| |

13 Best Thriller Books Like The Inheritance Games: Ultimate List

If you’ve devoured every page of The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes and find yourself craving more thrilling and mysterious reads, this list is for you! 

I have put together a list of books that are sure to captivate you with their mind-bending plots and intriguing characters.

From the classic whodunit vibes of The Westing Game to the psychological twists and turns of Gone Girl, these gripping novels are perfect for fans of The Inheritance Games. So get ready to dive into a world of suspense and uncover your next gripping read!

Best Books Like The Inheritance Games 
The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Best Books Like The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Here’s quick list of the best books like The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes:

  • The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  • One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus
  • Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson
  • We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
  • The Secret History by Donna Tartt
  • Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  • The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin is a classic mystery novel that shares similarities with The Inheritance Games. The story follows a group of heirs who are brought together to solve a complex puzzle left behind by the wealthy Sam Westing. As they work together to uncover the truth, they soon realize that everyone has their own secrets and motivations.

Like The Inheritance Games, The Westing Game is filled with twists, turns, and unexpected revelations. It keeps readers guessing until the very end, as they try to piece together the puzzle along with the characters. With its engaging plot and intriguing cast of characters, The Westing Game is a must-read for fans of The Inheritance Games.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl is a psychological thriller novel written by Gillian Flynn. The story revolves around the troubled marriage of Nick and Amy Dunne. On their fifth wedding anniversary, Amy disappears, and Nick becomes the prime suspect in her disappearance.

The novel alternates between the perspectives of Nick and Amy through diary entries, revealing the complexities of their relationship and the secrets they both hide. As the investigation into Amy’s disappearance intensifies, the media circus, public scrutiny, and police suspicion place Nick under immense pressure.

As the story unfolds, it becomes clear that both Nick and Amy have their own dark sides and hidden agendas. The novel explores themes of deception, manipulation, the facade of a seemingly perfect marriage, and the power of the media to shape public perception.

Gone Girl is known for its unpredictable plot twists and unreliable narrators, keeping readers guessing and engaged throughout the narrative. It was a critical and commercial success, leading to a film adaptation directed by David Fincher in 2014.

One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

One of Us Is Lying is a gripping young adult mystery novel by Karen M. McManus. It follows the story of five high school students who become suspects in a murder investigation after a classmate dies during detention. As they try to clear their names and uncover the truth, they realize that everyone has secrets and motivations that could lead to murder.

This book is filled with twists, turns, and unexpected revelations that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. It explores themes of deception, trust, and the blurred lines between innocence and guilt. If you enjoyed The Inheritance Games, you’ll likely be captivated by the suspense and intricate plotting of One of Us Is Lying.

Like The Inheritance Games, One of Us Is Lying features a diverse group of characters who must navigate complex relationships and unravel a web of secrets. It is a thrilling page-turner that will keep you guessing until the very end.

Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson is a gripping mystery novel that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story follows Stevie Bell, a true crime enthusiast who is accepted into the prestigious Ellingham Academy, a school known for its mysterious past and unsolved murder case.

As Stevie begins her studies at Ellingham Academy, she becomes determined to solve the cold case of the infamous kidnapping and murder of the founder’s wife and daughter in the 1930s. As she delves deeper into the mystery, she uncovers dark secrets and hidden agendas, putting her own life at risk.

With its atmospheric setting and complex characters, Truly Devious is reminiscent of The Inheritance Games with its intricate puzzles and suspenseful plot twists. If you enjoyed the puzzle-solving elements of The Inheritance Games, you’ll love immersing yourself in the world of Truly Devious.

The book is the first in a trilogy, followed by The Vanishing Stair and The Hand on the Wall, so if you enjoy Truly Devious, there are more books to dive into and continue the thrilling mystery.

These books will keep you guessing until the very end and satisfy your craving for complex mysteries and page-turning suspense.


HIGHLY RELATED BOOK LIST

13 Great Books Like Girl In Pieces By Kathleen Glasgow: Ultimate List
19 Great Books Like Normal People By Sally Rooney: Best Titles
13 Great Books Like The Outsiders: Discover Similar Stories


We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart is a gripping and mysterious YA novel that explores themes of family, privilege, and secrets.

This novel follows the story of Cadence Sinclair, a teenager from a wealthy and dysfunctional family. Cadence spends her summers on a private island with her cousins and a friend, but a mysterious accident two years prior has left her with amnesia and emotional scars.

As she returns to the island, she tries to piece together what happened that summer and unravel the dark secrets her family is hiding.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

The Secret History by Donna Tartt is a gripping and atmospheric novel that explores themes of friendship, loyalty, and the consequences of secrets. Set in a small New England college, the story follows a group of eccentric and enigmatic students studying classics under the guidance of a charismatic professor. As they delve deeper into their studies and become entangled in a web of dark secrets, their lives take a sinister turn.

Tartt’s writing is richly descriptive and immersive, drawing readers into the privileged and secretive world of the characters. The book combines elements of mystery, psychological suspense, and literary fiction, creating a unique and compelling reading experience.

If you enjoyed The Inheritance Games and are looking for similar reads, The Secret History is a must-read. It shares the same sense of intrigue and exploration of complex characters and their hidden motives. These books offer a mix of mystery, suspense, and complex characters, making them great recommendations for fans of The Inheritance Games and The Secret History.

Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

Pretty Little Liars is a young adult mystery series written by Sara Shepard. The series follows a group of four high school girls whose lives are turned upside down when their friend Alison goes missing and a mysterious figure named “A” begins harassing them, threatening to reveal their darkest secrets.

The series is filled with twists, turns, and shocking revelations as the girls try to uncover the truth about Alison’s disappearance and the identity of “A.” It’s a gripping and suspenseful story that keeps readers guessing until the very end.

These books, like The Inheritance Games, will keep you on the edge of your seat with their suspenseful plots, complex characters, and shocking twists. Happy reading!

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson is a gripping thriller that combines mystery, suspense, and complex characters to create a compelling story. The book follows Mikael Blomkvist, a journalist, and Lisbeth Salander, a troubled hacker, as they investigate a decades-old disappearance and uncover dark secrets.

This book, like The Inheritance Games, features a strong female lead character who is intelligent, resourceful, and unafraid to challenge the status quo. Lisbeth Salander’s character is reminiscent of Avery Grambs in her determination to solve the mystery at hand.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is filled with twists, turns, and unexpected revelations, keeping readers on the edge of their seats. If you enjoyed the intricate plot and suspenseful atmosphere of The Inheritance Games, you’ll likely find The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo to be a thrilling read.

Other books in the Millennium series by Stieg Larsson, such as The Girl Who Played with Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, also offer a similar blend of mystery, suspense, and complex characters that fans of The Inheritance Games may enjoy.

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

The Da Vinci Code is a bestselling thriller novel by Dan Brown. The story revolves around Robert Langdon, a Harvard professor of symbology, and Sophie Neveu, a French police cryptologist. They become unlikely partners in solving a murder mystery that involves a series of cryptic clues and symbols left by a murder victim in the Louvre Museum in Paris.

As Langdon and Neveu follow the trail of clues, they uncover a web of secrets and conspiracies, particularly related to the Holy Grail and the role of the Catholic Church. If you’re a fan of religious history, art, and symbolism, all while racing against time to unravel the mystery and prevent a global conspiracy from coming to fruition, this one is for you.

The Da Vinci Code is known for its fast-paced narrative, an exploration of themes related to religion, history, and the blending of fact and fiction. It became a literary sensation and sparked debates and discussions about the ideas presented in the book.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner is a young adult science fiction novel written by James Dashner. The story revolves around a teenage boy named Thomas who wakes up in a place known as the Glade, with no memory of his past except for his name. The Glade is an enclosed, self-sustaining environment surrounded by a massive maze.

Thomas soon discovers that the Glade is inhabited by a group of other boys, each of whom arrived in the same mysterious manner. These boys have been trying to solve the maze and find a way out for years, but the maze’s layout changes every night, and it is patrolled by deadly creatures known as Grievers.

As Thomas becomes more involved in the Glade’s community, he becomes determined to help find a way out of the maze. Along with his fellow Gladers, he faces numerous challenges, mysteries, and dangers within the maze.

The Maze Runner is the first book in a series, followed by The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure, and a prequel titled The Kill Order. It has been adapted into a successful film series as well.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Ready Player One, written by Ernest Cline, is a thrilling science fiction novel set in a dystopian future. The story takes place in a virtual reality world called the OASIS, where people escape from the harsh realities of their lives. The protagonist, Wade Watts, embarks on a quest within the OASIS to find an Easter egg left by the creator, James Halliday, which promises immense wealth and control over the virtual world.

Ready Player One is a fast-paced and action-packed novel that combines elements of adventure, gaming, and 1980s pop culture references. It explores themes of virtual reality, identity, and the power of escapism. If you enjoyed The Inheritance Games and are looking for similar reads, here are some recommendations:

These books, like The Inheritance Games, offer immersive virtual worlds, high-stakes quests, and exploration of technology’s impact on society. Whether you’re a fan of virtual reality, gaming, or science fiction, these recommendations are sure to captivate you.

The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi

The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi is a captivating novel that combines elements of mystery, adventure, and fantasy. Set in Paris in the late 19th century, the story follows a diverse group of characters as they unravel secrets and uncover ancient artifacts.

The book has been praised for its intricate plot, rich world-building, and complex characters. It is filled with twists and turns, making it a compelling read for fans of The Inheritance Games.

The Gilded Wolves explores themes of family, loyalty, and the consequences of power. It incorporates elements of magic, mythology, and historical references, creating a unique and immersive reading experience.

If you enjoyed The Inheritance Games and are looking for a similar read with a mix of mystery and fantasy, The Gilded Wolves is a must-read.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows is a thrilling and action-packed young adult fantasy novel by Leigh Bardugo. Set in the same universe as her Grisha trilogy, this book follows a group of six outcasts known as the Dregs as they embark on a dangerous heist in the bustling city of Ketterdam.

The diverse cast of characters in Six of Crows brings depth and complexity to the story. Each member of the Dregs has their own unique skills and motivations, and their interactions and development throughout the book make for a compelling read.

The heist itself is full of twists, turns, and high-stakes moments that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. Bardugo’s writing style is immersive and descriptive, bringing the gritty city of Ketterdam to life and making it feel like a character in its own right.

If you enjoyed the mystery, suspense, and intricate plotting of The Inheritance Games, Six of Crows is sure to be a great recommendation. It combines elements of fantasy, heist, and adventure to create a captivating and thrilling reading experience.

Books Like The Inheritance Games – Conclusion

If you enjoyed The Inheritance Games and are looking for similar reads that will keep you on the edge of your seat, there are plenty of thrilling and suspenseful options to choose from. Some recommendations include The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus, and Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson.

These books offer intricate mysteries, complex characters, and unexpected twists that will leave you guessing until the very end. Whether you’re a fan of psychological thrillers, suspenseful mysteries, or gripping adventures, these books are sure to satisfy your craving for excitement and intrigue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *