| |

19 Great Books Like Normal People by Sally Rooney: Best Titles

If you’re a fan of the bestselling novel Normal People by Sally Rooney and find yourself craving more literary goodness, this one’s for you! 

We’ve curated a list of books similar to “Normal People” that will captivate you with their compelling stories and complex characters.

From the emotional journey of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman to the heartwarming tale of The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion, these books will leave a lasting impression. 

Whether you’re looking for a love story, a coming-of-age tale, or a thought-provoking narrative, our list has something for every reader. 

So grab a cozy blanket, curl up with one of these captivating novels, and let yourself get lost in the pages.

books like normal people
Normal People by Sally Rooney

Books Like Normal People by Sally Rooney

Here’s a quick list of the books like Normal People by Sally Rooney.

  • Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney
  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
  • The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
  • One Day by David Nicholls
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  • Call Me by Your Name by André Aciman
  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
  • An American Marriage by Tayari Jones
  • The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  • Normal People by Lisa Taddeo
  • Less by Andrew Sean Greer
  • The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin
  • Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
  • The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo
  • Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin
  • The Idiot by Elif Batuman
  • On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong

Normal People by Sally Rooney

Normal People is a critically acclaimed novel by Sally Rooney that explores the complex relationship between Connell and Marianne, two Irish teenagers from different social backgrounds who navigate love, friendship, and personal growth throughout their lives.

The novel delves into themes of class, power dynamics, and the impact of societal expectations on individual relationships. Rooney’s writing style, characterized by its raw and introspective nature, captivates readers and draws them into the emotional journey of the protagonists.

Normal People has garnered praise for its realistic portrayal of human emotions and its exploration of complex characters who are flawed yet relatable. The novel has resonated with readers worldwide, becoming a bestseller and receiving numerous accolades.

Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney

Conversations with Friends is another novel by Sally Rooney that explores complex relationships and the intricacies of human connections. The story follows Frances, a young aspiring writer, and her best friend Bobbi, as they navigate their relationships with older married couple Nick and Melissa.

Similar to Normal People, Conversations with Friends delves into themes of love, friendship, and the fluidity of identity. It delves deep into the complexities of modern relationships and the power dynamics that can exist within them.

Rooney’s writing style in Conversations with Friends is just as compelling and introspective as in Normal People, delving into the characters’ internal struggles and emotional intimacy. The dialogue-driven narrative allows readers to immerse themselves in the characters’ conversations, which often reveal deeper layers of their personalities and desires.

If you enjoyed the nuanced exploration of relationships and captivating prose in Normal People, Conversations with Friends is a must-read that will leave you contemplating the complexities of human connection.

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is a heartwarming and complex novel that explores themes of loneliness, trauma, and the power of human connection. The story follows the life of Eleanor Oliphant, a socially awkward and isolated woman who has spent most of her life alone.

Eleanor’s journey towards healing begins when she develops an unexpected friendship with Raymond, a coworker from her office. Through their friendship, Eleanor begins to confront her traumatic past and learn how to navigate the complexities of human relationships. Gail Honeyman’s portrayal of Eleanor’s struggles and growth is both poignant and inspiring.

Readers who enjoyed Normal People may also appreciate the introspective and character-driven nature of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine. Both novels delve into the complexities of human emotions and the impact that past experiences can have on our present lives.

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is a powerful and deeply affecting novel that reminds us of the importance of kindness, empathy, and the healing power of friendship.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Project is a heartwarming and humorous novel that explores themes of love, relationships, and self-discovery. It follows the story of a socially awkward genetics professor, Don Tillman, who embarks on a journey to find a suitable partner using a scientifically designed questionnaire. However, his plans take an unexpected turn when he meets Rosie, a free-spirited woman who challenges his structured approach to life.

The Rosie Project is a delightful mix of romance and comedy, with quirky and endearing characters that will capture your heart. If you enjoyed the complex relationship dynamics and character-driven storytelling of Normal People, you’ll likely enjoy The Rosie Project as well.

Similar to Normal People, The Rosie Project explores themes of personal growth, communication, and the complexities of human connections. It offers a unique perspective on love and challenges societal norms and expectations. Overall, The Rosie Project is a charming and uplifting read that will leave you with a warm and fuzzy feeling.

One Day by David Nicholls

One Day by David Nicholls is a poignant and heartfelt novel that explores the complex and evolving relationship between Emma and Dexter. The story follows their lives over the course of 20 years, checking in on them on the same day, July 15th, each year. Through this unique format, Nicholls beautifully captures the joys, challenges, and realities of love and friendship.

One Day delves deep into the characters’ inner thoughts and feelings, allowing readers to form a deep connection with Emma and Dexter. The novel explores themes of love, loss, regrets, and the passage of time. Nicholls’ writing is honest, witty, and emotionally resonant, making it a compelling read.

Readers who enjoyed Normal People are likely to find similar themes and emotional depth in One Day. Both novels explore the complexities of relationships and the impact that time and circumstance can have on them. Fans of Sally Rooney’s writing style may appreciate David Nicholls’ ability to capture the nuances and intricacies of human relationships.

If you’re looking for a book that will make you ponder the complexities of love, friendship, and the passage of time, One Day by David Nicholls is a great choice to add to your reading list.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Great Gatsby, written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, is a classic novel that explores themes of love, wealth, and the American Dream. Set in the 1920s, the story follows Jay Gatsby, a wealthy and mysterious man, as he tries to win back the love of his life, Daisy Buchanan.

Fitzgerald’s writing style is known for its vivid descriptions and insightful social commentary. The Great Gatsby captures the decadence and excess of the Jazz Age, while also delving into themes such as the corruption of the American Dream and the hollowness of material success.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is a heart-wrenching and emotional young adult novel that deals with themes of love, loss, and the fragility of life. It follows the story of Hazel, a sixteen-year-old cancer patient, and Gus, a charming and witty amputee. Together, they navigate the complexities of their illnesses and form a deep and meaningful connection.

The novel explores the realities of living with a terminal illness and the impact it has on both the individuals and their loved ones. It delves into the emotional struggles, the search for meaning, and the power of love and friendship in the face of adversity.

If you enjoyed the heartfelt and poignant storytelling of Normal People, you might also enjoy The Fault in Our Stars. Both novels explore complex relationships, delve into the depths of human emotions, and offer profound insights into the human experience.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You is a heartwarming and thought-provoking novel by Jojo Moyes that explores themes of love, friendship, and the complexities of life. The story follows Louisa Clark, a young woman who takes on a job as a caregiver for a quadriplegic man named Will Traynor.

As Louisa gets to know Will, she discovers his desire to end his life due to his disability. Through their interactions, the two develop a deep bond and Louisa is determined to show him that life is still worth living. The novel delves into the moral and ethical questions surrounding assisted suicide as well as the power of human connection and the ability to find joy in the face of adversity.

If you enjoyed the emotional depth and complex relationships portrayed in Normal People, Me Before You is a book that you will undoubtedly appreciate. It tackles similar themes of love and personal growth, and will keep you engaged and invested in the characters’ journeys until the very end.

Call Me by Your Name by André Aciman

Call Me by Your Name is a beautiful and poignant coming-of-age novel by André Aciman. Set in the summer of 1983, the story follows the intense and passionate relationship between Elio, a 17-year-old boy, and Oliver, a graduate student who comes to stay at Elio’s family’s Italian villa.

The novel explores themes of sexual awakening, desire, love, and identity. Aciman’s lyrical and evocative prose captures the intensity of Elio and Oliver’s emotions as they navigate their complicated feelings for each other.

Just as in Normal People, Call Me by Your Name delves into the complexities of human connection and the transformative power of love. It portrays the beauty and pain of first love and the bittersweet nature of fleeting summer romances.

Aciman’s portrayal of Elio’s internal struggles and his exploration of desire are both sensitive and deeply felt. The novel invites readers to reflect on their own experiences of love and longing.

If you enjoyed Normal People and are looking for similar books that explore themes of love, desire, and self-discovery, Call Me by Your Name is a must-read.

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

A Little Life is a critically acclaimed novel by Hanya Yanagihara that delves into the complex lives and relationships of four college friends as they navigate adulthood in New York City. The book explores themes of friendship, trauma, love, and the search for identity.

Like Normal People, A Little Life delves into the deeper emotions and complexities of human relationships. It offers a poignant exploration of friendship and the impact of past trauma on one’s present life. The book delves into the characters’ struggles with their own identities and the meaningful connections they form with others.

If you enjoyed the emotional depth and character-driven narrative of Normal People, you may find A Little Life to be a compelling read. It offers a similar examination of the complexities of human relationships and the lasting impact of past experiences.

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

An American Marriage is a compelling and thought-provoking novel by Tayari Jones that explores the complexities of love, marriage, and racial injustice. The story revolves around the lives of Roy and Celestial, a young African American couple whose lives are shattered when Roy is wrongfully convicted of a crime he didn’t commit.

Through richly drawn characters and powerful storytelling, Jones delves into the impact of Roy’s incarceration on their relationship and the wider community. The novel examines themes of systemic racism, personal identity, and the bonds that hold marriages together in the face of adversity.

An American Marriage is a poignant and timely novel that raises important questions about justice, love, and the intricacies of human relationships. It is a must-read for fans of Normal People who are seeking similarly compelling and emotionally resonant stories.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a captivating novel that explores the life of the legendary actress Evelyn Hugo. The book delves into her tumultuous relationships, scandals, and the sacrifices she made for her career.

Similar to Normal People, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo delves deep into the complexities of human relationships and emotions. It explores themes of love, fame, and identity, making it a compelling read for fans of Sally Rooney’s work.

The novel also offers a glimpse into the glamorous and often dark world of Hollywood, providing readers with a captivating and immersive experience. Taylor Jenkins Reid’s writing style is engaging and evocative, drawing readers into the story and keeping them hooked until the very end.

If you enjoyed the intense character dynamics and emotional depth of Normal People, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a book that should be on your reading list. It will take you on a journey through love, ambition, and the complexities of human nature.

Normal People by Lisa Taddeo

Normal People by Lisa Taddeo is a compelling novel that explores the complex and often tumultuous relationship between two characters, Connell and Marianne. The story follows their journey from high school to college and beyond, as they navigate the challenges of love, friendship, and personal growth.

Taddeo delves deep into the emotional lives of her characters, capturing their vulnerabilities, insecurities, and desires with raw honesty. The writing is introspective and intimate, allowing readers to connect deeply with Connell and Marianne’s experiences and emotions.

Like Normal People, Lisa Taddeo’s novel explores themes of love, identity, and self-discovery. The characters grapple with their own demons, societal expectations, and the complexities of relationships. Taddeo’s insightful storytelling and nuanced portrayal of human emotions make for a compelling read.

Less by Andrew Sean Greer

Less is a Pulitzer Prize-winning novel written by Andrew Sean Greer. It tells the story of Arthur Less, a middle-aged writer who embarks on a journey to escape the realities of his failing career and recent heartbreak. The novel is a humorous and heartfelt exploration of love, aging, and self-discovery.

In Less, Greer paints a vivid picture of Arthur’s travels as he attends literary events and encounters various colorful characters along the way. The novel tackles themes of identity, regret, and the search for meaning in life. Through Arthur’s experiences, Greer offers a poignant commentary on the complexities of human relationships and the universal desire for connection.

If you enjoyed the intimate and character-driven narrative of Normal People, you may find yourself captivated by Less. Both novels delve into the intricacies of human emotions and relationships, exploring the ups and downs of love and self-discovery.

With its rich storytelling and introspective themes, Less is a compelling read that is sure to resonate with fans of Normal People and those looking for a thought-provoking exploration of life’s complexities.

The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin

The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin is a captivating novel that explores themes of destiny, family, and the choices we make in life. The story follows four siblings who, as children, visit a fortune teller who predicts the date of their deaths. This knowledge shapes their lives in different ways, and the novel delves into how each sibling grapples with the idea of mortality and how it influences their relationships and decisions.

The Immortalists raises thought-provoking questions about the power of belief, the lengths we go to control our fate, and the impact our choices have on ourselves and those around us. Benjamin’s writing is poignant and evocative, drawing readers into the lives of the characters and the complexities of their individual journeys.

If you enjoyed Normal People and are looking for similar books that explore deep relationships and the complexities of human connection, The Immortalists is a great choice. It offers a compelling exploration of the human condition and the ways in which we navigate the unpredictable paths of our lives.

Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Pachinko, written by Min Jin Lee, is a gripping and sweeping historical novel that follows four generations of a Korean family living in Japan. It explores themes of identity, family, love, and the struggle for belonging.

The story begins in the early 1900s with Sunja, a young Korean woman who becomes pregnant by a wealthy married man. Faced with limited options, she agrees to marry a kind but sickly minister who offers her a chance at a better life in Japan. As the family navigates the challenges of living as outsiders in Japanese society, they face discrimination, poverty, and the ever-present reminder of their Korean heritage.

Pachinko is a beautifully written and emotionally intense novel that delves deep into the complexities of love, sacrifice, and the universal desire for a sense of home and belonging. It provides a nuanced and thought-provoking exploration of the immigrant experience, cultural identity, and the ways in which societal forces shape individuals and their relationships.

If you enjoyed Normal People’s exploration of complex characters and their relationships, Pachinko is a must-read that will captivate you with its rich storytelling and compelling characters. It delves into similar themes of love, identity, and the impact of societal forces on individuals’ lives.

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo is a captivating and emotionally charged novel that explores love, loss, and the choices we make that shape our lives. If you enjoyed Normal People, you may find The Light We Lost to be a compelling read with similar themes and emotional depth.

The story follows the lives of Lucy and Gabe, two college students who meet in New York City on September 11, 2001. Their lives become forever linked on that fateful day, and their connection deepens throughout the years, despite the challenges and obstacles they face.

Like Normal People, The Light We Lost delves into the complexities of relationships, exploring the impact of timing, choices, and personal growth on love. It raises thought-provoking questions about fate, destiny, and the sacrifices we make for the ones we love.

Jill Santopolo’s writing is heartfelt and evocative, immersing readers in the emotional journey of the characters. The story is told through Lucy’s perspective, allowing readers to intimately experience her thoughts, feelings, and reflections throughout the years.

While the narrative explores themes of love and relationships, it also touches on ambition, career aspirations, and the pursuit of personal fulfillment. The characters grapple with the balance between love and individuality, making The Light We Lost a thought-provoking and resonant read.

If you enjoyed the complex and nuanced exploration of love in Normal People, The Light We Lost offers a similar emotional depth and exploration of the complexities of relationships. It is a poignant and captivating novel that will leave you reflecting on the choices we make and the impact they have on our lives.

Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin

Giovanni’s Room is a novel written by James Baldwin that explores themes of love, identity, and sexuality. Set in 1950s Paris, the story revolves around the protagonist, David, who grapples with his feelings towards both men and women and ultimately embarks on a passionate affair with Giovanni, a young Italian bartender.

The novel delves into the complexities of human relationships and the struggles individuals face in accepting their true selves. It explores themes of societal expectations, self-discovery, and the consequences of suppressing one’s desires. Baldwin’s lyrical prose and introspective narrative make Giovanni’s Room a compelling and thought-provoking read.

Giovanni’s Room is a powerful exploration of love and sexuality that may appeal to fans of Normal People, as both novels tackle the complexities of human relationships and the impact of societal expectations on personal identity.

The Idiot by Elif Batuman

The Idiot is a novel written by Elif Batuman that explores the life of Selin, a young woman starting her freshman year at Harvard University. The book follows Selin’s experiences and challenges as she navigates her way through college, relationships, and self-discovery.

Elif Batuman’s writing style in The Idiot is often described as witty and introspective. The novel delves into themes of identity, language, and the complexities of human relationships. It offers a fresh and relatable perspective on the coming-of-age experience.

If you enjoyed the compelling storytelling and exploration of interpersonal dynamics in Normal People, you may find The Idiot to be a similarly engaging read. Both books delve into the complexities of young adulthood and offer thought-provoking insights into the human experience.

The Idiot is a novel that will resonate with readers who appreciate character-driven narratives and introspective storytelling. It is a unique and compelling work that offers a fresh perspective on the challenges and experiences of young adulthood.

On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong

On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous is a groundbreaking novel by Ocean Vuong that explores themes of identity, family, love, and the power of language. The story is told through a series of letters written by a young man named Little Dog to his illiterate mother, as he reflects on his experiences growing up as a Vietnamese immigrant in America.

Vuong’s lyrical prose and poetic writing style create a deeply emotional and immersive reading experience. The book delves into the complexities of race, sexuality, and the immigrant experience, offering a unique and thought-provoking perspective on these topics.

Through his vivid descriptions and evocative storytelling, Vuong paints a vivid picture of Little Dog’s life, from his childhood in Vietnam to his adolescence and coming of age in America. The novel explores the challenges and triumphs of navigating cultural and generational differences, as well as the impact of trauma and violence on individuals and their relationships.

On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous is a beautifully written and poignant novel that will resonate with readers who appreciate introspective and thought-provoking stories. It explores themes of love, loss, and the power of storytelling, leaving a lasting impression on its readers.

Books Like Normal People – Final Thoughts

If you enjoyed reading “Normal People” by Sally Rooney and are looking for similar titles, there are plenty of books out there that explore complex relationships and personal growth. Some great options include “Conversations with Friends” by Sally Rooney, “Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine” by Gail Honeyman, and “The Rosie Project” by Graeme Simsion. These books delve into themes of love, friendship, and self-discovery, providing heartfelt stories that captivate readers.

Whether you’re in the mood for a contemporary romance like “One Day” by David Nicholls or prefer classics like “The Great Gatsby” by F. Scott Fitzgerald, there are endless possibilities to satisfy your reading cravings. Other recommendations include “The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green, “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes, and “Call Me by Your Name” by André Aciman. Each of these books offers unique perspectives on love, identity, and the complexities of human relationships.

So, if you enjoyed “Normal People” and want to continue exploring thought-provoking stories that touch the heart, these suggested titles will provide you with a diverse range of immersive reading experiences.

One Comment

  1. I too love books! I truly feel like these are going to be awesome companions during these winter months. Thank you so very much for putting this wonderful post together!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *