| |

15 Great Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo: Best Recommendations

If you’re a fan of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and looking for your next captivating read, this one is for you! I’ve curated a list of books that share similar themes of fame, ambition, and complex relationships. From the gripping historical drama of Pachinko to the enthralling rock ‘n’ roll tale of Daisy Jones & The Six, these recommendations are sure to keep you turning the pages.

People think that intimacy is about sex. But intimacy is about truth. When you realize you can tell someone your truth, when you can show yourself to them, when you stand in front of them bare and their response is ‘you’re safe with me’- that’s intimacy.

Taylor Jenkins Reid, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Get ready to dive into a world of fascinating characters, compelling stories, and emotional journeys as we explore a range of books that will satisfy your craving for captivating storytelling like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo. Whether you’re in the mood for a heartwrenching historical novel or a contemporary page-turner, this list has something for every reader.

Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Here’s a quick run through of the books like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid.

  • Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
  • Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  • The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin
  • The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
  • Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng
  • The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
  • The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
  • The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo
  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
  • All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
  • The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
  • The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
  • Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Quick Summary of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a captivating novel written by Taylor Jenkins Reid. The story revolves around Evelyn Hugo, a legendary Hollywood actress who, at the age of 79, decides to finally tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life.

Throughout the book, Evelyn recounts her life and career, including her marriages to seven different husbands. Each marriage not only reveals more about Evelyn’s complex and intriguing character but also shines a light on the dark side of fame and the sacrifices that come with it.

The book explores themes of love, ambition, identity, and the price of success. It delves deeply into the intricacies of relationships, both romantic and platonic, and examines the choices we make in pursuit of our dreams.

Reid’s writing style is captivating, and she skillfully weaves together multiple timelines and perspectives to create a rich and immersive reading experience. The characters are well-developed and feel incredibly real, with their flaws and vulnerabilities making them relatable and compelling.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a thought-provoking and emotionally charged novel that will keep readers hooked until the very end. It is a story of love, betrayal, and the power of personal storytelling that will leave a lasting impact.

Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

01. Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Pachinko by Min Jin Lee is a sweeping historical novel that follows four generations of a Korean family living in Japan. The story begins in the early 20th century and spans decades, exploring themes of identity, culture, and the immigrant experience.

The novel centers around Sunja, a young Korean woman who becomes pregnant by a wealthy married man. Determined to provide a better life for her child, she marries a kind and gentle pastor who offers her a chance at a new life in Japan. From there, the story unfolds, tracing the lives of Sunja’s children and grandchildren as they navigate love, loss, and the challenges of being Korean in a predominantly Japanese society.

Pachinko is a beautifully written and meticulously researched novel that delves into the complexities of identity and belonging. It explores themes of discrimination, sacrifice, and the pursuit of dreams, creating a powerful and emotional reading experience.

If you enjoyed The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and are looking for another immersive and thought-provoking read, Pachinko by Min Jin Lee is a great choice. It shares a similar depth of storytelling and offers a rich exploration of characters and their journeys through life.

02. Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid is a gripping and immersive novel that tells the story of the rise and fall of a fictional rock band in the 1970s. If you enjoyed the compelling storytelling and complex characters in “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo,” you’ll likely find “Daisy Jones & The Six” to be a captivating read as well.

In this novel, Jenkins Reid explores themes of fame, love, and the blurred lines between reality and perception. The book is written in an interview format, with different characters sharing their perspectives on the events that shaped the band’s trajectory. This unique storytelling technique adds depth and complexity to the narrative, allowing readers to piece together the truth behind the band’s tumultuous journey.

“Daisy Jones & The Six” also delves into the personal lives of the band members, exploring their individual struggles with addiction, love, and creative expression. Jenkins Reid expertly develops each character, making them feel real and relatable, despite their flaws.

If you’re looking for a book that combines compelling storytelling, rich characters, and a nostalgic 1970s setting, “Daisy Jones & The Six” is a must-read. It shares many thematic elements with “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” and will keep you engaged from start to finish.

03. The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin

The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin is a captivating novel that explores the themes of destiny, family, and the pursuit of immortality. The story follows four siblings who, as children, visit a fortune teller who predicts the date of their deaths. The novel then delves into each sibling’s life and how their beliefs and choices are shaped by this knowledge.

The Immortalists is similar to The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo in its exploration of complex characters and their relationships. Both novels delve deeply into the lives and experiences of their characters, uncovering secrets, desires, and the impact of time on their journeys.

In The Immortalists, Chloe Benjamin expertly weaves together themes of fate and free will, raising thought-provoking questions about how much control we have over our lives and the lengths we will go to defy our destinies. The novel explores the intertwining lives of the siblings, showcasing the ripple effects of their choices and the bonds that tie them together.

If you loved The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and are looking for a similar read that delves into complex family dynamics, explores the human experience, and leaves you pondering the nature of fate, then The Immortalists is a must-read.

04. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

The Nightingale is a historical fiction novel by Kristin Hannah that tells the gripping story of two sisters living in France during World War II. Vianne and Isabelle, both strong and resilient women, face incredible challenges and make sacrifices as they navigate the horrors of war and the Nazi occupation.

The novel explores themes of love, sacrifice, bravery, and resilience, painting a vivid picture of the hardships faced by those caught in the midst of war. Through the perspectives of Vianne and Isabelle, Hannah brings to life the experiences of ordinary people who become heroes in extraordinary circumstances.

With its rich historical detail and compelling storytelling, The Nightingale is a must-read for fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo. It delves into similar themes of love, family, and the complexities of human relationships, while providing a powerful and emotional account of a dark period in history.

If you were captivated by the complex characters and evocative writing style of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, The Nightingale is sure to be a book that keeps you engrossed from beginning to end.


RELATED POSTS

16 Books Like The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
10 Books Like When Breath Becomes Air By Paul Kalanithi
20 Books Like Divergent by Veronica Roth
13 Books Like The Giver by Lois Lowry


05. Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng is a compelling novel that explores themes of family, identity, and the complexities of motherhood. Set in the idyllic town of Shaker Heights, Ohio, the story follows the intertwined lives of two families: the Richardsons, a wealthy and seemingly perfect family, and the Warrens, a mysterious mother and daughter who disrupt their lives.

Ng’s writing is beautifully nuanced, and she delves into the problems of suburban privilege and the desire for order and control. The characters are richly developed and complex, and Ng explores their motivations and struggles with empathy and depth.

Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, Little Fires Everywhere examines the power dynamics within relationships and the choices we make in order to protect ourselves and those we love. It grapples with questions of identity, race, and class, and challenges our preconceived notions of right and wrong.

If you enjoyed the layered storytelling and complex characters of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, Little Fires Everywhere is a must-read that will captivate you from beginning to end.

06. The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah is a gripping and emotionally charged story set in Alaska. It tells the tale of Leni Allbright, a young girl who moves with her troubled family to the remote wilderness of Alaska in the 1970s.

The book explores themes of survival, love, and the strength of the human spirit in the face of adversity. As Leni and her family navigate the harsh Alaskan landscape, they must confront not only the dangers of the wilderness but also the demons within themselves.

The Great Alone is a beautifully written and atmospheric novel that will transport readers to the wild and unforgiving beauty of Alaska. It is a powerful story of resilience and the lengths we will go to protect the ones we love.

If you enjoyed the themes of family and survival in The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, then The Great Alone is a must-read. It captures similar emotional depth and explores the complexities of human relationships in the face of challenging circumstances.

07. The Song of Achilles

“The Song of Achilles” by Madeline Miller is a powerful retelling of the Trojan War and the story of Achilles, one of the greatest heroes of Greek mythology. The novel focuses on the close bond between Achilles and Patroclus, his loyal companion and lover. Through beautiful prose and vivid storytelling, Madeline Miller brings to life the characters and events of ancient Greece.

This captivating novel explores themes of love, honor, and fate, while delving into the complexities of human relationships. It offers a fresh perspective on the well-known myth of Achilles, shedding light on the emotional struggles and vulnerabilities of these iconic characters.

Readers who enjoyed “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” for its compelling characters and exploration of love and identity will find similar themes in “The Song of Achilles.” Both novels delve deep into the emotional lives of their characters and offer a nuanced portrayal of complex relationships.

“The Song of Achilles” is a must-read for fans of historical fiction, mythology, and compelling storytelling. Its richly detailed world and beautifully written prose will transport readers to ancient Greece and leave them captivated until the very last page.

08. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt is a gripping and compelling novel that tells the story of Theo Decker, a young boy who survives a tragic event that changes the course of his life. The book explores themes of loss, love, art, and identity.

Theo’s life takes an unexpected turn when he becomes involved in the art world and finds himself in possession of a valuable painting, “The Goldfinch” by Carel Fabritius. As Theo grows older, he navigates his way through a series of challenges and encounters with complex characters, all while trying to hold onto the painting and uncover the truth about himself.

Donna Tartt’s writing is richly detailed and emotionally resonant, drawing readers into Theo’s world and making them feel deeply connected to his journey. The book is a masterful exploration of human nature and the complexities of life, and it will leave readers questioning their own beliefs and values.

If you enjoyed the complex characters and introspective storytelling of “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo,” you will likely find similar satisfaction in reading “The Goldfinch.” Both books delve into the depths of human experience and offer thought-provoking insights into the nature of art, love, and self-discovery.

09. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak is a compelling and heart-wrenching novel set during World War II. The story follows Liesel Meminger, a young girl living in Nazi Germany, as she discovers the power of words and storytelling amidst the horrors of war.

Zusak’s writing style is remarkable, with rich prose and vivid imagery that brings the characters and setting to life. The book tackles themes of love, loss, friendship, and the resilience of the human spirit in the face of adversity.

Readers who enjoyed “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” may appreciate The Book Thief for its emotionally captivating narrative and memorable characters. Both books explore complex topics and offer profound insights into the human condition.

If you’re looking for a thought-provoking and beautifully written historical fiction novel, “The Book Thief” is a must-read.

10. The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

“The Light We Lost” is a heartfelt novel by Jill Santopolo that explores the complexities of love and fate. The story follows the lives of Lucy and Gabe, who meet on September 11, 2001, during the tragic events in New York City. They form an intense connection but are soon separated by circumstances, leading them down different paths.

The novel delves into themes of love, loss, and the choices we make that shape our lives. It examines the question of whether true love can survive the test of time and distance. Santopolo’s writing is emotional and evocative, capturing the raw emotions experienced by the characters.

Similar to “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo,” “The Light We Lost” is a book that explores the complexities of relationships and the impact they have on our lives. It reminds readers of the power of love and the choices we make that shape our journey.

11. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

A Little Life, written by Hanya Yanagihara, is a heart-wrenching novel that delves into the lives of four college friends as they navigate love, friendship, and the challenges of adulthood. The book follows Jude St. Francis, a brilliant lawyer with a traumatic past, as he struggles to reconcile his past and find lasting happiness.

A Little Life explores themes of trauma, friendship, love, and the complexities of human relationships. It is a beautifully written and deeply emotional novel that will leave readers reflecting on the characters and their own experiences long after they finish reading.

If you enjoyed The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and are looking for similar books that explore complex relationships and emotional depth, A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara is a must-read.

12. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr is a beautifully written historical fiction novel set during World War II. The story follows two main characters: Marie-Laure, a blind French girl, and Werner, a German orphan who becomes a radio expert for the Nazis.

As the war unfolds, their lives collide in unexpected ways, showcasing the complexities of human nature and the power of hope and resilience in the face of adversity.

Doerr’s prose is lyrical and evocative, transporting readers to the streets of occupied France and the stark landscapes of Germany. The novel explores themes of morality, loyalty, and the enduring power of art and literature.

All the Light We Cannot See is a gripping and emotional tale of love, sacrifice, and the indomitable spirit of the human soul. If you enjoyed The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, this book is sure to captivate you with its powerful storytelling and memorable characters.

13. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

The Thirteenth Tale is a captivating gothic mystery novel written by Diane Setterfield. It follows the story of Margaret Lea, a young biographer who is summoned to the secluded Vida Winter to write her memoir. As Margaret delves into Vida’s past, she uncovers dark secrets and unravels the truth behind the enigmatic thirteenth tale.

Setterfield’s masterful storytelling creates a haunting and atmospheric atmosphere, reminiscent of classic gothic literature. The Thirteenth Tale is filled with richly developed characters and intricate plot twists, keeping readers engaged from start to finish.

If you enjoyed the immersive storytelling and atmospheric setting of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, you will likely find The Thirteenth Tale to be a compelling read. It explores similar themes of identity, truth, and the power of storytelling, while also offering its own unique narrative.

For fans of historical fiction and gripping mysteries, The Thirteenth Tale is a highly recommended read that will keep you guessing until the very end.

14. The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

The Glass Castle is a captivating memoir by Jeannette Walls that tells the story of her unconventional and tumultuous upbringing. Walls recounts her experiences growing up in a dysfunctional and impoverished family, with her eccentric parents and three siblings.

Throughout the book, Walls reflects on her childhood and the challenges she faced, from living in poverty to dealing with her parents’ unconventional lifestyle and neglectful behavior. Despite the hardships, Walls also highlights moments of love, resilience, and the strength of familial bonds.

The Glass Castle is a powerful and poignant memoir that explores themes of poverty, family dynamics, resilience, and personal growth. It offers a unique perspective on the complexities of family relationships and the impact of childhood experiences on adulthood.

If you enjoyed The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, you may also find The Glass Castle compelling. Both books delve into the complexities of family relationships and offer thought-provoking insights into the human experience.

15. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies is a gripping and suspenseful novel written by Liane Moriarty. Set in the affluent coastal town of Monterey, the story follows the lives of three women – Madeline, Celeste, and Jane – as their seemingly perfect lives unravel amid secrets, lies, and scandal.

The book delves into themes of motherhood, friendship, domestic abuse, and the pressures of society, painting a vivid and compelling portrait of the characters’ lives. Moriarty expertly weaves together multiple narratives, keeping readers on the edge of their seats as the story takes unexpected twists and turns.

Like “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo”, Big Little Lies explores the complexity of female relationships and the hidden struggles that lie beneath the surface. It delves into the themes of identity, vulnerability, and the strength that comes from sisterhood.

If you enjoyed the compelling storytelling and well-developed characters in “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo”, then Big Little Lies is a must-read for you. With its engaging plot and thought-provoking themes, this novel is sure to captivate and entertain.

Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo – Final Thoughts

If you loved reading “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” and are in search of similar captivating and thought-provoking reads, you’re in luck. There are several books that share similar themes of complex characters, compelling storytelling, and rich emotional depth. Some highly recommended options include “Pachinko” by Min Jin Lee, “Daisy Jones & The Six” by Taylor Jenkins Reid, “The Immortalists” by Chloe Benjamin, “The Nightingale” by Kristin Hannah, and “Little Fires Everywhere” by Celeste Ng. Each of these novels offers its own unique blend of engaging narrative and unforgettable characters that will keep you turning the pages.

Whether you’re drawn to stories of love, loss, secrets, or growth, there is a book on this list that is sure to capture your attention. So grab a cozy blanket, settle into your favorite reading spot, and get ready to embark on a new literary journey that will leave you wanting more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *