| |

15 Thriller Books Like The Silent Patient: My Best Titles

If you loved the gripping suspense and psychological twists of The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides, then get ready to dive into a world of thrilling page-turners with our list of 15 best books like it.

From compelling domestic thrillers to enigmatic mysteries, these books will keep you on the edge of your seat and guessing until the very end.

Books Like The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides
The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Psychological Books Similar To The Silent Patient Alex Michaelides

The fun of unreliable narrators, shocking revelations, and dark secrets as you delve through the Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and The Woman in the Window. Full of suspense and intrigue, these books will take you from start to finish, just like The Silent Patient. Get ready for an adrenaline-fueled reading experience!

Our quick list of the books like The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  • Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris
  • The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn
  • In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware
  • The Wife Between Us by Sarah Pekkanen
  • The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena
  • The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
  • Before I Go to Sleep by S. J. Watson
  • The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson
  • The Girl Before by J. P. Delaney¬†
  • The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware
  • The Silent Wife by A. S. A Harrison
  • The Breakdown by B. A Paris
Books Like The Silent Patient

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins is a thrilling psychological suspense novel that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story follows Rachel, a troubled woman who becomes entangled in a missing persons investigation after witnessing something shocking from her train window.

It plays so well around memory and take on obsession on a different level plus the complex intricacies of human relationships. With its unreliable narrator and twisty plot, The Girl on the Train is a gripping and suspenseful read.

If you enjoyed The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides, you will enjoy The Girl on the Train and its similar gripping of psychological suspense and complex characters.

Related: 9 Best Dystopian Books Like Hunger Games: My Ultimate List

Books Like The Silent Patient

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl is a psychological thriller novel written by Gillian Flynn. It tells the story of Nick and Amy Dunne, a seemingly perfect couple whose marriage takes a dark turn when Amy goes missing on their fifth wedding anniversary. As the investigation unfolds, secrets and lies are exposed, and the true nature of their relationship is revealed.

Gone Girl is similar to The Silent Patient in its gripping plot, intricate characters, and twisty narrative. Both books explore themes of deception, manipulation, and the complexities of human relationships.

If you enjoyed The Silent Patient and are looking for another thrilling read, Gone Girl is a great choice. It will keep you on the edge of your seat and questioning everything you thought you knew.

Related: The Best John Grisham Books: Must-Reads For Legal Thriller Fans

Books Like The Silent Patient

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson is a gripping psychological thriller that shares similarities with The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides.

They share the same walls of suspense delving into the dark themes of human nature.

We follow the journalist Mikael Blomkvist is hired to investigate the disappearance of Harriet Vanger, a member of a wealthy and powerful Swedish family.

Going further to the case case, he teams up with Lisbeth Salander, a brilliant but troubled computer hacker with a mysterious past.

With similar gripping hold, your surely love The Girl with the Dragon the same with The Silent Patient.

Related: The Best James Patterson Books Of All Time

Books Like The Silent Patient

Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris

Behind Closed Doors is a thrilling psychological suspense novel written by B. A. Paris.

It tells the story of a seemingly perfect couple, Jack and Grace Angel, but as the title suggests, there is much more going on behind closed doors. The book plays around dark secrets and twisted manipulations that unfold within their seemingly idyllic marriage.

The suspense and tension build throughout the book as the reader unravels the truth behind Jack and Grace’s relationship.

The author is great at banking on the control, power dynamics, and psychological abuse, keeping you on the edge of your seats as you eagerly turn the pages.

Behind Closed Doors is a gripping and unsettling read having the same appeal of The Silent Patient and those who enjoy psychological thrillers.

It explores the darker aspects of relationships and the lengths people will go to maintain appearances.

Related: 15 Great Books Like No Longer Human by Osamu Dazai

Books Like The Silent Patient

The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn

The Woman in the Window is a thrilling psychological suspense novel written by A. J. Finn.

The story follows Anna Fox, an agoraphobic woman who spends her days in her New York City apartment, observing her neighbors and the world outside through her window. When Anna witnesses a disturbing incident in the house across the street, her life takes a dark and dangerous turn.

The novel is filled with twists and turns, keeping on the edge as you went down through the pages to unravel the mystery alongside Anna. The atmospheric setting and unreliable narrator add to the suspense, making The Woman in the Window a gripping read.

Similar to The Silent Patient, The Woman in the Window explores psychological trauma, secrets, and the complexities of the human mind. It explores the blurred line between perception and reality, as well as the consequences of past actions.

If you enjoyed the suspense and psychological depth of The Silent Patient, you surely don’t want to miss this book.

Related: 10 Stunning Books Like It Happened One Summer (Recommended Reads)

Books Like The Silent Patient

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

In a Dark, Dark Wood is a gripping psychological thriller written by Ruth Ware. The story follows Nora Shaw, a reclusive writer who receives an invitation to a bachelorette party for a long-lost friend. Reluctantly, she attends the party at a remote cabin in the woods. As the weekend unfolds, tensions rise, and dark secrets from the past are revealed.

The book is filled with suspense and twists, keeping readers on the edge of their seats. It explores themes of friendship, memory, and the psychological impact of past events. Ware’s writing creates a haunting atmosphere, making the setting of the isolated cabin in the woods feel eerie and unsettling.

If you enjoyed The Silent Patient, In a Dark, Dark Wood offers a similar blend of psychological suspense and unexpected revelations. It will keep you guessing until the very end and leave you questioning the motives and reliability of the characters.

Related: 18 Amazing Books Like In Five Years: Must-Read Alternatives

Books Like The Silent Patient

The Wife Between Us by Sarah Pekkanen

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen is a psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. This gripping story revolves around a tangled web of love, deceit, and betrayal.

The novel follows two women: Vanessa, a woman who is recently divorced and struggling to move on from her failed marriage, and Nellie, a young woman who is about to marry Vanessa’s ex-husband. As the story unfolds, readers are taken on a journey filled with unexpected twists and turns.

With its complex characters and clever plot twists, The Wife Between Us is a compelling read that will appeal to fans of The Silent Patient. Like Alex Michaelides’ novel, this book explores themes of love, obsession, and the lengths people will go to protect the ones they love.

If you enjoyed The Silent Patient, you won’t want to miss The Wife Between Us. It is a page-turner that will keep you guessing until the very end.

Related: 15 Best Books Like They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera: Ultimate List

Books Like The Silent Patient

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

The Couple Next Door follows Anne and Marco Conti, a young couple who attend a dinner party next door and leave their baby daughter alone in her crib. When they return, the baby is missing, and the couple is thrown into a terrifying search for their child.

The novel explores themes of secrets, betrayal, and the lengths parents will go to protect their children. As the investigation unfolds, the reader is drawn into a web of lies and deceit, with each character harboring their own dark secrets.

Lapena’s writing keeps the tension high throughout the novel, and the twists and turns will leave you guessing until the very end.

Related: 12 Great Books Like The Boy Who Was Raised As A Dog

Books Like The Silent Patient

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

The Good Girl is a gripping psychological thriller by Mary Kubica that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story follows Mia Dennett, a young art teacher who goes missing one night after a disastrous date. As the investigation unfolds, the truth behind Mia’s disappearance is revealed, and the line between victim and villain becomes blurred.

Kubica masterfully weaves together multiple perspectives and timelines, keeping readers guessing until the very end. The complex characters and intricate plot twists make The Good Girl a compelling read for fans of The Silent Patient who enjoy suspenseful and atmospheric thrillers.

If you’re looking for a book that will keep you guessing and questioning everything you thought you knew, “The Good Girl” is a must-read. Kubica’s writing style is thrilling and immersive, making it difficult to put the book down. Prepare yourself for a suspenseful journey into the dark corners of the human psyche.

Related: 18 Remarkable Books Like Every Last Word: Recommended List

Books Like The Silent Patient

Before I Go to Sleep by S. J. Watson

Before I Go to Sleep, written by S.J. Watson, is a gripping psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story revolves around Christine Lucas, a woman who wakes up every day with no memory of her past or who she is. As she tries to piece together her identity and regain her memories, she discovers dark secrets and realizes that not everyone can be trusted.

The novel takes you on a thrilling journey as Christine navigates through a maze of deception and tries to uncover the truth about her past. With its twists and turns, Before I Go to Sleep keeps readers guessing until the very end.

Related: 10 Magical Books Like The House in the Cerulean Sea

Books Like The Silent Patient

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson

The Kind Worth Killing is a gripping psychological thriller written by Peter Swanson. The story follows Ted Severson, a wealthy businessman who meets Lily Kintner, a mysterious woman, at an airport bar. Bonding over their shared disdain for Ted’s unfaithful wife, they begin discussing a plan to get rid of her.

As the story unfolds, secrets and betrayals are revealed, and the line between right and wrong becomes blurred. The Kind Worth Killing keeps readers on the edge of their seats with its intricate plot twists and morally complex characters.

With its dark atmosphere and exploration of human nature, The Kind Worth Killing is a compelling read for fans of psychological suspense. It delves into themes of love, trust, and the lengths people are willing to go to protect what they value most.

If you enjoyed the suspenseful and psychological elements of The Silent Patient, The Kind Worth Killing is a book you don’t want to miss.

Related: 13 Best Steamy Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey: Ultimate List

Books Like The Silent Patient

The Girl Before by J. P. Delaney 

The Girl Before is a gripping psychological thriller by J.P. Delaney. It follows the lives of two women, Emma and Jane, who both rent the same luxurious house at One Folgate Street. As they become entangled in the dark secrets of the house and its enigmatic architect, their lives begin to mirror each other in unsettling ways.

The novel explores obsession, control, and identity as both women are drawn into a dangerous game orchestrated by the elusive and controlling architect, Edward Monkford. With its atmospheric setting and unpredictable twists, The Girl Before will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

If you enjoyed the suspense and psychological intrigue of The Silent Patient, you’ll find similar elements in The Girl Before. Both books delve into the complexities of the human mind and challenge readers to question the nature of truth, memory, and trust.

Related: 13 Best Thriller Books Like The Inheritance Games: Ultimate List

Books Like The Silent Patient

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

The Woman in Cabin 10 is a gripping psychological thriller written by Ruth Ware. The story follows travel journalist Lo Blacklock, who embarks on a luxury cruise to cover the maiden voyage of a boutique cruise ship. However, her trip takes a dark turn when she witnesses a woman being thrown overboard from the cabin next to hers.

Haunted by the thought of a murder on the ship, Lo becomes obsessed with finding out what really happened, despite the skepticism of the ship’s crew and fellow passengers. As she delves deeper into the mystery, she starts to question her own sanity and unravel a web of lies and deceit.

The Woman in Cabin 10 is filled with suspense, twists, and a claustrophobic atmosphere that keeps readers on the edge of their seats. Ruth Ware’s skillful storytelling and vivid descriptions create a chilling and atmospheric setting that adds to the sense of unease throughout the book.

Related: 13 Great Books Like The Outsiders: Discover Similar Stories

Books Like The Silent Patient

The Silent Wife by A. S. A Harrison

The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison is a thrilling psychological suspense novel playing around marriage, secrets, and deception.

The story revolves around Jodi and Todd, a seemingly happy couple whose marriage begins to unravel when Todd embarks on an affair. As their relationship deteriorates, secrets and lies come to the surface, leading to a shocking and unexpected climax.

Complex dynamics of relationships and the consequences of past actions is what The Silent Wife is all about. It keeps readers guessing until the very end, with twists and turns that will leave you questioning everything you thought you knew.

Related: 19 Great Books Like Normal People by Sally Rooney: Best Titles

Books Like The Silent Patient

The Breakdown by B. A. Paris

The Breakdown is a psychological thriller written by B.A. Paris. It revolves around Cass, a woman who witnesses a murder in a small road during a stormy night. Consumed by guilt and haunted by the memory, Cass begins to question her own sanity as she starts forgetting things and receiving mysterious phone calls.

This novel explores paranoia, memory, and the unraveling of the main character’s psyche. It will keep you through behind Cass’s experiences and determine who she can trust.

The Breakdown is a gripping and suspenseful story that will appeal to fans of The Silent Patient.

Related: 13 Great Books Like Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow: Ultimate List

Before You Go – Books Like The Silent Patient

If you enjoyed the psychological thriller The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides, you’ll be pleased to know that there are many other books out there that will keep you on the edge of your seat. With gripping plots, complex characters, and unexpected twists, these books are sure to satisfy your craving for suspense and mystery.

From bestsellers like Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train to lesser-known gems like The Kind Worth Killing and The Silent Wife, there is no shortage of thrilling reads to choose from.

So grab a cozy blanket, a cup of tea, and get ready to dive into another captivating story that will leave you guessing until the very end.

Frequently Asked Questions/FAQs

Is there another book after The Silent Patient?

Yes, there is another book after The Silent Patient. That book is The Maidens originally published in June 2021. But be reminded that they are both standalone novels and they are not duology in any case.

Will there be a Silent Patient movie?

Accordingly, the The Silent Patient will be adopted into a feature film to be produced by Annapurna and Plan B. It will he headed by Sue Naegle and Ivana Lombardi for Annapurna.

What genre is The Silent Patient?

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides is a thriller and suspense novel. A crime and psychological fiction.