| |

15 Best Books Like They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera: Ultimate List

If you’re a fan of the heart-wrenching and emotionally powerful book They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera, then you’re in luck!

We’ve compiled a must-read list of books that capture the same raw emotion and tackle similar themes of life, death, and love.

Books like They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera
They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera

From the touching coming-of-age story of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe to the heartbreakingly beautiful The Fault in Our Stars, these books will take you on an emotional journey that will leave you pondering the meaning of life and cherishing every moment. Get ready to add these amazing reads to your bookshelf!

Books Like They Both Die At The End

Here’s the quick run through of the books like They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera:

  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
  • More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
  • History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
  • Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  • I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  • We Are Okay by Nina LaCour
  • Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman
  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  • Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston
  • The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
  • The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
  • Release by Patrick Ness
  • Boy Erased by Garrard Conley
  • The Wicker King by K. Ancrum
  • More Than This by Patrick Ness

They Both Die at the End is a heart-wrenching young adult novel written by Adam Silvera. The story takes place in a world where individuals receive a call on the day they are going to die, giving them the chance to live their final day to the fullest. The book follows Mateo and Rufus, two strangers who connect through an app called Last Friend and decide to spend their last day together.

This emotionally impactful novel explores themes of mortality, friendship, love, and the importance of living in the present moment. It delves into the various ways people cope with the inevitability of death and the connections we form with others in the face of such uncertainty.

These books all offer compelling stories and explore various themes that are similar to They Both Die at the End. You are sure to find a poignant and impactful read among this list.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz is a heartfelt coming-of-age novel that explores themes of identity, friendship, family, and love. The story follows Aristotle “Ari” Mendoza and Dante Quintana, two Mexican-American boys who form an unlikely friendship one summer.

Set in the 1980s, the novel takes readers on a journey as Ari and Dante navigate the complexities of their relationships with each other and the world around them. Through their shared experiences, they discover truths about themselves, their families, and the society they live in.

Sáenz’s beautiful prose and compelling storytelling make Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe a captivating read. The characters are well-developed and relatable, and the exploration of themes such as sexuality, cultural identity, and self-acceptance adds depth to the narrative.

If you enjoyed the emotional depth and exploration of identity in They Both Die at the End, you will find similar themes in Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. Both books offer nuanced portrayals of diverse characters and deal with the universal experiences of love, loss, and self-discovery.

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

More Happy Than Not is a young adult novel by Adam Silvera that explores themes of identity and self-acceptance. The story follows Aaron Soto, a teenage boy living in a future version of the Bronx, who is struggling with his own sense of identity and the pain of past traumas.

In a society where memory-altering procedures are available, Aaron considers undergoing a memory modification to erase his painful memories. However, as he grapples with his sexuality and the complex relationships in his life, he begins to question the true nature of happiness and the importance of embracing his authentic self.

Similar to They Both Die at the End, More Happy Than Not delves into themes of self-discovery, friendships, love, and the human experience. It explores the idea of finding hope and happiness even in the face of adversity and challenging circumstances. The novel is a heartfelt and thought-provoking read that will leave readers reflecting on the power of acceptance and the importance of living life to the fullest.

History is All You Left Me Adam Silvera

History is All You Left Me is a heart-wrenching novel by Adam Silvera that explores themes of grief, loss, and coming to terms with the past. Like They Both Die At The End, this book delves into the emotional journeys of its characters, leaving readers with a profound sense of connection and understanding.

The story follows Griffin, who is devastated by the loss of his ex-boyfriend and first love, Theo. As he navigates through his grief, Griffin is forced to confront his own history with Theo and come to terms with the unresolved feelings and unanswered questions left behind.

History is All You Left Me is a beautifully written and poignant exploration of love, friendship, and the complexities of human relationships. It tackles themes of identity and self-discovery, highlighting the importance of cherishing the memories we have with the people we love.

If you enjoyed the emotional depth and authentic storytelling of They Both Die At The End, you won’t want to miss History is All You Left Me. It is a must-read for fans of Adam Silvera and anyone looking for a thought-provoking and heartfelt read.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, written by Becky Albertalli, is a heartfelt coming-of-age novel that explores themes of identity, love, and acceptance. The story follows Simon Spier, a 17-year-old boy who is navigating high school, friendships, and his secret online romance with another closeted gay boy.

Simon’s journey of self-discovery and the challenges he faces in coming out to his friends and family make this book a must-read for fans of They Both Die at the End. Like Adam Silvera’s novel, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda tackles important LGBTQ+ themes with sensitivity and authenticity.

The book has received critical acclaim for its relatable characters, engaging storytelling, and its exploration of the complexities of identity and sexuality. It was also adapted into a successful film, titled Love, Simon, which further brought the story to a wider audience.

If you enjoyed the emotional depth and LGBTQ+ representation in They Both Die at the End, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is a book that should be on your reading list.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, written by Stephen Chbosky, is a coming-of-age novel that explores themes of friendship, identity, and the challenges of navigating adolescence. The story is told through the perspective of Charlie, a shy and introspective high school freshman.

Like They Both Die At The End, The Perks of Being a Wallflower deals with intense emotions and explores the complexities of human connections. It delves into the struggles and triumphs of teenagers as they navigate through the ups and downs of high school life.

Through Charlie’s letters to an anonymous person, readers are invited into his world as he grapples with issues such as love, loss, mental health, sexuality, and the search for belonging. The book tackles these topics with sensitivity, authenticity, and a rawness that resonates with young adult readers.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a heartfelt and poignant read that captures the essence of teenage emotions. If you enjoyed the emotional journey in They Both Die At The End, you’ll likely find solace in Charlie’s story as well.


RELATED POSTS

9 Best Dystopian Books Like Hunger Games: My Ultimate List
The Best John Grisham Books: Must-Reads For Legal Thriller Fans
The Best James Patterson Books Of All Time


I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I’ll Give You the Sun is a captivating young adult novel written by Jandy Nelson. The story follows the lives of twins Jude and Noah, who were once inseparable but have grown apart after a series of tragic events.

The novel explores themes of love, loss, self-discovery, and the power of art. It alternates between the perspectives of Jude and Noah, providing a unique insight into their individual struggles and journeys.

Jandy Nelson’s writing is lyrical and poetic, drawing readers into the vibrant world of the characters. The book’s vivid descriptions and complex characters make it a compelling read for fans of emotional and thought-provoking stories.

Like They Both Die at the End, I’ll Give You the Sun deals with themes of mortality and the importance of living life to the fullest. It is a heart-wrenching and beautifully written novel that will leave readers contemplating the depths of love and the complexities of human relationships.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars, written by John Green, is a heartbreaking and beautiful story about Hazel and Gus, two teenagers who meet and fall in love at a support group for cancer patients. Like “They Both Die at the End,” this novel explores themes of love, loss, and the meaning of life.

Similar to Adam Silvera’s book, The Fault in Our Stars delves into the emotional journey of its characters and tackles heavy topics with grace and sensitivity. Hazel and Gus’s relationship is portrayed with honesty and intimacy, capturing the complexity of their experiences as they navigate illnesses and the challenges of growing up.

John Green’s writing is poignant and thought-provoking, drawing readers into the lives of his characters and making them feel deeply. The Fault in Our Stars is a story that will stick with you long after you turn the final page, much like They Both Die at the End.

If you enjoyed the emotional depth and compelling storytelling of They Both Die at the End, The Fault in Our Stars is a must-read that will tug at your heartstrings and leave you contemplating the fragility and beauty of life.

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

We Are Okay is a heart-wrenching and beautifully written novel by Nina LaCour. It tells the story of Marin, who is trying to come to terms with the loss of her grandfather while struggling with her own feelings of grief and loneliness. The novel explores themes of love, friendship, and the complexities of family relationships.

Like They Both Die at the End, We Are Okay delves deep into the emotional journey of its characters and explores the universal themes of loss and the search for meaning in life. The writing is introspective and poetic, making it a captivating read that will leave you reflecting on your own experiences.

If you enjoyed the emotional depth and introspection of They Both Die at the End, We Are Okay is a must-read that will take you on a similar emotional journey.

Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman

Call Me By Your Name is a coming-of-age novel by André Aciman that tells the story of a summer romance between 17-year-old Elio Perlman and 24-year-old Oliver, a graduate student who comes to stay at Elio’s family’s Italian villa.

The novel explores themes of love, desire, and identity as Elio grapples with his feelings for Oliver. Set against the backdrop of a beautiful Italian summer, the book captures the intensity and complexity of first love.

Call Me By Your Name was adapted into a critically acclaimed film in 2017, further showcasing the emotional depth and nuance of the story. It is a must-read for fans of They Both Die At The End who are looking for a heartfelt and poignant love story.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places is a young adult novel written by Jennifer Niven. This heartfelt and emotional book explores the themes of mental health, grief, and finding hope in unexpected places.

The story follows the lives of Violet Markey and Theodore Finch, two high school students with troubled pasts. Violet is struggling to cope with the death of her sister, while Finch grapples with undiagnosed mental health issues. When they meet on the ledge of their school’s bell tower, neither expects to find a kindred spirit in the other.

As Violet and Finch team up for a school project and start to explore the wonders of their home state of Indiana, they form a deep connection. They find solace in each other’s company and embark on a journey of self-discovery and healing.

All the Bright Places delves into important topics such as depression, suicide, and the impact of trauma. Through beautiful prose and compelling characters, Jennifer Niven explores the complexities of mental illness and the power of human connection.

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston is a heartwarming and humorous novel about love, politics, and the complexities of relationships. The story follows the son of the President of the United States, Alex, and his unexpected romance with Prince Henry of Wales.

As Alex and Henry navigate their feelings for each other, they also face the pressures of their public personas and the political implications of their relationship. The book explores themes of identity, loyalty, and the power of love to overcome obstacles.

Red, White & Royal Blue is a must-read for fans of They Both Die at the End as it tackles similar themes of love, loss, and personal growth. It is a heartwarming and uplifting story that will leave readers feeling hopeful and inspired.

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller is a heart-wrenching and beautifully written retelling of the myth of Achilles and the Trojan War. This novel explores the deep bond between Achilles and Patroclus, their forbidden love, and the tragic events that unfold as a result.

Similar to They Both Die at the End, The Song of Achilles deals with themes of love, loss, and the fragility of life. It captures the emotional journey of its characters and explores the complexities of their relationships.

Miller’s storytelling is poetic and immersive, transporting readers to ancient Greece and the world of mythology. The narrative is captivating, and the characters are well-developed and relatable, making it a must-read for fans of Adam Silvera’s novel.

If you enjoyed the poignant and emotional aspects of They Both Die at the End, then The Song of Achilles is a book that should be at the top of your reading list.

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee is a captivating historical fiction novel that shares similarities with Adam Silvera’s They Both Die At The End. It follows the adventures of Henry Montague, a young nobleman who embarks on a grand tour of Europe alongside his best friend (and secret crush) Percy and his sister Felicity.

Similar to They Both Die At The End, this novel tackles love, self-discovery, and the importance of seizing the moment. Henry’s journey is filled with unexpected twists and turns, as he navigates his complicated relationships, grapples with societal expectations, and confronts his own desires.

The book beautifully balances light-hearted moments with deeper themes, making it a heartfelt and thought-provoking read. It explores the complexities of identity and the constraints placed on individuals by societal norms. Just like in They Both Die At The End, the characters in The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue undergo personal growth and learn valuable lessons about life and love.

If you enjoyed They Both Die At The End and are looking for a similar read that combines historical fiction with romance and adventure, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a must-read.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry On is a novel by Rainbow Rowell that is often compared to They Both Die at the End for its unique blend of romance, fantasy, and heart-wrenching storytelling. The book follows the story of Simon Snow, a young wizard attending a magical school, as he navigates friendship, love, and the looming threat of a powerful enemy.

Similar to They Both Die at the End, Carry On tackles important themes such as love, loss, and coming to terms with mortality. It explores the complexities of human emotions and relationships, while also delving into the fantastical world of magic and adventure.

Readers who enjoyed the bittersweet nature of They Both Die at the End will find themselves drawn to the captivating and emotionally charged story of Carry On. It is a must-read for fans of Adam Silvera’s writing and those who appreciate a compelling blend of fantasy and contemporary themes.

Release by Patrick Ness

Release is a heart-wrenching novel by Patrick Ness that explores themes of love, loss, and self-discovery. The story follows Adam Thorn, a gay teen living in a small town, as he navigates a day filled with challenging emotions and unexpected events.

Throughout the day, Adam grapples with his complicated relationship with his religious family, his unrequited feelings for a friend, and the impending loss of his first love. As he confronts these challenges, Adam embarks on a journey of self-acceptance and learns the importance of staying true to himself.

Release beautifully captures the complexity and turmoil of adolescence, while also addressing important social issues such as LGBTQ+ rights and the impact of religious beliefs on personal identity. Patrick Ness weaves together elements of magical realism and contemporary storytelling to create a poignant and thought-provoking narrative.

If you enjoyed the emotional depth and exploration of diverse identities in They Both Die at the End, Release is a must-read that will touch your heart and leave you contemplating life’s big questions.

Boy Erased by Garrard Conley

Boy Erased is a powerful memoir by Garrard Conley that recounts his experience growing up in a conservative Christian family and being sent to a conversion therapy program. The book explores themes of identity, sexuality, religion, and the impact of societal norms on individuals.

In Boy Erased, Conley shares his personal journey of self-discovery and the challenges he faced in reconciling his sexual orientation with his family’s beliefs. The book sheds light on the harmful and damaging effects of conversion therapy, which seeks to change an individual’s sexual orientation through psychological and sometimes physical means.

This thought-provoking memoir explores the complexities of identity and the importance of acceptance and self-acceptance. It is a must-read for anyone interested in understanding the experiences of LGBTQ+ individuals in religious and conservative communities.

The Wicker King by K. Ancrum

The Wicker King by K. Ancrum is a gripping and powerful novel that explores themes of friendship, mental health, and the blurred lines between reality and fantasy. The story follows August and Jack, two best friends who become entangled in a dangerous game that blurs the boundaries of their friendship and their sanity.

As August and Jack become more deeply immersed in their game, their lives begin to unravel. August is determined to protect Jack at all costs, even if it means sacrificing his own well-being. The intense and complex relationship between the two characters drives the narrative, as they navigate the challenges of their own personal demons and the consequences of their actions.

The Wicker King is a beautifully written and thought-provoking novel that delves into the complexities of mental health, exploring the impact that mental illness can have on individuals and their relationships. Ancrum skillfully crafts a story that keeps readers on the edge of their seats, with its dark and haunting atmosphere.

If you enjoyed They Both Die at the End, The Wicker King is a must-read. It shares similar themes of friendship, love, and the struggles of young characters facing difficult circumstances. It is a powerful and emotionally resonant novel that will stay with you long after you finish reading.

More Than This by Patrick ness

More Than This is a young adult novel written by Patrick Ness. This gripping and thought-provoking story follows Seth Wearing, a teenager who wakes up in what appears to be the afterlife. As Seth tries to understand his new reality, he uncovers shocking truths about the world he thought he knew.

This novel explores themes of identity, redemption, and the power of human connection. Like They Both Die At The End, More Than This delves into questions about life, death, and the meaning of existence.

With its compelling storytelling and complex characters, More Than This is a must-read for fans of Adam Silvera’s emotional and poignant novels.

Books Like They Both Die at the End – Final Thoughts

If you loved They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera and are looking for similar books, the must-read list above has you covered. These books explore themes of love, loss, and self-discovery, and are sure to captivate and touch your heart.

Whether you’re looking for a contemporary romance, a coming-of-age story, or a tale of LGBTQ+ representation, there’s something on this list for everyone. So, grab your favorite blanket, curl up with one of these fantastic novels, and get ready to experience a range of emotions.


First Published: September 22, 2023

Last Updated: October 9, 2023 – Updated list and added helpful information


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *