecticut.

As they embark on their road trip, Amy and Roger navigate the ups and downs of life while exploring new places and discovering themselves along the way. The book explores themes of grief, friendship, self-discovery, and the healing power of travel.

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour is praised for its engaging storytelling, well-developed characters, and vivid descriptions of the various locations they visit during their journey. The inclusion of playlists, photographs, and road trip memorabilia adds an immersive element to the reading experience.

Readers who enjoyed the romance, travel, and personal growth aspects of Anna and the French Kiss will likely find Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour to be a compelling read. It captures the essence of a transformative journey and the unexpected connections that can be formed along the way.

Related: 18 Books Like Divergent: The Ultimate Reading List

Books Like Anna and the French Kiss – Final Say

If you enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss and are looking for similar books to dive into, you have plenty of options to choose from. 

Whether you’re seeking another heartwarming romance or a coming-of-age story filled with self-discovery, the books listed above are sure to capture your attention and leave you eagerly turning the pages.

So, grab a cozy blanket, curl up with a cup of tea, and get ready to fall in love with new characters and captivating stories. Happy reading!

8 Comments

  1. Great list! I’m an active reader and “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Lara Jean Covey” is my favorite. I’ll check “Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch” because it seems interesting and Florence, Italy is a beautiful place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *