18 Amazing Books Like In Five Years: Must-Read Alternatives

If you loved the captivating and emotional rollercoaster of In Five Years by Rebecca Serle then get ready to dive into these must-read alternatives. 

These 10 books will take you on similarly heartfelt journeys, with compelling characters and stories that will keep you turning pages well into the night.

From the gripping secrets of Big Little Lies to the heartwarming romance of The Rosie Project, these books offer a range of genres and themes to satisfy every reader. 

So grab a cozy blanket and a cup of tea, because these books are sure to transport you to new worlds and leave you longing for more.

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

Quick Overview of In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle is a thought-provoking and emotionally resonant novel that explores the complexities of fate, friendship, and love. The story revolves around Dannie Kohan, a successful corporate lawyer in Manhattan who has her life meticulously planned out. However, when Dannie experiences a vivid and seemingly inexplicable vision of her life five years in the future, it throws her perfectly organized world into disarray.

In this premonition, Dannie sees herself in a different apartment with a different man, not her current boyfriend. The novel then takes readers on a journey as Dannie navigates the next five years, attempting to reconcile her vision with the reality she thought she had control over. As the story unfolds, unexpected twists and turns challenge Dannie’s understanding of destiny and the choices we make.

The novel delves into themes of friendship, love, loss, and the unpredictability of life. It is not only a tale of self-discovery but also an exploration of how our lives can be profoundly affected by the people we meet and the relationships we form.

Rebecca Serle’s “In Five Years” has been praised for its emotional depth, well-crafted characters, and its ability to captivate readers with a narrative that blends elements of romance, drama, and a touch of the fantastical. The novel encourages reflection on the nature of time, the importance of human connections, and the often-surprising ways in which our lives unfold.

Books Like In Five Years – Quick List

  • Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
  • The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo
  • One Day in December by Josie Silver
  • The Dinner List by Rebecca Serle
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  • Before We Were Strangers by Renée Carlino
  • The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  • The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
  • The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  • One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  • Me After You by Lucie Brownlee
  • After You by Jojo Moyes
  • The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
  • The Hating Game by Sally Thorne
  • Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan
  • The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

01. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty is a gripping and suspenseful novel that explores the lives of a group of women living in a coastal town in Australia. The book delves into the complexities of friendship, motherhood, and the secrets that lurk beneath the surface of seemingly perfect lives.

The story follows the lives of three women: Madeline, Celeste, and Jane. Madeline is a fierce and outspoken mother who navigates the challenges of blended families and resents her ex-husband’s new wife. Celeste is a beautiful and wealthy woman who seems to have it all, but harbors dark secrets behind closed doors. Jane is a young single mother who recently moved to town and is haunted by a traumatic event from her past.

As the three women become friends and navigate the ups and downs of school politics and personal relationships, they find themselves caught in a web of lies and deceit. The book explores themes of domestic violence, bullying, and the power dynamics within friendships and marriages.

Big Little Lies is a page-turner that keeps readers on the edge of their seat as they try to unravel the mysteries and secrets of the characters’ lives. With its compelling plot, complex characters, and thought-provoking themes, Big Little Lies is a must-read for fans of suspenseful fiction.

9 Great Books Like Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell

02. The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

“The Light We Lost” by Jill Santopolo is a contemporary romance novel that explores the complexities of love, timing, and the choices we make in life. The story is narrated by Lucy and spans over several years, offering readers a glimpse into the rollercoaster of emotions that come with romantic relationships.

The narrative begins with Lucy meeting Gabe while studying at Columbia University. The two form a deep connection, but circumstances force them to go their separate ways. Despite this, the novel follows the impact Gabe has on Lucy’s life as she navigates love, career, and personal growth.

The book delves into the question of whether love has the power to endure over time, distance, and life’s challenges. Santopolo skillfully weaves a tale that tugs at the heartstrings, exploring themes of sacrifice, regret, and the pursuit of happiness.

“The Light We Lost” has resonated with readers for its poignant exploration of the complexities of modern love and the profound impact that certain people can have on our lives. It’s a compelling read that invites reflection on the choices we make and the paths we choose in the pursuit of love and fulfillment.

Related: 10 Magical Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea

03. One Day in December by Josie Silver

One Day in December by Josie Silver is a heartwarming and romantic novel that follows the lives of Laurie and Jack. The story begins on a fateful December day when Laurie spots a man at a bus stop and instantly feels a connection. However, before she can approach him, the bus drives away.

Over the next year, Laurie searches for the mysterious man, hoping to find him again. Just when she’s about to give up, he walks into her life as her best friend’s new boyfriend. As the years go by, Laurie and Jack navigate the complexities of their feelings for each other, leading to unexpected twists and turns.

This captivating novel explores the themes of love, friendship, and the timing of fate. Josie Silver’s writing beautifully captures the emotions and struggles of the characters as they navigate their individual journeys and find their way back to each other.

If you enjoyed “In Five Years” and are looking for a similar read that explores love and timing, then “One Day in December” by Josie Silver is a must-read. It will tug at your heartstrings and leave you believing in the power of destiny and second chances.

04. The Dinner List by Rebecca Serle

The Dinner List by Rebecca Serle is a captivating and thought-provoking novel that explores themes of love, friendship, and the complexities of relationships. The story follows Sabrina, who finds herself at a birthday dinner with five people from her past and present, including her ex-boyfriend and deceased father.

As the dinner unfolds, Sabrina is forced to confront unresolved issues and confrontations with the people in her life. Serle masterfully weaves together past and present timelines to create a compelling narrative that keeps readers engaged from start to finish.

This novel is perfect for readers who enjoyed the unique storytelling style of “In Five Years” and are looking for similar books that delve into the intricacies of human connections. If you’re a fan of emotional and character-driven stories, “The Dinner List” is a must-read.

Related: 18 Remarkable Books Like Every Last Word: Recommended List

05. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

The Time Traveler’s Wife is a captivating novel that explores the complexities of love and time. It tells the story of Henry, a man with a genetic disorder that causes him to time travel unpredictably, and Clare, his wife who must navigate their unusual relationship.

The novel delves into themes of destiny, fate, and the power of love to overcome obstacles. It explores the challenges faced by Henry and Clare as they try to build a life together, despite the constant disruptions caused by Henry’s time travel.

Audrey Niffenegger’s writing is rich with emotion and beautifully captures the deep connection between Henry and Clare. The story is both heartbreaking and hopeful, as it explores the depths of their love and the sacrifices they must make for each other.

If you enjoyed In Five Years, you will likely be captivated by The Time Traveler’s Wife. Both novels explore the complexities of relationships and the power of love to transcend time and space.

Related: 12 Heartwarming Books Like The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

06. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You is a heartwarming and emotional novel written by Jojo Moyes. It tells the story of Louisa Clark, a young woman who becomes a caregiver for a wealthy man named Will Traynor, who is quadriplegic after a tragic accident. As Louisa and Will spend time together, they form a deep connection and learn valuable lessons about life, love, and the power of making choices.

The novel explores themes of disability, personal growth, and the complexities of relationships. It delves into the moral and ethical dilemmas surrounding assisted suicide, as Will expresses his desire to end his life. The story is both heart-wrenching and thought-provoking, and it has captivated readers around the world.

07. Before We Were Strangers by Renée Carlino

Before We Were Strangers is a captivating novel by Renée Carlino that explores the complexities of love, fate, and second chances. The story follows Matt and Grace, two college sweethearts who are torn apart by circumstances and go their separate ways.

Years later, Matt and Grace unexpectedly reconnect in New York City and are forced to confront their unresolved feelings and the paths their lives have taken. As they navigate through the city they once called home, they are reminded of the deep connection they shared and must decide if they can overcome the past and create a future together.

Renée Carlino beautifully captures the nostalgia and longing of lost love in Before We Were Strangers. The story is filled with heartfelt moments, emotional revelations, and a sense of urgency as Matt and Grace search for answers and rediscover themselves in the process.

Readers who enjoyed In Five Years will appreciate the similar themes of love, fate, and the power of connections in Before We Were Strangers. Renée Carlino’s writing style and ability to evoke raw emotions make this book a must-read for fans of emotional and thought-provoking romance novels.

Related: 20 Heart-stopping Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens 

08. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a captivating novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid that takes readers on a journey through the glamorous and complex life of a Hollywood icon. The story follows Evelyn Hugo, a famous actress, as she reveals the truth behind her seven marriages and the sacrifices she made for her career. I wrote an extensive review about this book and you can read it here.

This book explores themes of love, ambition, and the price of fame. It delves deep into the inner workings of the entertainment industry and exposes the challenges faced by women navigating a male-dominated world.

Readers will be engrossed by the rich character development and the intricate plot twists that keep them guessing until the very end. Taylor Jenkins Reid’s writing style is both evocative and emotionally resonant, making The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo a must-read for fans of compelling and thought-provoking storytelling.

If you enjoyed In Five Years and are looking for a similar book that combines romance, drama, and exploration of complex relationships, “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” is an excellent choice.

09. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah is a gripping historical fiction novel set during World War II. It tells the story of two sisters, Vianne and Isabelle, who are faced with difficult choices and challenges as they navigate the Nazi-occupied France.

Inspired by true events, The Nightingale explores themes of bravery, sacrifice, and the resilience of the human spirit in the face of adversity. It provides a poignant and emotional glimpse into the lives of ordinary people who were caught up in the horrors of war.

Readers who enjoyed In Five Years and are looking for similar books will appreciate The Nightingale for its compelling storytelling, well-developed characters, and powerful themes. It offers a unique perspective on the impact of war on individuals and society, and will leave readers with a profound appreciation for the strength and courage of those who lived through such dark times.

Related: 10 Books Like When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

10. The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

The Light Between Oceans, written by M.L. Stedman, is a captivating novel that explores themes of love, loss, and the consequences of difficult choices. Set on a remote Australian island in the aftermath of World War I, the story follows Tom Sherbourne, a lighthouse keeper, and his wife Isabel as they live in isolation and grapple with the challenges of starting a family.

After a series of devastating miscarriages, Isabel discovers a baby girl washed ashore in a boat. Despite knowing the potential repercussions, the couple decides to raise the child as their own. As the years pass, the consequences of their decision unravel and bring about heart-wrenching moral dilemmas.

The Light Between Oceans is an emotionally charged and thought-provoking story that delves into themes of morality, forgiveness, and the complexities of human relationships. It explores the depths of love and the lengths people will go to protect what they cherish the most. M.L. Stedman’s writing is both evocative and lyrical, capturing the beauty of the isolated island setting and the emotional turmoil of the characters.

If you enjoyed the emotional depth and moral dilemmas of In Five Years, The Light Between Oceans is a must-read alternative that will captivate you from beginning to end.

Related: 15 Great Books Like No Longer Human by Osamu Dazai

11. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars is a heart-wrenching novel by John Green that tells the story of Hazel and Gus, two teenagers who meet and fall in love at a support group for cancer patients. Despite their terminal illnesses, Hazel and Gus embark on a journey together to find meaning and love in their limited time.

This emotional and poignant book explores themes of love, loss, and the fragility of life. It captures the struggles and triumphs of living with a life-threatening illness, while also delving into the complexities of navigating relationships and finding hope in the face of adversity.

The Fault in Our Stars is a must-read for fans of “In Five Years” who are looking for a similarly heart-wrenching and thought-provoking story. It will tug at your heartstrings and leave you contemplating the power of love and the beauty of life, even in the midst of tragedy.

12. One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid is a heartfelt and emotional novel that explores the complex nature of love and the choices we make. The story follows Emma Blair, who is faced with an impossible decision when her husband, Jesse, goes missing at sea and is presumed dead. As she navigates through her grief and rebuilds her life, Emma finds herself falling in love with Sam, an old friend from her past.

However, just as Emma starts to move forward, Jesse miraculously returns after being stranded on a deserted island for years. Now Emma is torn between her past and present, and the two men she loves dearly. One True Loves is a captivating and thought-provoking novel that delves into the complexities of relationships and forces the reader to question what it means to find true love.

Taylor Jenkins Reid masterfully explores themes of love, loss, and self-discovery in One True Loves. The novel is beautifully written and showcases the author’s ability to create deeply relatable characters and tug at the heartstrings of readers. If you loved the emotional journey and exploration of love in “In Five Years,” then One True Loves is a must-read alternative that will leave you pondering the nature of love and the choices we make.

Related: 13 Great Books Like Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow: Ultimate List

13. Me After You by Lucie Brownlee

“Me After You” by Lucie Brownlee is a moving memoir that explores the author’s experience of grief and loss after the death of her husband. In this book, Brownlee shares her raw and honest emotions as she navigates the challenging journey of rebuilding her life in the aftermath of loss.

The author delves into the depths of her grief, capturing the rollercoaster of emotions and the overwhelming sense of emptiness that accompanies such a profound loss. Through her storytelling, Brownlee offers a poignant reflection on the universal themes of love, loss, and resilience.

“Me After You” is a powerful account of one woman’s grief journey and her determination to find meaning and hope in the face of devastating loss. It is a compelling read that explores the complexities of grief and offers solace and understanding to those who have experienced their own personal tragedies.

14. After You by Jojo Moyes

After You is the sequel to the highly popular novel Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. In this emotional continuation, we follow the journey of Louisa Clark as she tries to rebuild her life after the death of Will Traynor, the man she loved.

After the events of Me Before You, Louisa is struggling to find her purpose and move forward. She joins a support group where she meets new people who have also experienced loss and are trying to navigate their own grief. Through these connections, Louisa begins to rediscover herself and find the courage to embrace new opportunities.

After You explores themes of grief, self-discovery, and the power of human connection. Jojo Moyes continues to captivate readers with her compelling characters and heartfelt storytelling. This novel is a touching exploration of life after loss and the resilience of the human spirit.

Fans of In Five Years will appreciate the emotional depth and relatable characters in After You. It offers a similar blend of heartbreak, hope, and personal growth that will keep readers engaged from beginning to end.

15. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

“The Rosie Project” by Graeme Simsion is a charming romantic comedy novel that follows the unconventional love story of Professor Don Tillman, a brilliant but socially awkward geneticist. The story is narrated from Don’s perspective, providing readers with a unique and humorous insight into his logical and systematic approach to life.

The narrative kicks off with Don deciding to embark on a scientific quest to find a suitable life partner. This endeavor, known as “The Wife Project,” involves creating a detailed questionnaire to filter out incompatible candidates. However, Don’s carefully planned project takes an unexpected turn when he meets Rosie, a free-spirited bartender with goals that don’t align with his questionnaire.

As Don and Rosie team up for “The Rosie Project” — a quest to find her biological father — their journey becomes a hilarious and heartwarming exploration of love, compatibility, and the unpredictability of human emotions. Don’s adherence to routines and logic clashes with Rosie’s spontaneity, leading to a series of amusing and endearing situations.

The novel has been praised for its witty writing, well-developed characters, and its ability to tackle serious themes such as acceptance, diversity, and the importance of embracing life’s uncertainties, all within the framework of a delightful romantic comedy. “The Rosie Project” has resonated with readers for its unique protagonist, its humor, and its ultimately heartwarming message about the unexpected nature of love.

Related: 19 Great Books Like Normal People by Sally Rooney: Best Titles

16. The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne is a delightful romantic comedy that captures the essence of the enemies-to-lovers trope. The story revolves around Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman, two coworkers who can’t stand each other. They engage in a constant battle of one-upmanship and pranks, but underneath their animosity, there’s an undeniable attraction.

As Lucy and Joshua are forced to work closely together on a high-stakes project, their relationship starts to shift. The witty banter and clever wordplay between them create a delightful tension that keeps readers engaged from beginning to end.

The Hating Game is a perfect choice for readers who enjoy smart, funny, and heartwarming romantic stories. If you loved the dynamic between the main characters in In Five Years, you’ll find a similar spark between Lucy and Joshua in The Hating Game.

Thorne’s writing is engaging and filled with humor and charm, making it an excellent read for anyone looking for a lighthearted and addictive romance novel. The book explores themes of love, friendship, and personal growth while delivering a satisfying and swoon-worthy romance.

If you’re in the mood for a captivating enemies-to-lovers tale with plenty of laughs and heart, The Hating Game is a must-read alternative to In Five Years.

17. Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

Crazy Rich Asians is a bestselling novel by Kevin Kwan that takes readers into the extravagant world of Singapore’s ultra-wealthy elite. The story follows Rachel Chu, an American-born Chinese professor, as she accompanies her boyfriend, Nick Young, to his best friend’s wedding in Singapore. Little does Rachel know, Nick belongs to one of the wealthiest families in the country, and she soon finds herself navigating the intricate and sometimes absurd dynamics of high society.

Like In Five Years, Crazy Rich Asians explores themes of love, family, and self-discovery. It delves into the complexities of relationships and the clash between tradition and modernity. Set against a backdrop of opulence and extravagance, the novel offers a glimpse into a world that is both awe-inspiring and decadent.

Readers who enjoyed In Five Years for its heartfelt storytelling and captivating characters will find similar elements in Crazy Rich Asians. Kwan’s vivid descriptions and engaging narrative style make for a compelling read that will keep readers turning the pages.

If you’re looking for a book that combines romance, humor, and a touch of social commentary, then Crazy Rich Asians is a must-read. It offers a delightful escape into a world of glamour and excess while also addressing themes of identity and the pursuit of happiness.

13 Best Steamy Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey: Ultimate List

18. The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah is a gripping and emotional novel that explores themes of survival, love, and resilience. Set in the harsh wilderness of Alaska in the 1970s, it follows the Allbright family as they attempt to build a new life off the grid.

The main character, Leni Allbright, is a young girl who finds herself caught between her love for her troubled father and the desire for a more stable and safe existence. As they face the challenges of isolation, harsh weather conditions, and the threat of violence, Leni must find her own strength and courage to navigate the treacherous landscape.

The Great Alone is a beautifully written story that delves into the complexities of human relationships and the power of nature. It explores themes of family dynamics, the effects of trauma, and the lengths we go to protect the ones we love.

Books Like In Five Years – Grab them!

If you enjoyed “In Five Years” and are looking for similar books to read, you have a wide range of options to choose from. Whether you’re interested in thought-provoking dramas, heartfelt romances, or captivating mysteries, there are plenty of books that will satisfy your literary cravings.

So dive into these recommended titles, and get ready to be transported to different worlds, meet intriguing characters, and experience a range of emotions. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *