| |

19 Books Like The Selection by Kiera Cass – Ultimate YA Fiction List

If you’re a fan of young adult fiction and have already devoured The Selection by Kiera Cass series, this one is for you! I have compiled a list of 19 amazing books that are perfect if you love The Selection and can satisfy your craving for captivating YA stories.

Books like The Selection

Books Like The Selection by Kiera Cass

From futuristic dystopias like Red Queen and Divergent to thrilling adventures like The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner, these books offer similar themes of romance, rebellion, and self-discovery. So get ready to dive into these spellbinding worlds and embark on new literary journeys!

01. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard is a thrilling YA novel set in a dystopian world divided by blood. In this society, the Silver blooded elite possess supernatural abilities and rule over the Red blooded commoners who are powerless. Mare Barrow, a Red blooded girl, discovers that she has a unique power of her own, which sets her on a dangerous path.

The world-building in Red Queen is immersive and captivating, with Aveyard painting a vivid picture of the stark contrast between the opulence of the Silvers and the poverty of the Reds. The political intrigue and power struggles add an extra layer of tension to the story as Mare finds herself caught up in a rebellion.

The characters in Red Queen are well-developed and complex, each with their own motivations and secrets. Mare is a strong and determined protagonist who must navigate a treacherous world where anyone could be an ally or an enemy. The romantic subplot adds an additional layer of tension and keeps readers hooked.

Readers who enjoyed The Selection will find similar themes of class divide, love triangles, and a strong-willed female protagonist in Red Queen. The fast-paced plot and high-stakes action will keep readers on the edge of their seats, eagerly turning the pages to see what happens next.

If you’re a fan of YA fiction with elements of fantasy, romance, and political intrigue, Red Queen is a must-read that will leave you eagerly reaching for the next book in the series.

02. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is a thrilling dystopian YA novel that has captivated readers around the world. Set in a post-apocalyptic society known as Panem, the story follows Katniss Everdeen as she volunteers for the annual Hunger Games, a televised fight to the death among teenagers from each of the twelve districts.

The Hunger Games is similar to The Selection in its gripping plot and strong female protagonist. Both books explore themes of love, sacrifice, and the struggle against a corrupt society.

If you enjoyed The Selection and are looking for more books like it, The Hunger Games should definitely be on your list. It offers a blend of action, romance, and thought-provoking social commentary that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

03. Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent by Veronica Roth is a thrilling dystopian novel set in a divided society. In this world, people are categorized into different factions based on their dominant personality traits. The story follows Beatrice Prior, a teenager who must choose which faction to belong to, ultimately discovering that she is Divergent and does not fit neatly into any one category.

Similar to The Selection, Divergent explores themes of identity, choice, and rebellion. Both books feature strong female protagonists navigating complex societies and facing challenging decisions. Fans of The Selection will enjoy the fast-paced action, romantic elements, and thought-provoking themes present in Divergent.

The Divergent trilogy consists of Divergent, Insurgent, and Allegiant, offering readers a complete story arc. The series has gained a large following and has been adapted into a successful film franchise.

If you loved The Selection and are looking for another captivating YA novel with dystopian elements, Divergent by Veronica Roth is a must-read. Get ready to dive into a world of intrigue, danger, and self-discovery.

04. Matched by Ally Condie

Matched is the first book in a dystopian trilogy by Ally Condie, set in a society where the government controls everything, including who you will marry. The story follows Cassia Reyes, who is thrilled when she is matched with her best friend, Xander, but when she sees another face flash on the screen, she begins to question the system and the notion of true love.

In Matched, readers will find a captivating blend of romance, rebellion, and self-discovery. If you enjoyed The Selection series, you’ll likely appreciate the similar themes and engaging storyline of this book.

The world-building in Matched is compelling, depicting a society where individuality is suppressed and choices are controlled. Condie’s writing style is lyrical and thought-provoking, as she explores the concepts of love, free will, and the power of questioning authority.

If you’re looking for a thrilling and thought-provoking read, Matched is definitely worth checking out. It’s a book that will keep you eagerly turning the pages until the very end.

05. The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Giver, written by Lois Lowry, is a gripping dystopian novel that will captivate fans of The Selection. It is set in a seemingly perfect society where a young boy named Jonas is chosen to be the receiver of memories. As he learns about the dark truths hidden behind the facade of his community, he starts to question everything he has been taught.

The Giver explores themes of conformity, individuality, and the cost of a utopian society. Like The Selection, it delves into the complexities of love, sacrifice, and the pursuit of freedom. The thought-provoking narrative and well-developed characters make it a compelling read for fans of YA fiction.

If you enjoyed the captivating world-building and intriguing plot twists in The Selection, The Giver is a perfect book recommendation for you. It will keep you hooked from beginning to end as you unravel the secrets of Jonas’ dystopian world.

06. Legend by Marie Lu

Legend is the first book in a thrilling dystopian trilogy by Marie Lu. Set in a future divided by war and social inequality, the story follows two teenagers from very different backgrounds: June, a prodigy who is part of the elite ruling class, and Day, a notorious criminal and the Republic’s most wanted fugitive. When their paths cross, they uncover a dangerous conspiracy that could change their world forever.

With its fast-paced plot, captivating world-building, and complex characters, Legend is a must-read for fans of The Selection. It explores similar themes of societal hierarchy, forbidden romance, and the fight for justice. Marie Lu’s writing will keep you on the edge of your seat, eager to uncover the secrets of the Republic and witness the thrilling adventures of June and Day.

If you enjoyed the thrilling romance and political intrigue of The Selection, Legend will be a perfect addition to your reading list. Prepare to be swept away by this action-packed dystopian tale that will leave you craving for more.

07. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner is the first book in a thrilling dystopian series by James Dashner. Set in a post-apocalyptic world, the story follows a group of young boys trapped in a dangerous maze. As they navigate the maze and try to escape, they uncover dark secrets and face numerous challenges.

The Maze Runner is filled with action, suspense, and a gripping storyline that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. It explores themes of survival, friendship, and the complexities of human nature. If you enjoyed The Selection’s mix of romance and dystopian elements, The Maze Runner is sure to captivate you.

Similar to The Selection, The Maze Runner features a strong and determined protagonist who faces difficult choices and has to navigate complex relationships. Both books also highlight the importance of community and the power of teamwork.

If you’re looking for a fast-paced and exciting YA book with a dystopian setting, The Maze Runner is a great choice. It has a similar blend of action, romance, and suspense that made The Selection so popular among YA fiction fans.

08. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave is a thrilling dystopian novel that follows the story of Cassie Sullivan as she navigates a post-apocalyptic world overrun by alien invaders. The book is filled with suspense, action, and gripping plot twists that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

In The 5th Wave, readers are introduced to a world devastated by waves of deadly attacks from an alien species. Cassie must navigate this dangerous landscape while searching for her younger brother, who has been taken by the enemy. Along the way, she encounters other survivors and forms alliances to fight against the alien threat.

The novel explores themes of survival, trust, and the blurred lines between humanity and inhumanity. It delves into the complex emotions and choices faced by the characters as they fight to reclaim their world from the alien invaders.

With its fast-paced plot, well-developed characters, and thought-provoking themes, The 5th Wave is a must-read for fans of The Selection and other YA dystopian fiction. It captures the same sense of adventure and high stakes that make The Selection so popular among readers.

09. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton is a thrilling YA fantasy novel set in a desert kingdom called Miraji. The story follows Amani, a sharpshooter who dreams of escaping her small town and oppressive society. When she meets Jin, a mysterious foreigner with his own agenda, they embark on a dangerous journey to overthrow the tyrannical Sultan.

Rebel of the Sands combines elements of Arabian mythology, Western-style shootouts, and a dash of romance to create a captivating adventure. Hamilton’s vivid descriptions bring the desert landscapes and bustling cities to life, immersing readers in a rich and vibrant world.

Like The Selection, Rebel of the Sands features a strong and independent female protagonist who defies societal expectations and fights for her own freedom. Amani is a relatable and determined character, whose journey of self-discovery and empowerment will resonate with fans of The Selection.

The fast-paced plot, filled with twists and turns, keeps readers on the edge of their seats, while the rich world-building adds depth and complexity to the story. Alwyn Hamilton’s writing style is engaging and evocative, making Rebel of the Sands a page-turner from start to finish.

If you enjoyed the romance, adventure, and strong female characters of The Selection, Rebel of the Sands is a must-read for fans of YA fiction. It offers a unique blend of genres and an immersive world that will leave you eagerly reaching for the next book in the series.

10. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder is the first book in Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles series, a futuristic retelling of classic fairy tales. Set in a world where humans and androids coexist, Cinder follows the story of Cinder, a talented cyborg mechanic who becomes embroiled in a political conspiracy. As she navigates the complexities of her own identity and a forbidden romance, Cinder must also uncover the truth about her past and save her world from impending war.

In Cinder, Marissa Meyer creates a rich and imaginative world that seamlessly blends elements of science fiction and fantasy. Fans of The Selection who enjoy dystopian settings and strong female protagonists will find Cinder to be a captivating read. The book explores themes of identity, love, and sacrifice, and keeps readers on the edge of their seats with its fast-paced plot and unexpected twists.

With its unique take on the Cinderella story and its compelling characters, Cinder is a must-read for fans of The Selection and YA fiction in general. It offers a fresh and exciting twist on familiar tropes and will leave readers eagerly reaching for the rest of the Lunar Chronicles series.

12. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes is a captivating YA fantasy novel by Sabaa Tahir that follows the intertwined journeys of Laia, a Scholar girl, and Elias, a Martial soldier. Set in a brutal and oppressive world inspired by ancient Rome, the story explores themes of resistance, loyalty, and the power of hope.

The novel is filled with action, suspense, and political intrigue as Laia infiltrates the Martial Empire’s military academy to spy on her oppressors and rescue her imprisoned brother, while Elias grapples with his own desire for freedom and his duty as a soldier. As their paths cross, they become unlikely allies in a fight against a corrupt and tyrannical regime.

Tahir’s writing is rich and descriptive, immersing readers in a vividly realized world. The characters are complex and layered, with motivations and struggles that make them relatable and compelling. The story tackles themes of oppression, identity, and the consequences of power, exploring the lengths people will go to protect those they love and to fight for what they believe in.

An Ember in the Ashes is an enthralling read that will captivate fans of The Selection with its blend of romance, action, and high-stakes storytelling. If you enjoyed the intrigue and drama of The Selection series, you won’t be able to put down this thrilling tale.

13. The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh is a captivating young adult novel that blends romance, fantasy, and Eastern folklore. Set in a fictional version of ancient Persia, the story follows Shahrzad, a strong-willed young woman who volunteers to marry the murderous Caliph of Khorasan in order to seek revenge for the death of her best friend.

The Wrath & the Dawn is filled with intricate world-building, rich descriptions, and complex characters. It explores themes of love, betrayal, honor, and power as Shahrzad navigates the treacherous palace and unravels the mystery behind the Caliph’s murderous tendencies.

Ahdieh’s writing is lush and poetic, immersing readers in a vividly imagined world of magic, intrigue, and romance. The story is filled with twists and turns, keeping readers on the edge of their seats until the very end.

If you enjoyed The Selection and are looking for a book with a diverse setting, strong female protagonist, and a mix of romance and fantasy, The Wrath & the Dawn is the perfect choice.

14. The Jewel by Amy Ewing

The Jewel by Amy Ewing is a captivating dystopian novel that will enthrall fans of The Selection. Set in a society where young girls are trained to become surrogate mothers for the wealthy elite, the story follows Violet Lasting, a young girl with a mysterious power. When Violet is sold as a surrogate, she must navigate the treacherous world of the Jewel and find a way to survive.

Ewing creates a rich and vivid world in The Jewel, filled with opulent settings and intricate politics. The contrast between the extravagant lifestyles of the royalty and the harsh realities faced by the surrogates creates a compelling narrative that keeps readers on the edge of their seats.

Like The Selection, The Jewel explores themes of love, power, and identity. Violet’s journey is a thrilling combination of romance, rebellion, and self-discovery. As she uncovers the secrets of the Jewel and its ruling class, she becomes a symbol of hope for the surrogates and a catalyst for change.

Readers who enjoyed the romantic tension and political intrigue of The Selection will find similar elements in The Jewel. Both series feature strong-willed heroines who defy societal expectations and fight for a better future. The Jewel is an exciting addition to the YA dystopian genre and a must-read for fans of The Selection.

15. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge is a captivating young adult novel that combines elements of fantasy, romance, and adventure. The story follows Nyx Triskelion, a young woman who is destined to marry the evil ruler of her kingdom in order to save her people from a terrible curse.

Nyx is a complex and strong-willed protagonist who is torn between her duty to her family and her desire for freedom. As she navigates the treacherous halls of her new home, she discovers dark secrets and forms unexpected alliances.

The world-building in Cruel Beauty is rich and immersive, with a blend of Greek mythology and fairy tale elements. The enchanted castle and its magical inhabitants provide a sense of wonder and danger, adding depth to the story.

The romance in the book is both passionate and complicated. Nyx finds herself drawn to the enigmatic Ignifex, the ruler she was forced to marry, but also harbors a deep resentment towards him. Their relationship is filled with tension and twists, keeping readers on the edge of their seats.

Cruel Beauty is a must-read for fans of The Selection who are looking for a thrilling and romantic tale filled with unique mythology and complex characters.

16. The Heir by Kiera Cass

The Heir is the fourth book in the captivating Selection series by Kiera Cass. It takes place twenty years after the events of the original trilogy and introduces readers to a new generation of characters.

In The Heir, Princess Eadlyn is the first princess in the history of Illea to hold a Selection of her own. She must choose a husband from a group of thirty-five suitors who are vying for her hand in marriage. As she navigates the challenges of ruling a kingdom and finding love, Eadlyn must also confront the expectations placed upon her and decide what kind of leader she wants to be.

The Heir is filled with romance, political intrigue, and the exploration of personal identity. It offers a fresh perspective on the world of Illea and allows readers to delve deeper into the lives of beloved characters from the original series. Fans of The Selection will be captivated by the new storyline and the complex relationships that emerge.

Kiera Cass’s writing remains engaging and immersive, making it easy for readers to become invested in the story. The Heir continues to explore themes of love, duty, and sacrifice, while also introducing new themes such as the search for personal happiness and the pressures of living up to expectations.

Overall, The Heir is a great addition to the Selection series and a must-read for fans of YA fiction. It offers an intriguing continuation of the story and provides a fresh perspective on the world of Illea. Whether you’re new to the series or a longtime fan, The Heir is sure to captivate and entertain.

17. Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

Carve the Mark is a thrilling YA novel written by Veronica Roth, the author of the popular Divergent series. Set in a dystopian universe, the story follows the lives of two young protagonists, Cyra and Akos, who come from opposing nations but are brought together by fate.

Carve the Mark is filled with action, adventure, and complex characters. It explores themes of power, fate, and the choices we make in the face of adversity. The intricate world-building and unique magic system will captivate readers, while the deep emotional connections between the characters will keep them invested in the story.

If you enjoyed The Selection series for its blend of romance, political intrigue, and strong female protagonists, then Carve the Mark is a must-read. It offers a similar mix of thrilling plot twists, complex relationships, and a richly imagined world that will keep you turning the pages.

So dive into the world of Carve the Mark and lose yourself in a gripping tale of love, loyalty, and the struggle to find one’s place in a divided world.

18. Everless by Sara Holland

Everless by Sara Holland is a captivating young adult fantasy novel that will transport readers to a world filled with magic, intrigue, and forbidden romance. Set in the kingdom of Sempera, where time is currency, this book follows the story of Jules Ember as she navigates a treacherous court, uncovers dark secrets, and discovers her own hidden powers.

The concept of time as a currency is a unique and intriguing aspect of Everless. In this world, people can extract time from their blood and turn it into coins, which they use to pay for various things. The more time they have, the longer they live, while those who run out of time wither away and die prematurely. This creates a fascinating dynamic where the wealthy can hoard time and extend their lifespan, while the poor are constantly struggling to survive.

Jules Ember, the protagonist of the story, is a relatable and strong-willed character who will capture readers’ hearts. As she delves deeper into the mysteries of Sempera and the royal family, she unravels shocking truths that challenge her understanding of the world and her place in it.

The world-building in Everless is rich and immersive, with vivid descriptions that bring the kingdom of Sempera and its inhabitants to life. From the opulent palaces to the dangerous Everless estate, readers will feel like they are right beside Jules as she navigates this treacherous world.

Alongside the thrilling plot and intricate world-building, Everless also explores themes of power, identity, and the consequences of one’s choices. It delves into the complexities of love, loyalty, and sacrifice, making it a captivating read for fans of young adult fiction.

If you’re a fan of The Selection series and are looking for a book that combines fantasy, romance, and intrigue, Everless by Sara Holland is definitely worth adding to your reading list.

19. The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

The Glittering Court is a captivating YA novel that follows the story of Adelaide, a countess who escapes an arranged marriage by joining a prestigious finishing school called The Glittering Court.

Set in a fantasy world inspired by colonial America, The Glittering Court offers a unique blend of romance, adventure, and political intrigue. As Adelaide navigates the challenges of her new life, she discovers secrets and plots that threaten to unravel everything she holds dear.

With its strong-willed protagonist and richly detailed world-building, The Glittering Court is a must-read for fans of The Selection. It explores themes of love, loyalty, and personal identity in a beautifully crafted narrative that will keep you engrossed until the very end.

If you enjoyed the romance and glamour of The Selection, you’ll find much to love in The Glittering Court. Richelle Mead’s storytelling prowess shines through in this enthralling tale that will leave you eagerly anticipating the next book in the series.

Books Like The Selection by Kiera Cass – Final Thoughts

If you’re a fan of The Selection series and are looking for similar books to read, there are plenty of options to choose from. Books like Red Queen, The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Matched offer similar themes of dystopian societies, strong female protagonists, and high-stakes romance. Other suggestions include The Giver, Legend, The Maze Runner, and The 5th Wave. Additionally, you may enjoy The Selection Stories: The Prince & The Guard, Rebel of the Sands, Cinder, and An Ember in the Ashes.

With this list of books, you can continue to immerse yourself in captivating YA fiction that explores themes of love, adventure, and self-discovery. Whether you’re looking for a new series or standalone novels, these recommendations are sure to satisfy your craving for engaging and thrilling stories.