| |

15 Best Books Like The Idea of You by Robinne Lee: Ultimate List

The Idea of You is a contemporary romance novel written by Robinne Lee. The story revolves around Solène Marchand, a successful art gallery owner in her 30s, and Hayes Campbell, a British rock star in his 20s and a member of the popular boy band August Moon.

The novel explores the unexpected and passionate love affair that develops between Solène and Hayes. Despite the age difference and the complexities of Hayes’s celebrity status, they embark on a secret and passionate romance that challenges their personal boundaries and societal norms.

Books like The Idea of You by Robinne Lee
The Idea of You by Robinne Lee

The novel has been praised for its mature and nuanced portrayal of love and the challenges that come with it.

It has resonated with readers who appreciate its exploration of the complexities of age-gap relationships and the price of fame. The Idea of You has gained a dedicated following and has been celebrated for its engaging storytelling and memorable characters.

If you love The Idea of You, this book list is for you! 

Books Like The Idea of You by Robinne Lee

Here’s the run through of the best books like The Idea of You by Robinne Lee:

  • Love Unscripted by Tina Reber
  • Something in the Way by Jessica Hawkins
  • The Unidentified Redhead by Alice Clayton
  • Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover
  • Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire
  • The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
  • The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang
  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  • One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  • It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover
  • Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover
  • The Hating Game by Sally Thorne
  • The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo
  • The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory
  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Love Unscripted by Tina Reber

Love Unscripted is a contemporary romance novel written by Tina Reber. The story centers around the romance between Taryn Mitchell, a young woman working as a waitress in a small-town restaurant, and Ryan Christensen, a famous Hollywood actor.

The novel explores the challenges and complexities of a relationship between an ordinary woman and a celebrity. Taryn’s life is turned upside down when Ryan enters her world, and they embark on a passionate and intense love affair. Their relationship is tested by the pressures of fame, paparazzi, and the intrusive nature of the entertainment industry.

Love Unscripted provides a glimpse into the glamorous yet demanding world of Hollywood. The novel combines elements of romance, drama, and the challenges of maintaining a private life in the public eye.

The book was well-received by fans of contemporary romance and those interested in the dynamics of relationships involving individuals from different worlds. It is the first book in a series, followed by Love Unrehearsed and Love Unguarded, continuing the story of Taryn and Ryan.

Something in the Way by Jessica Hawkins

Something in the Way is a contemporary romance novel by Jessica Hawkins. The story primarily revolves around Lake Kaplan, a young woman from a troubled family, and Manning Sutter, an older man who becomes her neighbor.

Set in the 1990s, the novel explores the forbidden and complicated attraction that develops between Lake and Manning. Lake’s family circumstances force her to grow up quickly, while Manning, a former Marine, struggles with his own secrets and past. Their age difference and the societal norms of the time create obstacles for their burgeoning romance.

The novel is the first book in a series, followed by Somebody Else’s Sky and Move the Stars, which continue the evolving relationship between Lake and Manning.

The Unidentified Redhead by Alice Clayton

The Unidentified Redhead is a contemporary romance novel by Alice Clayton. The story follows the adventures of Grace Sheridan, a thirty-three-year-old actress who moves to Los Angeles to pursue her career in Hollywood.

Grace’s life takes an unexpected turn when she reconnects with her old friend and fellow actor, Jack Hamilton, who is a rising star in the entertainment industry. As their friendship rekindles, it quickly turns into a passionate and flirtatious romance. The novel explores the ups and downs of their relationship, the challenges of fame, and the complications of dating in the Hollywood spotlight.

The Unidentified Redhead is part of a series, with sequels like The Redhead Revealed and The Redhead Plays Her Hand, which continue to follow Grace and Jack’s romantic journey in the world of Hollywood. It is a lighthearted and entertaining read for fans of contemporary romance.

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love centers around Tate Collins, a nursing student who moves into her brother’s apartment in San Francisco for college. She meets Miles Archer, a handsome and emotionally damaged pilot who is also her brother’s best friend.

The novel explores the complicated and intense romantic relationship that develops between Tate and Miles. Miles is haunted by a tragic event from his past that has left him emotionally scarred and unwilling to pursue love. Despite this, the two of them are drawn to each other, and their attraction becomes undeniable.

Colleen Hoover is known for her emotionally charged and character-driven storytelling, and Ugly Love is no exception. The novel explores the complexities of love and vulnerability, making it a popular choice for fans of contemporary romance.


RELATED BOOK LIST

13 Best Steamy Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey
13 Best Thriller Books Like The Inheritance Games
13 Great Books Like Girl in Pieces


Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful Disaster revolves around the passionate and tumultuous relationship between Abby Abernathy, a college student trying to escape her troubled past, and Travis Maddox, a charismatic and troubled bad boy with a reputation for being a fighter.

The novel explores the ups and downs of Abby and Travis’s relationship as they navigate the challenges of college life, friendship, and love. Their connection is intense, but it is also marked by jealousy, possessiveness, and a rollercoaster of emotions.

The book has gained popularity among fans of new adult and contemporary romance novels for its intense and emotionally charged storyline. It is the first book in the Beautiful series, followed by books like Walking Disaster and A Beautiful Wedding, which provide different perspectives on Abby and Travis’s relationship.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Project is a contemporary romantic comedy novel written by Graeme Simsion. The story follows Don Tillman, a genetics professor at a university in Melbourne, Australia, who is brilliant but socially awkward and lacks the ability to read social cues.

Don decides to embark on a project he calls the Wife Project in an attempt to find a suitable life partner. He creates a detailed questionnaire designed to filter out incompatible women and ensure a perfect match based on logic and compatibility. However, his rigid and analytical approach to dating doesn’t seem to yield the desired results.

Enter Rosie Jarman, a free-spirited bartender and PhD student, who disrupts Don’s carefully planned life. Rosie is everything Don’s questionnaire would disqualify, but he becomes involved in her quest to find her biological father, known only by a code name.

The novel beautifully portrays the quirks and idiosyncrasies of its characters and the unexpected ways in which love can blossom. It has been praised for its endearing characters and its ability to blend humor and heartfelt moments.

The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

The Kiss Quotient is a contemporary romance novel written by Helen Hoang. The story centers around Stella Lane, a successful woman with Asperger’s syndrome who is brilliant in her professional life but struggles with relationships. Stella decides to hire an escort, Michael, to help her gain more experience in romantic and sexual relationships.

As Stella and Michael navigate their arrangement, they develop a deep connection that goes beyond the initial transaction. The novel explores themes of love, intimacy, and the challenges of dealing with neurodiversity in the context of romantic relationships.

The Kiss Quotient is celebrated for its heartfelt portrayal of Stella’s character and the authenticity with which it addresses issues related to neurodiversity and the spectrum of human emotions. It is praised for its romantic and steamy elements while offering a unique perspective on love and intimacy. The novel has received critical acclaim and resonated with readers who appreciate its diverse and empathetic portrayal of characters.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You is a contemporary romance novel written by Jojo Moyes. The story revolves around the relationship between Louisa Clark, a young woman who loses her job and takes on a position as a caregiver, and Will Traynor, a man who has become quadriplegic due to a motorcycle accident.

Louisa becomes the caregiver for Will, who is initially bitter and despondent due to his condition. As they spend time together, their relationship evolves from a professional one to a deep and meaningful connection. Louisa’s mission becomes not only to take care of Will’s physical needs but also to bring joy and purpose back into his life.

Me Before You is known for its emotional depth and powerful storytelling. It has resonated with readers and has been adapted into a successful film of the same name. The novel is the first in a series, followed by After You and Still Me, which continue to explore Louisa’s journey and the impact of her relationship with Will on her life.

One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

One True Loves is a contemporary romance novel written by Taylor Jenkins Reid. The story centers around Emma Blair, a woman who is forced to make a heart-wrenching decision about her love life.

The novel begins with Emma’s husband, Jesse, going missing and presumed dead in a helicopter crash while they are on their first anniversary trip. Devastated by her loss, Emma eventually rebuilds her life and falls in love with someone else, Sam. She begins a new chapter with Sam and they become engaged.

However, everything takes a dramatic turn when Jesse is found alive and returns home to Emma after being stranded on a deserted island for years. Emma is suddenly faced with an impossible choice: her first love, Jesse, or the man who helped her heal and move forward, Sam.

Taylor Jenkins Reid is known for her character-driven storytelling and her ability to create intricate relationships. One True Loves is an emotionally charged novel that explores the concept of finding true love more than once in a lifetime.

It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

It Ends with Us follows the life of Lily Bloom, a young woman who has experienced a tumultuous childhood marked by her father’s abusive behavior. 

After moving to Boston and starting her own business, she meets Ryle Kincaid, a successful neurosurgeon, and they develop a romantic relationship. However, Lily’s first love, Atlas Corrigan, resurfaces in her life, complicating her feelings and choices.

As the story unfolds, It Ends with Us delves into the complexities of Lily’s relationships with Ryle and Atlas, while also addressing the difficult issue of domestic abuse. The novel explores themes of love, self-discovery, forgiveness, and the courage to break the cycle of abuse.

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne is a story revolving around the antagonistic and witty relationship between Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman, who work together at a publishing house.

Lucy and Joshua are coworkers who share an office and have a love-hate dynamic. They engage in playful, competitive games and banter, often at each other’s expense. However, their dynamic begins to shift when they both apply for a promotion, and their professional rivalry intensifies.

Sally Thorne’s writing is known for its humor, sharp dialogue, and the chemistry between the main characters. The Hating Game is a lighthearted and engaging romantic comedy that has resonated with readers who enjoy witty and playful romances. It has received praise for its clever storytelling and memorable characters.

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

The Light We Lost is a contemporary romance novel written by Jill Santopolo. The story follows the lives of Lucy and Gabe, who meet on September 11, 2001, while both are attending college in New York City. Their relationship begins on that fateful day, and as they navigate the challenges of life in the years that follow, they share a deep connection and a powerful love.

However, Gabe’s career as a photojournalist takes him to dangerous locations around the world, while Lucy pursues her own career in New York City. The novel explores the impact of their choices, their enduring love for each other, and the ways in which their lives intersect and diverge over the course of several years.

The Light We Lost is a poignant and emotional exploration of love, timing, and the choices people make in their lives. 

The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory

The Proposal is a contemporary romance novel written by Jasmine Guillory. It is the second book in the author’s Wedding Date series, although it can be read as a standalone novel.

The story centers around Nikole Paterson, a freelance writer living in Los Angeles, and Dr. Carlos Ibarra, a pediatrician and Nikole’s boyfriend of five months. When Carlos unexpectedly proposes to Nikole at a Dodgers game, she is shocked and says no. This public rejection catches the attention of a couple of strangers, and she finds herself in need of a quick escape.

Nikole is rescued by a handsome stranger named Dr. Carlos Ibarra, who happens to be at the game with his sister. As Nikole and Carlos strike up a conversation, they form a connection that leads to a fake dating arrangement to help Nikole save face.

Jasmine Guillory is known for her contemporary romances that feature diverse and relatable characters. The Proposal is a lighthearted and enjoyable read that combines humor, romance, and a touch of social commentary, making it a popular choice for fans of the genre.

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is a contemporary novel written by Gail Honeyman. The story revolves around the life of Eleanor Oliphant, a socially awkward and introverted woman living in Glasgow, Scotland.

Eleanor follows a strict routine and lives a solitary existence, working as a finance clerk in an office and spending her weekends alone with a bottle of vodka. She appears to be content with her isolated life, but it becomes evident that she is deeply scarred by a traumatic past that she keeps hidden.

Eleanor’s life takes an unexpected turn when she meets Raymond, a coworker, and Sammy, an elderly man who has fallen in the street. These chance encounters lead her to form unexpected friendships and slowly begin to open up to the world. As Eleanor’s life becomes intertwined with those of Raymond and Sammy, she starts to confront her past and work toward healing.

books Like The Idea of You – Final Thoughts

The Idea of You by Robinne Lee offer readers captivating and emotionally charged narratives that explore unconventional and passionate romances.

These novels often delve into themes of love, desire, age, and societal expectations, challenging conventional notions of relationships.

Readers who enjoyed The Idea of You are likely to find these similar books equally compelling and thought-provoking, as they navigate the complexities of love and the human heart.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *