18 Remarkable Books Like Every Last Word: Recommended List

If you’re a fan of the novel Every Last Word by Tamira Ireland Stone and looking for more books that will capture your heart and keep you turning the pages, you’re in luck! We’ve curated a list of 10 books that are similar to “Every Last Word” and will leave you feeling inspired and emotionally invested in the characters and their stories.

Books Like Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

From powerful coming-of-age tales like The Perks of Being a Wallflower to heart-wrenching stories of love and loss like The Fault in Our Stars, these recommended reads will take you on a journey of self-discovery, friendship, and personal growth. So grab a cozy blanket, find a comfortable spot, and get ready to dive into these captivating books that are sure to leave a lasting impression.

Here’s the quick run through of the books like Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

  • Speak by Lauri Halse Anderson
  • The Memory Book by Lara Avery
  • Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley
  • Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton
  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  • Turtles All the Way Down by John Green
  • Mosquitoland by David Arnold
  • Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella
  • Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia
  • It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
  • All the Rage by Courtney Summers
  • Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
  • Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
  • We Are Okay by Nina LaCour
  • The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X. R. Pan
  • Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

01. Speak by Lauri Halse Anderson

Speak is a powerful novel written by Laurie Halse Anderson. It tells the story of Melinda, a high school freshman who becomes an outcast after calling the police at a summer party. As she navigates her way through high school, Melinda struggles with trauma and finding her voice.

The novel explores themes of identity, trauma, and the power of speaking up. It addresses important issues such as sexual assault, bullying, and the difficulties of communication. Anderson’s writing is raw and honest, giving readers a glimpse into the mind of a young girl trying to find her place in the world.

Speak is a thought-provoking and emotionally resonant novel that encourages readers to confront difficult topics and find the courage to speak their truth.

Related: 12 Best Books Like And They Lived By Steven Salvatore

02. The Memory Book by Lara Avery

The Memory Book is a heartwarming and poignant novel written by Lara Avery. It tells the story of Sammie McCoy, a high school senior who is diagnosed with a rare genetic disease called Niemann-Pick Type C. As the disease progresses, Sammie’s memory begins to deteriorate, and she decides to document her experiences in a memory book.

The Memory Book explores themes of love, friendship, and the power of memories. It beautifully captures Sammie’s journey as she navigates the challenges of her disease and cherishes each fleeting moment. The book also delves into the complexities of family dynamics and the impact of Sammie’s illness on her relationships.

Readers who enjoyed Every Last Word will find The Memory Book to be a compelling read. Both books tackle themes of self-discovery and personal growth, with characters who are grappling with their identities and finding their place in the world.

The Memory Book is a moving and memorable novel that will leave a lasting impact on readers. It is a perfect choice for fans of Every Last Word who are looking for similar books that tug at the heartstrings and inspire reflection.

Related: 15 Great Books Like No Longer Human by Osamu Dazai

03. Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Words in Deep Blue is a beautiful contemporary novel written by Cath Crowley. It tells the story of Rachel, who returns to her hometown and works in a secondhand bookstore called Howling Books. The bookstore is not just any ordinary bookstore, as it houses a section called the Letter Library, where people can leave letters and notes in books for others to find.

The novel explores themes of grief, loss, friendship, and the power of words. It delves into the lives of the characters and the connections they have with books and literature. Rachel, along with her former best friend Henry, navigates their complicated relationship and confronts their personal demons.

Words in Deep Blue beautifully portrays the healing power of books and the way they can bring people together. It showcases the importance of empathy, understanding, and the impact of words on our lives. The book will captivate readers with its relatable characters and heartfelt storytelling, making it a must-read for fans of Every Last Word.

Related:15 Best Books Like They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera: Ultimate List

04. Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton

Words on Bathroom Walls is a young adult novel written by Julia Walton. It tells the story of Adam, a high school student who is diagnosed with schizophrenia and begins to navigate the challenges of his diagnosis while trying to fit in at his new school.

The novel explores themes of mental health, identity, love, and acceptance. Through Adam’s perspective, readers gain insight into the realities of living with mental illness and the stigmas often associated with it.

Words on Bathroom Walls is praised for its realistic portrayal of schizophrenia and its sensitive handling of mental health issues. It is a compelling and thought-provoking read that sheds light on the importance of understanding and supporting individuals with mental illnesses.

05. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places is a young adult contemporary novel written by Jennifer Niven. The story follows Violet Markey and Theodore Finch, two high school students who meet at the top of the bell tower, where they are both contemplating suicide. As they form an unexpected friendship, they embark on a journey of self-discovery and healing.

The novel addresses important themes such as mental health, grief, and the power of human connection. It explores the complexities of mental illness, as Finch battles with undiagnosed bipolar disorder and Violet struggles with survivor’s guilt after the death of her sister.

All the Bright Places is a heart-wrenching yet hopeful story that encourages readers to have open conversations about mental health. It reminds us of the importance of reaching out for help and the impact we can have on others by showing compassion and understanding. The book has received widespread acclaim for its honest and realistic portrayal of mental health issues.

If you enjoyed Every Last Word, you’ll likely enjoy All the Bright Places for its exploration of similar themes and its ability to tug at the heartstrings. It is a beautifully written and impactful novel that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page.

Related: 10 Books Like When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

06. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a coming-of-age novel written by Stephen Chbosky. It tells the story of Charlie, a shy and introverted teenager navigating high school while dealing with personal struggles and trying to find his place in the world.

The novel explores themes of adolescence, identity, friendship, mental health, and the complexities of growing up. It is written in the form of letters from Charlie to an anonymous recipient, providing an intimate and introspective look into his thoughts and experiences.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower has resonated with readers of all ages since its release in 1999. It has been praised for its honest portrayal of teenage life and its ability to capture the emotions and challenges that young people face during this transformative period.

If you enjoyed Every Last Word, you may also enjoy The Perks of Being a Wallflower for its relatable characters, heartfelt storytelling, and exploration of themes related to self-discovery and personal growth.

07. Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

Turtles All the Way Down is a compelling novel written by John Green that explores themes of mental health, friendship, and self-discovery. The story follows Aza Holmes, a young girl living with obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD). As she navigates her daily life and struggles with intrusive thoughts and anxiety, Aza becomes entangled in the mystery surrounding a fugitive billionaire.

Green skillfully delves into the complexities of mental illness, providing a raw and honest portrayal of Aza’s experiences. The book offers a realistic and empathetic representation of OCD, highlighting the challenges faced by individuals living with the disorder. Aza’s perspective allows readers to gain insight into her inner world and the various ways her OCD manifests.

Alongside its exploration of mental health, Turtles All the Way Down also delves into the power of friendship. Aza’s bond with her best friend Daisy plays a central role in the narrative, providing moments of support and understanding amidst the chaos of Aza’s thoughts. The story emphasizes the importance of empathy, acceptance, and unconditional love in maintaining relationships.

Turtles All the Way Down is a thought-provoking and emotional read that offers a compassionate portrayal of mental illness. It encourages readers to consider the complexities of mental health and the impact it can have on individuals and their relationships. If you enjoyed the nuanced exploration of mental health in Every Last Word, Turtles All the Way Down is a book that should be on your reading list.

Related: 9 Best Dystopian Books Like Hunger Games: My Ultimate List

08. Mosquitoland by David Arnold

Mosquitoland is a compelling YA novel written by David Arnold. The story follows the journey of 16-year-old Mim Malone as she embarks on a road trip from Mississippi to Ohio to be reunited with her mother. Along the way, Mim encounters a variety of colorful characters and experiences that challenge her perceptions of herself and the world around her.

Mosquitoland delves into important themes such as mental health, family dynamics, and self-discovery. Mim, who struggles with mental health issues, provides a unique and honest perspective on her journey, highlighting the importance of understanding and empathy. The novel also explores themes of identity and the search for belonging, as Mim navigates through various relationships and confronts her own insecurities.

David Arnold’s writing in Mosquitoland is captivating and thought-provoking, drawing readers into Mim’s world and keeping them engaged from start to finish. The book is known for its well-developed characters and emotional depth, which allows readers to connect with the story on a personal level.

If you enjoyed Every Last Word and are looking for a similar read that explores themes of self-discovery, mental health, and coming-of-age, Mosquitoland is a must-read. It will take you on a journey of introspection and leave you with a greater understanding of the complexities of life and the power of human connection.

09. Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Finding Audrey is a young adult novel by Sophie Kinsella that explores themes of mental health, family, and friendship. The story follows Audrey, a teenage girl who suffers from anxiety and panic disorder. After a traumatic incident at school, Audrey struggles with leaving her house and interacting with people outside of her family.

The novel delves into Audrey’s journey towards recovery and her growing relationship with Linus, a boy she meets at her brother’s therapy sessions. Through her therapy sessions, Audrey learns coping mechanisms and gains a new perspective on her anxiety. The story highlights the importance of support systems, understanding, and communication when dealing with mental health issues.

Finding Audrey is a heartwarming and relatable story that sheds light on the realities of living with anxiety disorders. It provides readers with a compassionate and authentic portrayal of mental health and reminds us of the resilience and strength that individuals with mental health challenges possess.

Related: 15 Best Thriller Books Like The Silent Patient: My Top Recommendation

10. Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Eliza and Her Monsters is a young adult novel by Francesca Zappia that explores themes of identity, friendship, and the power of creativity. The story follows Eliza Mirk, an introverted high school student who is the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea.

Eliza is known online for her artwork and storytelling skills, but in real life, she struggles to connect with others and often feels misunderstood. When a new boy named Wallace transfers to her school and shows a genuine interest in Monstrous Sea, Eliza begins to question whether she can open up to someone and share her true identity.

The novel delves into the challenges of balancing online and offline personas, as well as the pressure to meet expectations and maintain a public image. It explores the impact of fandom, the positive and negative aspects of online communities, and the importance of finding one’s own voice and passion.

Eliza and Her Monsters is a captivating and relatable story that will resonate with readers who have ever felt like outsiders or struggled to express themselves. It highlights the power of art and storytelling in helping individuals navigate the complexities of life and find their place in the world.

11. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini is a captivating coming-of-age novel that explores the struggles of mental health and finding one’s place in the world. The story follows Craig Gilner, a high school student who checks himself into a mental health clinic after contemplating suicide. Inside the clinic, Craig forms unexpected friendships and embarks on a journey of self-discovery.

The novel delves into important themes such as depression, anxiety, and the pressures young people face in today’s society. It offers a raw and honest portrayal of mental illness, while also incorporating moments of humor and hope.

It’s Kind of a Funny Story is a poignant and relatable read that sheds light on the importance of seeking help and finding support during difficult times. It encourages readers to approach mental health with empathy and understanding, while also emphasizing the power of friendship and resilience.

If you enjoyed Every Last Word, you’ll appreciate the authentic and thought-provoking storytelling of It’s Kind of a Funny Story.

Related: 18 Books Like Divergent: The Ultimate Reading List

12. All the Rage by Courtney Summers

All the Rage is a powerful and gripping novel by Courtney Summers. It tells the story of Romy Grey, a teenager who is ostracized and bullied in her small town after accusing the popular golden boy of rape. The book explores the themes of victim-blaming, social inequality, and the impact of trauma.

Romy’s story is raw and heartbreaking, and it sheds light on the often silenced voices of survivors of sexual assault. The novel delves deep into the psychological and emotional struggles Romy faces as she navigates a society that doubts and undermines her experience.

All the Rage is a gripping and necessary read that confronts important issues surrounding rape culture and the importance of speaking out. It sheds light on the dark realities of sexual assault and the long-lasting effects it can have on survivors.

13. Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

Challenger Deep is a powerful and thought-provoking novel written by Neal Shusterman. It tells the story of Caden Bosch, a high school student who struggles with mental illness, specifically schizophrenia. The book explores Caden’s journey as he navigates his way through the complexities of his mind and his reality.

Challenger Deep delves deep into the inner workings of Caden’s mind, vividly portraying his hallucinations and delusions. The story alternates between Caden’s experiences in the “real” world and his imagined journey aboard a ship called the Challenger Deep. This parallel narrative offers a unique and immersive exploration of mental illness.

Shusterman’s writing is raw and honest, capturing the confusion and uncertainty that often accompanies mental illness. Through his deeply empathetic portrayal of Caden, he challenges readers to confront their own preconceived notions about mental health and to develop a greater understanding and empathy for those who struggle with it.

Challenger Deep is a beautifully written and emotionally resonant novel that offers an important perspective on mental illness. It explores themes of identity, self-discovery, and the power of human connection. If you enjoyed Every Last Word and are looking for a similar read that tackles important and sensitive subjects, Challenger Deep is a highly recommended choice.

14. Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Made You Up is a captivating novel written by Francesca Zappia. The story follows the life of Alex, a high school senior with paranoid schizophrenia. The book delves into themes of perception, reality, and the power of the mind.

Alex navigates the challenges of mental illness while trying to distinguish between what is real and what is imagined. She relies on her camera and her ability to capture moments in order to cope with her condition.

As Alex begins to form a connection with Miles, a mysterious boy at her school, she questions whether she can trust her own perceptions and judgments. The book explores the complexity of relationships, the impact of mental illness on identity, and the importance of empathy and understanding.

Made You Up is a thought-provoking and heartfelt novel that sheds light on the experiences of individuals living with mental illness. It offers a unique perspective on the power of the mind and the resilience of the human spirit.

Related: 12 Heartwarming Books Like The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

15. We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

We Are Okay is a captivating coming-of-age novel written by Nina LaCour. It tells the story of a young girl named Marin, who is grappling with grief and loss after the death of her grandfather. Feeling isolated and alone, Marin decides to spend her winter break in an empty dorm at her college, away from her childhood home and the painful memories it holds.

As Marin navigates this new environment, she is forced to confront her past and the secrets that have shaped her. The novel explores themes of love, friendship, and the complexities of family dynamics. LaCour’s beautiful prose and poignant storytelling make We Are Okay a deeply emotional and thought-provoking read.

The novel delves into themes of grief, identity, and the process of healing. It explores the ways in which we carry our past with us and the importance of finding connection and support in times of hardship. We Are Okay is a powerful reflection on the human experience and the resilience of the human spirit.

If you enjoyed Every Last Word, you will find similar themes of self-discovery and personal growth in We Are Okay. Both novels tackle important issues and provide readers with a compelling and heartfelt narrative.

16. The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X. R. Pan

“The Astonishing Color of After” is a heartfelt and lyrical novel written by Emily X.R. Pan. The story follows Leigh, a young girl who believes that her mother has become a bird after her death. Determined to find her mother and understand her past, Leigh embarks on a journey to Taiwan, where she uncovers family secrets and discovers her own identity.

This book explores themes of grief, loss, identity, and cultural heritage. Pan’s writing is beautifully poetic, capturing Leigh’s emotions and experiences in vivid detail. The story is a powerful exploration of self-discovery and the complex relationships we have with our families.

Readers who enjoyed “Every Last Word” will appreciate the similar themes of self-discovery and mental health in “The Astonishing Color of After.” Both books tackle important topics with sensitivity and depth.

If you were captivated by the emotional depth and exploration of identity in “Every Last Word,” “The Astonishing Color of After” is a recommended read that will take you on a heartfelt journey.

Related: 20 Heart-stopping Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia owens

17. Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel

Faceless is a young adult novel written by Alyssa Sheinmel. The story follows Maisie Winters, a high school student who undergoes a life-changing accident that results in her losing her face. As she navigates the challenges of her new reality, Maisie must confront her own identity and find the courage to redefine herself.

In Faceless, Alyssa Sheinmel explores themes of identity, self-acceptance, and the power of inner strength. The novel delves deep into the emotional journey of its protagonist, highlighting the complexities of beauty and the importance of looking beyond physical appearances.

Through Maisie’s experiences, readers are encouraged to question societal beauty standards and reflect on the true meaning of identity and self-worth. Faceless is a poignant and thought-provoking read that deals with difficult topics with sensitivity and compassion.

If you enjoyed Every Last Word’s exploration of self-discovery and personal growth, Faceless is a book that you should definitely add to your reading list.

18. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars, written by John Green, is a heart-wrenching young adult novel that explores themes of love, loss, and the human experience. The story follows two teenagers, Hazel and Gus, who meet and fall in love at a cancer support group. Despite their illnesses, they embark on a journey to Amsterdam in search of answers and meaning.

The Fault in Our Stars tackles difficult subjects with sensitivity and humor, offering a poignant portrayal of the complexities of life and the power of friendship. It delves into the emotional struggles of living with a terminal illness and the challenges of navigating relationships under such circumstances.

The novel captures the raw emotions of its characters, drawing readers into their world and making them reflect on their own lives. It addresses themes of mortality, faith, and the meaning of existence, prompting profound contemplation and empathy.

The Fault in Our Stars has resonated with readers of all ages, becoming a beloved and influential book in contemporary literature. It has been praised for its authentic characters, beautiful prose, and thought-provoking exploration of life’s big questions.

If you enjoyed Every Last Word’s exploration of mental health and the complexities of teenage life, you will likely find The Fault in Our Stars to be a compelling and emotionally resonant read.

Books Like Every Last Word – Before You Go

If you loved Every Last Word, you’ll be pleased to know that there are many other books out there that explore similar themes of mental health, self-discovery, and the power of words. From Speak to The Fault in Our Stars, there are captivating and thought-provoking stories waiting to be discovered.

So whether you’re looking for a heartfelt romance, a coming-of-age tale, or a gripping exploration of mental health, the books listed here are sure to satisfy your reading cravings. Settle in, open a book, and let yourself be transported to new worlds and experiences.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *