| |

18 Books Like Divergent: The Ultimate Reading List

Becoming a huge success as a film, Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth is a full-pledge delectable meal for someone who’s a deep fan of dystopian genre. Prior to that, Divergent series is a consistent New York Times Bestselling books.

If you’re a fan of the thrilling dystopian world of Divergent, I am curating the following highly related books! From heart-pounding action to complex characters, these books like Divergent will keep you on the edge of your seat and leave you craving for more.

Get lost in the dangerous games of survival in The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, uncover the mysteries of The Maze Runner by James Dashner, and dive into the captivating world of Legend by Marie Lu. With this ultimate reading list, you’ll find plenty of exciting dystopian novels to satisfy your craving for thrilling adventures.

Books Like Divergent Trilogy of Veronica Roth

The Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth is a highly popular young adult dystopian series that is perfect for fans of the Divergent series. Set in a post-apocalyptic Chicago, the series follows the story of Beatrice “Tris” Prior as she navigates a society divided into five factions based on different virtues.

Books Like Divergent by Veronica Roth
Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

The first book, Divergent, introduces us to Tris and her journey of self-discovery as she discovers she doesn’t fit into just one faction and is labeled as Divergent. In the second book, Insurgent, Tris continues her fight against the oppressive faction system while uncovering secrets about her society. The final book, Allegiant, explores the wider world outside of Chicago and delves deeper into the origins of the faction system.

The Divergent Trilogy is filled with action, suspense, and complex characters. It explores themes of identity, conformity, and the consequences of extreme ideologies. If you enjoyed the thrilling and thought-provoking nature of the Divergent series, you might also enjoy the following books:

  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner
  • Legend by Marie Lu
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry
  • The Selection by Kiera Cass
  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  • Matched by Ally Condie
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  • The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
  • Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
  • The Gone Series by Michael Grant
  • Article 5 by Kristen Simmons
  • The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
  • Unwind by Neal Shusterman
  • The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau
  • The Host by Stephenie Meyer
  • The Mortality Doctrine Series by James Dashner

These books offer similar themes of dystopia, rebellion, and the struggle against oppressive societies. They will keep you on the edge of your seat and leave you wanting more.

01. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games is a dystopian young adult novel written by Suzanne Collins. It is set in a post-apocalyptic world where the government selects teenagers from various districts to participate in a televised fight to the death. The story follows Katniss Everdeen, a young girl who volunteers to take her younger sister’s place in the games.

The Hunger Games is a thrilling and action-packed series that explores themes of survival, sacrifice, and rebellion. It is similar to Divergent in its dystopian setting and strong female protagonist. If you enjoyed the fast-paced and suspenseful nature of Divergent, The Hunger Games is a must-read.

Other books in The Hunger Games series include Catching Fire and Mockingjay, which continue Katniss’s journey and the fight against the oppressive Capitol. These books have captivated readers around the world with their gripping storytelling and complex characters.

If you’re looking for more books like Divergent, The Hunger Games is a great choice. It will keep you on the edge of your seat and leave you wanting more.

02. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner is a thrilling dystopian novel that follows the story of Thomas, a young boy who wakes up in a place called the Glade with no memory of how he got there. The Glade is surrounded by a deadly maze that changes every night, making escape seemingly impossible.

As Thomas explores the Glade and interacts with the other boys who are trapped there, he becomes determined to find a way out and uncover the secrets of the maze. The tension and suspense build as Thomas and his friends face dangerous creatures known as Grievers and race against time to solve the maze’s mysteries.

The Maze Runner is the first book in a series by James Dashner and is filled with action, suspense, and twists that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. It explores themes of survival, friendship, and the lengths people will go to overcome challenges and find freedom.

If you enjoyed the fast-paced and high-stakes world of Divergent, The Maze Runner is a must-read. It will draw you into its gripping storyline and leave you eager to devour the rest of the series.

03. Legend by Marie Lu

Legend is a dystopian young adult novel written by Marie Lu. Set in a future where the United States has been divided into two warring factions, the story follows two protagonists: June, a 15-year-old military prodigy, and Day, a notorious criminal. When June’s brother is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect, their paths cross and they uncover a conspiracy that could change the fate of their nation.

Legend is a thrilling and fast-paced novel that explores themes of government corruption, class inequality, and the power of love and sacrifice. With its well-developed characters and gripping storyline, it is sure to captivate fans of the Divergent series.

04. The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Giver, written by Lois Lowry, is a dystopian novel that explores themes of conformity, individuality, and the dangers of an overly controlled society. Set in a future world where emotion and choice have been eliminated, the story follows Jonas, a young boy who is chosen to be the Receiver of Memory and tasked with holding the memories of the past.

Through Jonas’s journey, the novel raises thought-provoking questions about the importance of human emotion, freedom of choice, and the value of individuality. It paints a vivid picture of a seemingly perfect society that is, in reality, deeply flawed.

The Giver is a compelling read that will captivate fans of dystopian fiction, particularly those who enjoyed the themes and unique world-building of Divergent. Just like Divergent, The Giver explores the struggle against societal control and the desire for individuality. It challenges readers to think about the consequences of a world without pain and suffering, and the importance of human connection and emotion.

If you enjoyed Divergent and are looking for similar books that delve into dystopian societies, complex characters, and thought-provoking themes, then The Giver is a must-read. It is a thought-provoking and impactful novel that will stay with you long after you turn the final page.

05. The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection by Kiera Cass is a dystopian young adult novel set in a post-apocalyptic society where a young girl named America Singer is chosen to participate in a competition to win the heart of Prince Maxon and become the future queen. The book explores themes of love, friendship, and social hierarchy.

In a world divided into different castes, America finds herself torn between her loyalty to her family and her growing feelings for Prince Maxon. As she navigates the challenges of the selection process, she discovers that there is more at stake than just her own happiness.

The Selection offers a unique twist on the dystopian genre, with its focus on romance and the complexities of relationships. It combines elements of fantasy, politics, and social commentary, making it a compelling read for fans of Divergent and similar dystopian novels.

If you enjoyed the fast-paced action and strong female protagonist of Divergent, you will likely find The Selection to be a captivating and engaging read. It offers a fresh take on the dystopian genre with its emphasis on romance and the intricacies of the selection process.

06. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen is a thrilling dystopian novel by Victoria Aveyard that is perfect for fans of Divergent. Set in a world divided by blood – with Reds being the commoners and Silvers possessing supernatural abilities – the story follows Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl who discovers she has powers of her own.

Mare finds herself caught in the middle of a dangerous political game when it is revealed that she has abilities that are usually exclusive to the ruling Silvers. She is thrust into the Silver court, where she must navigate a treacherous world of power, betrayal, and rebellion.

With its captivating story, strong female protagonist, and themes of social inequality and revolution, Red Queen is sure to satisfy fans of action-packed dystopian novels like Divergent. The book is the first in a series, followed by Glass Sword, King’s Cage, and War Storm, offering readers plenty of thrilling adventures to dive into.

If you enjoyed the fast-paced action and intense world-building of Divergent, Red Queen is a must-read that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

07. Matched by Ally Condie

Matched is a dystopian young adult novel written by Ally Condie. Set in a future society where every aspect of a person’s life is controlled by the government, Matched follows the story of Cassia who is matched with her perfect partner by the system. However, when a glitch in the system shows her an alternative match, Cassia begins to question the conformity and control of her society.

The themes of love, freedom, and rebellion are central to Matched. Like Divergent, it explores a world where individuality is suppressed and challenges the concept of a perfect society. Cassia’s journey parallels Tris’ from Divergent as she discovers her own agency and fights against the restrictions placed on her.

If you enjoyed the thrilling and thought-provoking nature of Divergent, Matched is a must-read. It will capture your imagination and leave you questioning the limits of personal freedom in a controlled society.

08. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium is a dystopian novel by Lauren Oliver that takes place in a world where love is considered a disease and is therefore eradicated through a medical procedure. The story follows Lena, a young girl who is approaching her procedure but begins to question the system and fall in love.

In Delirium, Lauren Oliver creates a gripping and thought-provoking exploration of a society where emotions are suppressed and controlled. The novel delves into themes of love, freedom, and rebellion, while also examining the consequences of a world without love.

The world-building in Delirium is vividly imagined, with a detailed portrayal of a society governed by strict rules and regulations. As readers follow Lena’s journey, they are drawn into a captivating tale of self-discovery and defiance against a repressive regime.

Delirium is the first book in a trilogy, followed by Pandemonium and Requiem. The subsequent books further develop the story and expand upon the themes introduced in the first installment.

If you enjoyed Divergent and are looking for similar books with dystopian settings and strong female protagonists, Delirium is a must-read. Lauren Oliver’s captivating storytelling and exploration of complex themes will keep you engrossed until the last page.

09. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave is a thrilling dystopian novel by Rick Yancey that follows the story of Cassie Sullivan, a young girl who is trying to survive in a world that has been invaded by alien forces. The novel is set in a post-apocalyptic world where humanity is on the brink of extinction.

The aliens, known as “The Others,” have unleashed a series of devastating waves of attacks on Earth, wiping out most of the population and leaving chaos and destruction in their wake. Cassie must navigate through this dangerous and uncertain world as she searches for her younger brother, who has been taken by The Others.

As Cassie fights to stay alive and protect her loved ones, she must also uncover the truth about The Others and their true intentions. The 5th Wave is filled with suspense, action, and a touch of romance, making it a gripping read for fans of Divergent and other dystopian novels.

Rick Yancey’s vivid and immersive writing style brings the story to life, and his complex and relatable characters add depth and realism to the narrative. The 5th Wave is the first book in a trilogy, followed by The Infinite Sea and The Last Star, offering readers a complete series to immerse themselves in.

If you enjoyed the fast-paced action and high-stakes plot of Divergent, The 5th Wave is a must-read. It will keep you on the edge of your seat as you delve into a world filled with danger, betrayal, and the fight for survival.

10. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Ender’s Game is a science fiction novel that follows the story of Ender Wiggin, a young boy who is chosen to train at Battle School, a prestigious military academy in space. The novel explores themes of war, leadership, and the ethics of human survival.

Set in a future where Earth is at war with an alien species called the Formics, Ender’s Game combines elements of action, strategy, and moral dilemmas. As Ender progresses through his training, he faces challenges and tests that push him to his limits, both intellectually and emotionally.

One of the standout aspects of Ender’s Game is its exploration of complex characters and their motivations. Ender himself is a compelling protagonist, displaying both exceptional intelligence and vulnerability. The relationships he forms with his peers and superiors are nuanced and impactful.

The book also raises thought-provoking questions about the nature of war and the compromises individuals and societies must make in the face of existential threats. Ender’s Game challenges readers to consider the consequences of their actions and the ethical implications of military tactics.

Overall, Ender’s Game is a gripping and thought-provoking novel that appeals to readers of all ages. Its mix of action, moral dilemmas, and compelling characters make it a standout in the science fiction genre.

11. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

The Darkest Minds is a dystopian young adult novel by Alexandra Bracken that follows the story of Ruby Daly, a teenager with special abilities living in a society where children with powers are seen as dangerous and are taken away by the government. The book explores themes of rebellion, friendship, and the struggle for freedom in a world divided by fear and prejudice.

Ruby’s journey begins when she escapes from a government-run “rehabilitation camp” and joins a group of other young people on the run. Together, they must navigate a dangerous and uncertain world while uncovering the truth about their powers and the government’s true motives.

The Darkest Minds is a gripping and thought-provoking read that appeals to fans of dystopian fiction and stories of resilience in the face of adversity. Bracken’s vivid world-building and compelling characters make this book a must-read for fans of the genre.

12. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Uglies is the first book in a dystopian young adult series by Scott Westerfeld. Set in a future society where everyone undergoes a surgical operation at the age of 16 to become “pretty,” the story follows Tally Youngblood as she navigates the complexities of beauty and conformity.

In the world of Uglies, society is divided into two groups: Uglies and Pretties. Uglies are considered undesirable and unattractive, while Pretties are seen as perfect and beautiful. Tally, an Ugly, eagerly awaits her 16th birthday when she will finally undergo the operation and be transformed into a Pretty.

However, Tally’s perspective starts to change when she meets Shay, another Ugly who doesn’t want to become a Pretty. Shay introduces Tally to a group of rebels who live outside of society’s rules and traditions. Together, they challenge the notions of beauty and conformity and uncover the dark truths behind the operation.

Uglies is a captivating and thought-provoking novel that explores themes of identity, beauty standards, and the dangers of a utopian society. It raises important questions about individuality, freedom, and the price of perfection. Readers of Divergent are sure to enjoy the engrossing world-building and relatable characters in Uglies.

13. The Knife of Never Letting Go

The Knife of Never Letting Go is the first book in the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness. Set in a dystopian world, the story follows Todd Hewitt, a boy who lives in a town where everyone can hear each other’s thoughts, known as “the Noise.” When Todd discovers a patch of silence and learns a secret that threatens his entire community, he embarks on a dangerous journey to uncover the truth.

The Knife of Never Letting Go is a gripping and thought-provoking novel that explores themes of power, identity, and the importance of individuality. It delves into the consequences of living in a society where privacy is nonexistent and raises questions about the nature of truth and control.

This book is a must-read for fans of Divergent, as it shares similar elements of a dystopian world, a strong-willed protagonist, and a thrilling plot. It will keep you on the edge of your seat and leave you eagerly anticipating the next installment in the series.

14. The Gone Series by Michael Grant

The Gone Series by Michael Grant is a gripping and intense young adult dystopian series that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. Set in the fictional town of Perdido Beach, the series follows a group of teenagers who must navigate a world where everyone over the age of 15 mysteriously disappears.

The first book in the series, “Gone,” introduces readers to the unsettling reality that the remaining children are trapped within a mysterious dome and must fend for themselves. With no adults to maintain order, chaos quickly ensues, and the teens must form alliances, confront dark secrets, and struggle to survive in this dangerous new world.

The subsequent books in the series, including “Hunger,” “Lies,” “Plague,” “Fear,” “Light,” and the related novella “Monster,” continue to explore the challenges and horrors faced by the characters as they confront supernatural powers, political intrigue, and a sinister darkness that threatens their very existence.

With its fast-paced action, complex characters, and thought-provoking themes, “The Gone Series” is a must-read for fans of dystopian fiction. Just like “Divergent,” this series delves into issues of power, control, and the resilience of the human spirit in the face of adversity.

15. Article 5 by Kristen Simmons

Article 5 by Kristen Simmons is a thrilling dystopian novel set in a future where the United States is under strict government control. The story follows Ember Miller, a young girl who is forced to navigate a world where the government enforces strict moral codes and punishes those who do not adhere to them.

Ember’s life is turned upside down when her mother is arrested for violating Article 5, a law that criminalizes unmarried motherhood. Ember is sent to a government-run reeducation facility, where she meets Chase Jennings, a boy from her past who has become a soldier in the government’s army.

As Ember and Chase join forces to escape the reeducation facility and search for Ember’s mother, they discover the dark secrets behind the government’s control and the true nature of their society. They must navigate a treacherous world where trust is scarce and survival is paramount.

Article 5 is a gripping and thought-provoking novel that explores themes of government control, individual freedom, and the power of resistance. It is a must-read for fans of the dystopian genre and anyone who enjoys fast-paced and action-packed storytelling.

16. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles is a captivating series by Marissa Meyer that combines elements of science fiction, fantasy, and fairy tales. Set in a futuristic world, the series follows a group of young heroines as they navigate a world filled with political intrigue, romance, and the fight against a tyrannical queen.

Each book in the series introduces a new protagonist and puts a unique spin on classic fairy tales. Cinder, the first book in the series, is a retelling of Cinderella with a futuristic twist. Scarlet draws inspiration from Little Red Riding Hood, Cress from Rapunzel, and Winter from Snow White.

Marissa Meyer’s world-building is exceptional, with vivid descriptions of the futuristic setting and a diverse cast of characters. The series explores complex themes such as identity, power, and the consequences of one’s actions.

Readers will be drawn in by the gripping plotlines and the strong, relatable heroines who are determined to challenge the status quo and fight for justice. The Lunar Chronicles is a must-read for fans of Divergent and anyone who enjoys a thrilling mix of science fiction and fairy tales.

17. Unwind by Neal Shusterman

Unwind by Neal Shusterman is a gripping dystopian novel that explores a future society where unwanted teenagers can be “unwound” and their body parts harvested for transplantation. The story follows three main characters, Connor, Risa, and Lev, who are all on the run from being unwound.

The novel delves into themes of ethics, identity, and the value of human life. It raises important questions about the consequences of society’s choices and the rights of individuals. Unwind is a thought-provoking and intense read that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Throughout the book, Shusterman expertly weaves together action, suspense, and complex characters to create a compelling narrative. The world-building is detailed and imaginative, providing a rich backdrop for the story.

Unwind is part of a series of books by Neal Shusterman that continues to explore the consequences and implications of the unwinding process. If you enjoy dystopian novels with thought-provoking themes and intense storytelling, Unwind is a must-read.

18. The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau

The Testing is the first book in a dystopian trilogy by Joelle Charbonneau. It follows the story of Cia Vale, a teenage girl who is chosen to participate in the rigorous and competitive testing process to determine the future leaders of their society.

Cia dreams of being chosen for The Testing, as it is the only way to secure a better future for herself and her family. But as the testing progresses, she begins to uncover dark secrets and realizes that the stakes are much higher than she initially thought.

The Testing is often compared to Divergent due to its dystopian setting and strong female protagonist. Both books explore themes of government control, survival, and the fight against injustice. Fans of Divergent will enjoy the fast-paced plot and intense suspense in The Testing.

If you’re looking for a gripping dystopian novel with a strong female lead, The Testing is a great choice. It will keep you on the edge of your seat as you follow Cia’s journey through the testing process and the challenges she faces along the way.

Here you go – 18 books like divergent by veronica Roth

If you enjoyed reading Divergent and are looking for similar books to dive into, there are plenty of options to choose from. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, The Maze Runner by James Dashner, and Legend by Marie Lu are just a few examples of books that offer a similar dystopian, action-packed experience. Each of these books features engaging plots, strong characters, and thought-provoking themes that will keep you hooked from beginning to end.

Whether you’re a fan of the futuristic societies and rebellious protagonists or simply enjoy the fast-paced, page-turning nature of these types of books, you’re sure to find something to satisfy your reading cravings. So grab a copy of one of these exhilarating novels and get ready to be transported to a world filled with adventure, suspense, and excitement!