| |

9 Books Like The Great Gatsby (Recommended Reading List)

If you’re a fan of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s classic novel, The Great Gatsby, then get ready to dive into a world of decadence, love, and tragedy once again.

I’ve compiled a list of 10 books that capture the same spirit and allure as The Great Gatsby, taking you on a journey through the roaring twenties and beyond.

Books like The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Books Like The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

From the intoxicating parties of The Beautiful and Damned to the gripping tale of obsession and wealth in An American Tragedy, each book on this recommended reading list will transport you back in time and leave you craving more. So get ready to lose yourself in the pages of these timeless classics, reminiscent of the glamour and complexity of The Great Gatsby.

Books Similar to The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Great Gatsby is a classic American novel written by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Set in the 1920s, it talks about how elusive American dreams can be and when uncheck, it tends to be one’s downfall. The story revolves around Jay Gatsby, a mysterious millionaire who throws extravagant parties in the hope of winning back his lost love, Daisy Buchanan.

Fitzgerald’s writing vividly captures the glamour and decadence of the Roaring Twenties, as well as the darker undercurrents of the era. Through the character of Gatsby, Fitzgerald were able to reinvent the idea of oneself and the lengths one is willing to go to in pursuit of love and success.

The novel is renowned for its lyrical prose and nuanced characters, particularly the enigmatic and tragic figure of Gatsby himself. Reading the book, you’ll feel tranced back to the time it was set feeling as if you’re of the people inside the huge parties thrown by Gatsby. Longing, disillusionment, and the corrupting influence of wealth are among many major themes you can find in the novel.

If you enjoyed The Great Gatsby, the following titles are for you:

  1. The Beautiful and Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  2. Tender Is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  3. An American Tragedy by Theodore Dreiser
  4. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
  5. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
  6. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  7. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  8. Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
  9. This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Beautiful and Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald. 

Entry for books like the Great Gatsby

01. The Beautiful and Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Beautiful and Damned is a novel written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, the same author of The Great Gatsby. It explores similar themes of wealth, love, and the pursuit of the American Dream.

The story follows the lives of Anthony Patch and his wife Gloria, a young couple living in New York City during the Jazz Age. They navigate the party scene and indulgent lifestyle of the wealthy elite, but soon realize that their glamorous existence is shallow and devoid of true meaning.

Through the characters of Anthony and Gloria, Fitzgerald delves into the destructive power of materialism and the empty pursuit of pleasure. The novel explores the disillusionment and moral decay that can result from a life of excess and indulgence.

Like The Great Gatsby, The Beautiful and Damned is a critique of the Roaring Twenties and the superficiality of the American Dream. It offers a glimpse into the lives of the wealthy and reveals the dark underbelly of the glamorous lifestyle.

Overall, The Beautiful and Damned is a must-read for fans of The Great Gatsby or anyone interested in exploring the themes and atmosphere of the Jazz Age.

Related: 16 Books Like The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Tender Is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Entry for books like the Great Gatsby

02. Tender Is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald

From the same author Fitzgerald, Tender Is the Night is a novel that tells the story of Dick and Nicole Diver, a glamorous couple living in the French Riviera and their disintegration as they become entangled in a web of ambition, infidelity, and mental illness.

Fitzgerald’s lyrical writing style and vivid descriptions bring the characters and settings to life, capturing the decadence of the Jazz Age and the darkness that lurks beneath the surface. Like The Great Gatsby, Tender Is the Night delves into the complexities of love, identity, and the pursuit of happiness.

If you enjoyed the tragic love story and social commentary of “The Great Gatsby,” “Tender Is the Night” is a must-read. It offers a deeper exploration of the themes and motifs that made Fitzgerald’s writing so iconic.

Related: 10 Books Like When Breath Becomes Air By Paul Kalanithi

An American Tragedy by Theodore Dreiser

Entry for books like the Great Gatsby

03. An American Tragedy by Theodore Dreiser

“An American Tragedy” is a novel written by Theodore Dreiser that explores the themes of ambition, love, and morality in early 20th century America. It tells the story of Clyde Griffiths, a young man from a poor family who strives for success and wealth but becomes entangled in a love triangle that leads to a tragic outcome.

The novel delves into the dark side of the American Dream, highlighting the pursuit of material success at the expense of moral values. It explores the tension between societal expectations and individual desires, as Clyde struggles to navigate the complexities of his relationships and make choices that impact his future.

“An American Tragedy” is known for its powerful storytelling and its examination of the consequences of unchecked ambition and the pursuit of social status. It offers a critique of the American society of the time and raises questions about the true meaning of happiness and fulfillment.

If you enjoyed “The Great Gatsby,” with its themes of wealth, social class, and the American Dream, “An American Tragedy” is a thought-provoking and compelling read that will resonate with you.

Related: 20 Books Like Divergent by Veronica Roth

The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

Entry for books like the Great Gatsby

04. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway is a novel that explores the disillusionment and moral decay of the post-World War I generation. Set in 1920s Europe, the story follows a group of expatriates as they travel from Paris to Pamplona, Spain, to witness the Running of the Bulls festival. The novel delves into themes of love, masculinity, and the search for meaning in a world that seems devoid of values.

Hemingway’s spare and direct prose style is characteristic of his writing, and he expertly conveys the emotions and inner turmoil of his characters. The protagonist, Jake Barnes, is a war veteran who is impotent due to a war injury, and his love for the beautiful but promiscuous Lady Brett Ashley serves as a central conflict throughout the novel.

The Sun Also Rises is a powerful exploration of the Lost Generation, a term coined by Gertrude Stein to describe the disillusioned and aimless young people who emerged from the wreckage of World War I. Hemingway’s novel captures the essence of this generation and provides a poignant and thought-provoking examination of their struggles and desires.

Related: 13 Books Like The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

Entry for books like the Great Gatsby

05. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

The Age of Innocence is a novel by Edith Wharton that explores the complexities of upper-class society in 1870s New York. The story follows Newland Archer, a young lawyer who is engaged to the beautiful and conventional May Welland, but becomes infatuated with her unconventional cousin, Countess Ellen Olenska.

Wharton depicts the rigid social norms and expectations of the time, highlighting the tension between individual desires and societal obligations. The novel examines themes of love, duty, and the conflict between personal fulfillment and conformity.

The Age of Innocence won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1921, making Wharton the first woman to receive this prestigious award. It is widely regarded as one of her greatest works and a classic of American literature.

If you enjoyed The Great Gatsby’s exploration of societal expectations and the consequences of challenging them, you will likely appreciate The Age of Innocence and its portrayal of the complexities of love and duty.

Related: 15 Great Books Like No Longer Human by Osamu Dazai

The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger
Entry for books like the Great Gatsby

06. The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

The Catcher in the Rye, written by J.D. Salinger, is a classic novel that explores themes of teenage angst, alienation, and the search for identity. It is often considered a coming-of-age story and has had a significant impact on literature and popular culture.

The story follows the protagonist, Holden Caulfield, a disillusioned teenager who has been expelled from his boarding school. Holden is struggling to find meaning and connection in a world that he sees as phony and full of hypocrisy.

Throughout the novel, Holden embarks on a journey of self-discovery and encounters various characters who represent different aspects of society. He grapples with the loss of innocence, the complexities of adulthood, and the challenges of finding his place in the world.

The Catcher in the Rye is known for its raw and honest portrayal of adolescence and has resonated with readers of all ages. It delves into universal themes of identity, alienation, and the search for authenticity, making it a compelling read for anyone interested in exploring the complexities of youth and the human experience.

Related: 15 Best Thriller Books Like The Silent Patient: My Top Recommendation

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
Entry for books like the Great Gatsby

07. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

The Picture of Dorian Gray is a novel written by Oscar Wilde and is often considered a classic of Gothic literature. The story follows the young and beautiful Dorian Gray, who makes a Faustian bargain to remain forever young while a portrait ages and reflects the consequences of his immoral actions.

Wilde’s novel explores themes of vanity, morality, and the corrupting influence of aestheticism. It delves into the dark side of human nature and the consequences of pursuing pleasure and beauty without regard for the ethical implications of one’s actions.

The Picture of Dorian Gray is a thought-provoking and haunting novel that invites readers to reflect on the nature of sin, temptation, and the pursuit of eternal youth and beauty. It is a must-read for fans of The Great Gatsby who are looking for a similarly introspective and morally complex narrative.

Related: 10 Great Books Like A Gentleman In Moscow

Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
Entry for books like the Great Gatsby

08. Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh

Brideshead Revisited is a novel by Evelyn Waugh that explores themes of wealth, privilege, love, and loss. Set in the early 20th century, the story follows the life of protagonist Charles Ryder as he becomes intertwined with the aristocratic Marchmain family and their grand estate, Brideshead. Through his relationships with the family members, Charles experiences the glamour and decadence of the upper class, but also the moral and spiritual emptiness that often accompanies it.

The novel delves into themes of nostalgia, religion, and the passing of time. It raises questions about the nature of love and the role of faith in navigating the complexities of human relationships. The beautiful and atmospheric prose of Brideshead Revisited paints a vivid picture of a bygone era and offers insight into the human condition.

If you enjoyed The Great Gatsby, you may find Brideshead Revisited to be a compelling read that delves into similar themes of wealth and disillusionment. It offers a different perspective on the societal elite and the impact their choices and actions have on those around them.

Related: 10 Stunning Books Like It Happened One Summer (Recommended Reads)

This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Entry for books like the Great Gatsby

09. This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald

This Side of Paradise is a novel written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, the same author as The Great Gatsby. It was first published in 1920 and tells the story of Amory Blaine, a young man who struggles to find his identity and purpose in life.

The novel explores themes of love, wealth, ambition, and the disillusionment of the American Dream. It captures the spirit of the Lost Generation and the post-World War I era, depicting the lifestyles and social dynamics of the time.

Similar to The Great Gatsby, This Side of Paradise offers a glimpse into the decadence and excess of the Jazz Age. It delves into the complexities of human relationships and the search for meaning in a society obsessed with materialism and shallow pursuits.

The character of Amory Blaine can be seen as a predecessor to Jay Gatsby, with both embodying the desire to reinvent themselves and achieve success in the pursuit of love and social status. Both novels also explore the themes of unrequited love and the fragility of romantic relationships.

This Side of Paradise stands as a testament to Fitzgerald’s exquisite writing style and his ability to capture the zeitgeist of the Roaring Twenties. It is a must-read for fans of The Great Gatsby and anyone interested in exploring the themes and motifs of the Jazz Age.

Related: 18 Amazing Books Like In Five Years: Must-Read Alternatives

Books Like The Great Gatsby – Final Thoughts

If you enjoyed reading The Great Gatsby and are looking for similar books that delve into themes of wealth, love, and the American Dream, then you’ll definitely want to add these titles to your reading list. The Beautiful and Damned, Tender Is the Night, and An American Tragedy all explore similar themes and offer captivating stories that will keep you engaged from beginning to end.

Whether you’re a fan of F. Scott Fitzgerald or simply looking for a new book to dive into, these recommendations are sure to satisfy your literary cravings. Happy reading!