10 Magical Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea

If you’re a fan of the enchanting and heartwarming tale of The House in the Cerulean Sea, this one’s for you! 

I’ve compiled a list of 10 extraordinary books like The House in The Cerulean Sea by T. J. Klune that captures the same magic and wonder as this beloved story. 

Books like The House in The Cerulean Sea by T. J. Klune
The House in The Cerulean Sea by T. J. Klune

Brace yourself for a journey filled with whimsical adventures, captivating characters, and tales that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page.

From the atmospheric and mysterious world of The Starless Sea to the enchanting and enchanting characters of The Bear and the Nightingale, these must-read recommendations are sure to transport you to extraordinary realms and leave you yearning for more. 

So grab a cozy blanket, dive into these magical stories, and let your imagination soar alongside these unforgettable tales.

Quick List of the Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea by T. J. Klune

  • The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi
  • The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern
  • The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow
  • The Binding by Bridget Collins
  • Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan
  • The House of Impossible Beauties by Joseph Cassara
  • The House with Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson
  • The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

01. The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi

The Gilded Wolves is a captivating fantasy novel written by Roshani Chokshi. Set in a magical version of 19th century Paris, the story follows a diverse group of talented individuals who come together to unravel a dangerous mystery.

The protagonist, Séverin Montagnet-Alarie, is a charming and skilled treasure hunter with a complicated past. Alongside his team, which includes a brilliant engineer, an expert historian, a powerful dancer, and a loyal enigma, Séverin embarks on a thrilling adventure filled with puzzles, secret societies, and hidden treasures.

Chokshi’s writing is atmospheric and vivid, bringing the enchanting world of The Gilded Wolves to life. The intricately crafted plot is full of twists and turns, keeping readers on the edge of their seats. The characters are well-developed and diverse, each with their own strengths and vulnerabilities.

With its blend of history, magic, heists, and romance, The Gilded Wolves is a compelling read that will appeal to fans of The House in the Cerulean Sea. It explores similar themes of found family, acceptance, and the power of friendship. If you enjoyed the heartwarming and whimsical elements of The House in the Cerulean Sea, you won’t be able to put down The Gilded Wolves.

Related: 18 Remarkable Books Like Every Last Word: Recommended List

02. The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern is a captivating and enchanting fantasy novel that explores themes of storytelling, destiny, and the power of imagination. It follows the journey of Zachary Ezra Rawlins, a graduate student who discovers a mysterious book hidden in the depths of his university library.

As Zachary delves into the pages of the book, he is transported to a hidden underground world known as the Starless Sea. This magical realm is filled with labyrinthine libraries, secret societies, and mythical creatures, all interconnected through stories.

Throughout the novel, Morgenstern weaves together multiple narratives, blurring the lines between reality and fiction. The story effortlessly shifts between different time periods and perspectives, creating a rich tapestry of interconnected tales.

The Starless Sea is a love letter to books and the power of stories to transcend time and connect people across generations. It is a beautifully written and intricately crafted novel that will captivate readers who enjoyed “The House in the Cerulean Sea” with its whimsical prose and imaginative world-building.

Related: 12 Heartwarming Books Like The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

03. The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

The Ten Thousand Doors of January is a captivating novel by Alix E. Harrow that explores the power of imagination and the magic of storytelling. The story follows January Scaller, a young woman who discovers a mysterious book that transports her to different worlds and unlocks the secrets of her own family history.

Harrow’s writing is enchanting and beautifully crafted, drawing readers into a world filled with adventure, wonder, and the joy of discovering new possibilities. The book is a celebration of the power of books and the imagination to transport us beyond the confines of our ordinary lives.

Like The House in the Cerulean Sea, The Ten Thousand Doors of January is a tale of self-discovery, friendship, and the courage to defy expectations. Both books share a sense of magic and whimsy, with complex characters and richly imagined settings.

If you enjoyed the heartwarming and magical elements of The House in the Cerulean Sea, you won’t be able to resist The Ten Thousand Doors of January. It is a must-read for fans of fantasy and stories that transport you to another world.

Related: 20 Heart-stopping Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens 

04. The Binding by Bridget Collins

The Binding is a captivating novel by Bridget Collins that combines elements of fantasy, romance, and mystery. Set in a world where books hold secrets and memories, the story follows Emmett Farmer, a young farmworker who is unexpectedly drawn into the world of bookbinding.

In this society, certain individuals have the ability to bind people’s memories into books, erasing them from their minds. Emmett becomes an apprentice to a binder named Seredith, learning the art and secrets of binding. However, he soon discovers a book with his own name on it, bearing memories he has no recollection of.

The Binding explores themes of identity, love, and the power of storytelling. It delves into the ethical implications of manipulating memories and the consequences of uncovering hidden truths. Bridget Collins masterfully weaves together a tale that will keep readers enthralled from beginning to end.

If you enjoyed the atmospheric and immersive world of The House in the Cerulean Sea, The Binding offers a similar sense of enchantment and mystery. Both books explore the power of secrets, the importance of connection, and the ways in which stories shape our lives.

With its beautiful prose and intricate plot, The Binding is a must-read for fans of The House in the Cerulean Sea who are looking for another captivating and thought-provoking read.

Related: 10 Books Like When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

05. Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan

“Girls of Paper and Fire” by Natasha Ngan is a captivating and powerful fantasy novel that shares similarities with “The House in the Cerulean Sea”. Set in a world where nine different castes exist, the story follows Lei, a young girl from a humble background who is chosen to serve in the palace as a Paper Girl.

The Paper Girls are selected each year to serve the king as concubines, and they are required to obey his every command. However, Lei refuses to accept her fate silently and embarks on a journey to fight against the oppressive regime.

Like “The House in the Cerulean Sea”, “Girls of Paper and Fire” explores themes of discrimination, justice, and the fight for freedom. It delves into the lives of the Paper Girls and the challenges they face, highlighting the importance of friendship, love, and standing up for what is right.

The world-building in “Girls of Paper and Fire” is rich and immersive, with intricate details and a unique magical system. Natasha Ngan’s writing style is descriptive and evocative, drawing readers into the story and making them deeply invested in the characters’ journeys.

If you enjoyed the heartwarming and thought-provoking elements of “The House in the Cerulean Sea”, “Girls of Paper and Fire” is a must-read recommendation. It offers a similar blend of fantasy, social commentary, and engaging storytelling that will leave readers enthralled and craving for more.

Related: 15 Great Books Like No Longer Human by Osamu Dazai

06. The House of Impossible Beauties by Joseph Cassara

The House of Impossible Beauties is a captivating novel by Joseph Cassara that explores themes of love, identity, and resilience. Set in the vibrant world of 1980s New York City, the story follows a group of friends who form their own family and navigate the complexities of life as LGBTQ+ individuals.

Cassara’s writing shines a light on the drag ball culture of that era, providing a rich and immersive experience for readers. The House of Impossible Beauties delves into the subculture of the Harlem drag balls, where performers compete and celebrate their identities in a world that often rejects them.

The characters in the novel are beautifully crafted, each with their own unique struggles, dreams, and desires. Through their stories, Cassara explores the themes of self-discovery, acceptance, and the pursuit of happiness. Readers will find themselves invested in the lives of these characters as they navigate love, heartbreak, and the challenges of being true to themselves.

This book is a must-read for fans of The House in the Cerulean Sea who are looking for a similarly heartfelt and poignant story. It captures the same sense of found family, celebrates love in all its forms, and explores the power of embracing one’s true self.

Related: 13 Great Books Like Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow: Ultimate List

07. The House with Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson

The House with Chicken Legs is a captivating and enchanting novel by Sophie Anderson that is perfect for fans of “The House in the Cerulean Sea”. It tells the story of Marinka, a young girl who lives in a magical house that has chicken legs and can travel between different lands and times.

Marinka’s house is no ordinary house – it is a “Yaga”, a house that guides spirits into the afterlife. Marinka is destined to become the next “Yaga” and follow in her grandmother’s footsteps. However, Marinka dreams of a different life, of friendship and adventure beyond the confines of her wandering house.

As Marinka navigates her responsibilities as a “Yaga” and her desires for a different life, she embarks on a touching and heartfelt journey of self-discovery and embracing one’s true calling. Along the way, she encounters mythical creatures, experiences loss and love, and learns valuable lessons about identity and belonging.

The House with Chicken Legs beautifully explores themes of family, friendship, and the choice between following traditions and forging one’s own path. Sophie Anderson’s writing is both whimsical and poignant, transporting readers to a world filled with wonder and enchantment.

If you enjoyed the magic and heartwarming storytelling of “The House in the Cerulean Sea”, you will definitely fall in love with The House with Chicken Legs. It is a delightful and unforgettable tale that will leave you longing for more magical adventures.

Related: 19 Great Books Like Normal People by Sally Rooney: Best Titles

08. The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden is a captivating fantasy novel that transports readers to the mystical world of medieval Russia. Set in a village where legends and folklore come to life, this book is filled with enchanting storytelling, magical creatures, and a brave young heroine.

The story follows Vasya, a young girl who possesses a special gift to communicate with mythical creatures and spirits. As her village becomes plagued by dark forces and an evil stepmother, Vasya must embrace her unique abilities and fight against the supernatural powers threatening her home.

Katherine Arden’s writing brings the Russian folklore to life, immersing readers in a rich and atmospheric world. The vivid descriptions and lyrical prose transport you to the snowy landscapes and ancient forests of medieval Russia, where danger and wonder lurk at every turn.

With its themes of bravery, independence, and the power of folklore, The Bear and the Nightingale explores the importance of preserving traditions and embracing the supernatural. It is a beautifully woven tale that combines elements of fantasy, historical fiction, and fairy tales to create a unique and captivating reading experience.

If you enjoyed The House in the Cerulean Sea and are looking for another enchanting and atmospheric read, The Bear and the Nightingale is a must-read recommendation.

Related: 18 Books Like Divergent: The Ultimate Reading List

09. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus, written by Erin Morgenstern, is a captivating novel that transports readers to a world of magic and enchantment. The story revolves around a mysterious circus that only opens at night and is a stage for a competition between two young magicians.

The atmosphere of The Night Circus is described in vivid detail, with the sights, sounds, and smells of the circus coming alive on the pages. Readers will be mesmerized by the beautiful writing and the intricate plot that weaves together romance, mystery, and fantasy.

Like The House in the Cerulean Sea, The Night Circus explores themes of love, acceptance, and the power of following one’s own path. Both books whisk readers away to fantastical worlds that are filled with memorable characters and magical moments.

If you enjoyed the heartwarming and whimsical nature of The House in the Cerulean Sea, you are sure to be captivated by the enchanting world of The Night Circus.

Related: 13 Dystopic Books Like The Giver: My Best Recommendations

10. Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Every Heart a Doorway is a captivating and imaginative novel written by Seanan McGuire. The story follows a group of children who have returned to the real world after their adventures in various fantasy worlds. Now residing in a boarding school called Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children, they struggle to readjust to a society that doesn’t believe in the existence of their magical doorways.

The book explores themes of identity, belonging, and the search for a place where one truly fits in. Each character has their own unique experience and journey, making for a diverse and compelling cast of protagonists. McGuire’s writing is lyrical and enchanting, painting vivid pictures of the whimsical worlds the children have left behind.

Every Heart a Doorway is a thought-provoking and beautifully written novel that will leave readers longing for their own doorways into magical realms. It is a must-read for fans of The House in the Cerulean Sea who are craving more stories that celebrate the power of imagination and the beauty of finding one’s true home.

Related: 15 Best Thriller Books Like The Silent Patient: My Top Recommendation

Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea – Before You Go

If you loved “The House in the Cerulean Sea,” you’re in luck! There are many other captivating books that share similar themes and will keep you engrossed in their magical worlds. Whether you’re seeking enchanting tales of adventure, stories of extraordinary friendships, or novels with a touch of whimsy, there’s something on this list for everyone.

So grab a cozy blanket, a hot cup of tea, and immerse yourself in these must-read recommendations. Each book will transport you to a world filled with wonder, where the power of love, friendship, and self-discovery takes center stage. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *