10 Stunning Books Like It Happened One Summer (Recommended Reads)

Are you looking for your next great summer read? If you loved It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey, then you’re in luck! 

I’ve curated a list of 10 books that capture the same enchanting blend of romance, humor, and heartwarming moments that will keep you turning the pages long into the night.

It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey

From the hilarious enemies-to-lovers story in The Unhoneymooners to the swoon-worthy royal romance in Red, White & Royal Blue, these recommended reads are sure to transport you to captivating worlds filled with love and laughter. 

Get ready to fall in love with these books just like you did with It Happened One Summer.

Books Like It Happened One Summer – Quick List

  • The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren
  • Beach Read by Emily Henry
  • Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston
  • The Hating Game by Sally Thorne
  • The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez
  • The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary
  • The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
  • The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang
  • Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes
  • The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory

01. The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

The Unhoneymooners is a romantic comedy novel written by Christina Lauren. The story revolves around Olive Torres, who unexpectedly finds herself on an all-expenses-paid honeymoon trip with her nemesis, Ethan Thomas, after her twin sister and his brother get food poisoning at their wedding. As they navigate the tropical paradise together, Olive and Ethan form a surprising connection and discover that things are not always as they seem.

This book is perfect for fans of It Happened One Summer who enjoy enemies-to-lovers romances with a tropical backdrop. The witty banter, sizzling chemistry, and unexpected romance between Olive and Ethan will keep readers entertained and swooning from start to finish.

These books offer a mix of heartwarming romance, witty humor, and captivating characters that will satisfy your craving for more feel-good stories like It Happened One Summer.

02. Beach Read by Emily Henry

Beach Read is a contemporary romance novel written by Emily Henry. It tells the story of January Andrews, a romance author who finds herself in a rut after the death of her father and a failed relationship. In an attempt to find inspiration, January moves to a beach house next to her college rival and literary fiction author, Augustus Everett.

As January and Augustus spend their summer days writing in each other’s genres, they also embark on a journey of self-discovery and healing. Through witty banter and unexpected connections, January and Augustus navigate their own personal hardships and rediscover the joy of writing and love.

Beach Read is a heartwarming and engaging story that combines elements of romance, self-reflection, and humor. It explores themes of grief, forgiveness, and the complexities of relationships. If you enjoyed It Happened One Summer, you’ll find similar enjoyment in the charming and emotional journey depicted in Beach Read.

These books offer a mix of romance, humor, and emotional depth, making them perfect recommendations for fans of It Happened One Summer and Beach Read.

9 Great Books Like Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell

03. Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

Red, White & Royal Blue is a contemporary romance novel written by Casey McQuiston. The story follows Alex Claremont-Diaz, the First Son of the United States, and Henry, the Prince of Wales, who are forced to fake a friendship for the sake of their countries’ diplomatic relations. As they spend more time together, their fake friendship evolves into a genuine connection and a forbidden romance.

This book is recommended for readers who enjoyed It Happened One Summer because it similarly combines romance, humor, and a captivating storyline. Red, White & Royal Blue explores themes of identity, social expectations, and the power of love and acceptance. The chemistry between the characters and the witty dialogue make it a delightful and heartwarming read.

Like in It Happened One Summer, the main characters in Red, White & Royal Blue embark on an unexpected journey filled with self-discovery and personal growth. The novel also tackles important social issues and explores the complexities of familial and societal expectations.

If you enjoyed the humor, romance, and engaging storytelling of It Happened One Summer, Red, White & Royal Blue is a book you won’t want to miss.

Related: 10 Magical Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea

04. The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

The Hating Game is a captivating romantic comedy novel written by Sally Thorne. It follows the story of Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman, two coworkers who share a mutual disdain for each other. Their rivalry and banter take an unexpected turn when they find themselves competing for the same promotion.

As Lucy and Joshua engage in a series of hilarious pranks and competitive challenges, they begin to discover that their feelings for each other may not be as clear-cut as they initially thought. The push and pull between love and hate create a compelling dynamic that keeps readers hooked from beginning to end.

With witty dialogue, steamy moments, and a delightful enemies-to-lovers trope, The Hating Game is a must-read for fans of romantic comedies. It explores themes of self-discovery, vulnerability, and how love can sometimes be found in the most unexpected places.

If you enjoyed It Happened One Summer and want another delightful romantic read, The Hating Game is the perfect choice to add to your bookshelf.

Related: 18 Remarkable Books Like Every Last Word: Recommended List

05. The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez

The Friend Zone is a heartwarming and humorous novel written by Abby Jimenez. It tells the story of Kristen Peterson and Josh Copeland, who form an unexpected friendship with a strong attraction to each other. However, Kristen is determined to keep Josh in the friend zone due to her personal circumstances.

This book explores themes of love, friendship, and navigating complicated emotions. It captures the complexities of relationships and the challenges of balancing personal desires with the fear of losing a valued friendship. As Kristen and Josh navigate their feelings, readers will be captivated by the witty banter, emotional depth, and relatable characters.

The Friend Zone is a perfect read for fans of It Happened One Summer as it offers a similar blend of romance, humor, and an engaging storyline. Abby Jimenez’s writing style and ability to create compelling characters will have readers hooked from start to finish.

If you enjoyed It Happened One Summer and want a book that explores the complexities of love and friendship in a heartfelt and entertaining way, then The Friend Zone is an excellent choice.

Related: 12 Heartwarming Books Like The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

06. The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary

The Flatshare is a heartwarming and quirky romance novel written by Beth O’Leary. The story follows Tiffy and Leon, two strangers who agree to share a flat together, with Tiffy occupying the flat during the evening and weekends, and Leon using it during the day for his night shift job. As they navigate their unconventional living arrangement, they start leaving notes for each other, leading to a series of humorous and heartfelt exchanges.

Filled with charming and relatable characters, The Flatshare explores themes of friendship, healing, and second chances. It delves into the complexities of human relationships and the power of communication. The alternating perspectives of Tiffy and Leon provide unique insights into their thoughts and emotions, making it a compelling and engaging read.

If you enjoyed the humor, romance, and unforgettable characters of It Happened One Summer, you’re sure to love The Flatshare. It offers a delightful blend of wit, warmth, and genuine emotion that will leave you with a smile on your face.

Related: 20 Heart-stopping Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens 

07. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Project is a heartwarming and humorous novel written by Graeme Simsion. It tells the story of Don Tillman, a socially awkward professor of genetics who embarks on a quest to find the perfect wife. Don’s meticulously planned and logical approach to finding love is turned upside down when he meets Rosie, a spontaneous and free-spirited woman who is the complete opposite of his ideal match.

As Don and Rosie navigate their unlikely friendship and romantic entanglements, readers are treated to a delightful and uplifting story filled with quirky characters, endearing moments, and unexpected surprises. The Rosie Project explores themes of love, acceptance, and the beauty of embracing imperfections.

If you enjoyed the heartwarming and unconventional love story of It Happened One Summer, you’ll likely find The Rosie Project to be an equally captivating read. Both books share a sense of humor, memorable characters, and a touching exploration of relationships and personal growth.

With its engaging storyline and lovable characters, The Rosie Project is a highly recommended book for fans of feel-good romantic comedies.

Related: 10 Books Like When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

08. The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

The Kiss Quotient is a heartwarming romantic novel written by Helen Hoang. The story follows Stella Lane, an econometrician with Asperger’s syndrome, who hires a male escort, Michael Phan, to help her improve her skills in dating and intimacy.

The Kiss Quotient explores themes of self-discovery, acceptance, and embracing one’s uniqueness. Stella’s journey to understand her own needs and desires is both relatable and empowering. The book also highlights the importance of communication and open-mindedness in relationships.

Helen Hoang’s writing beautifully captures the emotional depth of the characters and their evolving connection. The story is filled with heartwarming moments, humor, and steamy romance.

If you enjoyed It Happened One Summer and are looking for a similar read, The Kiss Quotient is a wonderful choice. It offers an engaging and unconventional love story that will leave you swooning and rooting for the characters.

Related: 15 Great Books Like No Longer Human by Osamu Dazai

09. Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes

Evvie Drake Starts Over is a heartwarming and charming novel written by Linda Holmes. The story follows Evvie Drake, a young widow who is navigating her way through grief and rebuilding her life. When Evvie meets Dean Tenney, a former Major League Baseball player with a mysterious secret, they form an unlikely friendship that brings healing and new beginnings.

This novel explores themes of love, friendship, second chances, and the power of self-discovery. Evvie’s journey of self-reflection and personal growth is relatable and inspiring for readers. The writing is witty, heartfelt, and filled with memorable characters that will capture your heart.

If you enjoyed It Happened One Summer and are looking for a similar heartwarming and uplifting read, Evvie Drake Starts Over is a perfect choice. It offers a mix of romance, humor, and emotional depth that will keep you engaged from beginning to end.

Related: 13 Great Books Like Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow: Ultimate List

10. The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory

The Proposal is a contemporary romance novel by Jasmine Guillory that will captivate readers with its charming and heartfelt story. The book follows Nikole Paterson, a freelance writer, who finds herself in an unexpected situation after a spontaneous marriage proposal from her boyfriend. As she navigates the aftermath of the proposal, she forms a unique arrangement with Carlos Ibarra, a charming doctor who agrees to pose as her fiancé.

Set in the vibrant city of Los Angeles, The Proposal explores themes of love, friendship, and personal growth. Guillory’s writing style is engaging and full of wit, making it a delightful read for fans of romantic comedies. The chemistry between Nikole and Carlos is palpable, and readers will find themselves cheering for their unconventional love story.

With its diverse and relatable characters, The Proposal tackles important topics such as consent, self-discovery, and the complexities of modern relationships. Guillory’s ability to blend humor, romance, and social commentary makes this book a standout in the genre.

If you enjoyed It Happened One Summer, The Proposal is a must-read that offers a similar blend of romance, humor, and heartwarming moments. Dive into this enchanting story and get ready to be swept away by the love and laughter that fills its pages.

Related: 19 Great Books Like Normal People by Sally Rooney: Best Titles

Before You Go – Books Like It Happened One Summer

If you enjoyed It Happened One Summer and are looking for similar books to read, this one if for you! I hope you’ll have a great time reading these titles as much as I did.

There are plenty of captivating and heartwarming stories out there that offer the same blend of romance and humor. Whether you’re in the mood for a beachy romance like The Unhoneymooners or a witty and entertaining read like The Hating Game, there are numerous options to choose from.

So grab a cozy blanket and a cup of hot cocoa, and immerse yourself in these delightful tales. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *