| | |

20 Chilling Books Like Verity by Colleen Hoover: Ultimate List

If you’re a fan of Colleen Hoover’s gripping thriller Verity, then get ready to discover your next favorite page-turner. We’ve compiled a list of 23 thrilling books that will keep you on the edge of your seat, just like Verity.

Books Like Verity by Colleen Hoover
Verity by Colleen Hoover

Books Like Verity by Colleen Hoover

From psychological mind games to twisted secrets and shocking revelations, these books will satisfy your craving for suspense. Get ready to immerse yourself in the gripping worlds created by authors like Alice Feeney, Gillian Flynn, and Ruth Ware. So grab a cozy blanket and prepare to embark on a thrilling reading journey!

01. The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

The Silent Patient is a gripping psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story revolves around Alicia Berenson, a famous painter who is accused of murdering her husband. After the murder, Alicia goes completely silent, refusing to speak a single word, leading to her institutionalization in a secure psychiatric facility.

Theo Faber, a psychotherapist, becomes obsessed with unraveling the mystery behind Alicia’s silence and the events that led to her husband’s murder. He is determined to make her speak and uncover the truth. As Theo delves deeper into Alicia’s past and explores her artwork, he uncovers shocking secrets that threaten to unravel everything.

The Silent Patient is a compelling and atmospheric thriller that explores themes of trauma, obsession, and the complexities of the human mind. It keeps readers guessing until the very end with its unexpected twists and turns. If you enjoyed the suspense and psychological depth of Verity by Colleen Hoover, The Silent Patient is a must-read.

02. Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

Sometimes I Lie is a thrilling psychological suspense novel by Alice Feeney. The story revolves around Amber Reynolds, who wakes up in a hospital in a coma. Unable to move or speak, Amber relies on her thoughts and memories to piece together the events leading up to her accident.

As Amber uncovers shocking secrets and hidden truths, the line between reality and her imagination becomes blurred. Twists and turns abound in this gripping tale of suspense, making it a must-read for fans of Verity.

If you enjoyed the gripping and twisty narrative of Verity, then Sometimes I Lie is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat. Dive into the mind of an unreliable narrator and unravel the truth behind Amber’s mysterious circumstances.

03. The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

The Wife Between Us is a gripping psychological thriller written by the talented duo of Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen. This novel explores the complex dynamics of marriage, deception, and obsession.

The story follows Vanessa, a woman who is divorced from her husband Richard, and Nellie, Richard’s new fiancee. As the plot unfolds, the readers are taken on a rollercoaster ride of twists and turns that keep them guessing until the very end.

The Wife Between Us employs a unique narrative structure that alternates between Vanessa and Nellie’s perspectives, allowing readers to piece together the truth behind their intertwined lives. The authors skillfully navigate themes of gaslighting, manipulation, and the lengths some people will go to protect their secrets.

With its cleverly crafted plot, well-developed characters, and unexpected plot twists, The Wife Between Us is a must-read for fans of psychological thrillers. If you enjoyed Verity by Colleen Hoover, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat and leave you wanting more.

04. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins is a gripping psychological thriller that keeps readers on the edge of their seats. The story follows Rachel Watson, a troubled alcoholic who becomes entangled in a missing persons investigation. As she becomes obsessed with the lives of a couple she sees from the train, Rachel’s own past and secrets begin to unravel.

The Girl on the Train is filled with twists and turns, unreliable narrators, and a suspenseful plot that will keep readers guessing until the very end. Hawkins’s writing skillfully delves into the complexities of memory, perception, and the unreliability of the human mind.

If you enjoyed the thrilling and suspenseful elements of “Verity” by Colleen Hoover, then “The Girl on the Train” is a must-read. It will keep you hooked from beginning to end, with its dark and twisted portrayal of human psychology and its fast-paced narrative.

05. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl is a thrilling psychological suspense novel written by Gillian Flynn. It tells the story of Nick Dunne, whose wife Amy goes missing on their fifth wedding anniversary. As the investigation unfolds, dark secrets and twisted truths are revealed, leaving readers questioning the nature of love, marriage, and identity.

Flynn masterfully crafts a narrative that keeps readers on the edge of their seats, with unexpected plot twists and unreliable narrators. The story alternates between Nick’s perspective and Amy’s diary entries, adding layers of complexity to the mystery.

Similar to Verity by Colleen Hoover, Gone Girl delves into themes of deception, manipulation, and the complexities of human relationships. It explores the dark side of marriage and the lengths people will go to maintain control and protect their secrets.

Readers who enjoyed Verity’s intense psychological suspense and intricate character dynamics are likely to find Gone Girl to be a gripping and thought-provoking read. Its combination of compelling storytelling, complex characters, and suspenseful twists makes it a standout thriller in the genre.

If you’re a fan of Verity and looking for your next thrilling read, be sure to check out Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.


RELATED POSTS

20 Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
16 Books Like The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
20 Books Like Divergent by Veronica Roth
13 Books Like The Giver by Lois Lowry


06. The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald

The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald is a gripping thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story follows Abi Knight, a single mother, as she investigates the mysterious death of her teenage daughter, Olivia. As Abi delves deeper into the investigation, she uncovers dark secrets and realizes that Olivia’s death may not have been an accident.

McDonald skillfully weaves together a compelling narrative with complex characters and unexpected twists. The suspense is palpable as Abi races against time to uncover the truth about her daughter’s death and protect her family.

If you enjoyed the psychological suspense and emotional intensity of Verity by Colleen Hoover, The Night Olivia Fell is a must-read. McDonald’s writing is taut and atmospheric, keeping readers hooked from start to finish.

With its compelling storyline and well-developed characters, The Night Olivia Fell is sure to satisfy fans of gripping thrillers.

07. The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn

The Woman in the Window is a gripping psychological thriller written by A.J. Finn. The story follows Anna Fox, an agoraphobic woman who spends her days inside her New York City home, observing her neighbors through her window. When she witnesses a crime in the house across the street, she becomes entangled in a web of secrets and deception.

The novel is filled with suspense and twists, keeping readers on the edge of their seats as they try to unravel the truth behind the mysterious events unfolding in Anna’s life. A.J. Finn’s writing style is atmospheric and immersive, making it easy for readers to become fully engrossed in the story.

Similar to Verity by Colleen Hoover, The Woman in the Window explores themes of fear, paranoia, and the unreliability of memory. Both books feature complex female protagonists who are forced to confront their own demons and face the consequences of their actions.

If you enjoyed the suspense and intensity of Verity, then The Woman in the Window is a must-read for you. It will keep you guessing until the very end and leave you questioning what is real and what is imagined.

08. An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

An Anonymous Girl is a gripping psychological thriller written by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen. The story follows Jessica Farris, a young makeup artist who becomes involved in a psychological study led by the enigmatic Dr. Shields.

As Jessica participates in the study, she soon realizes that Dr. Shields’ motives may not be as innocent as they seem. The lines between subject and researcher become blurred, and Jessica finds herself questioning who she can trust and what secrets are being hidden.

The novel is filled with twists and turns, keeping readers on the edge of their seats as they unravel the dark secrets and manipulations at the heart of the study. The complex characters, psychological tension, and immersive storytelling make An Anonymous Girl a thrilling read for fans of Verity.

If you enjoyed the gripping suspense and psychological depth of Verity, An Anonymous Girl is sure to satisfy your craving for a compelling thriller.

09. Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

Behind Closed Doors is a gripping psychological thriller by B.A. Paris that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story follows Grace and Jack, a seemingly perfect couple with a dark secret.

On the outside, Grace and Jack appear to have the perfect marriage and life. However, as the title suggests, things are not as they seem. Behind closed doors, Jack reveals his true sadistic nature, and Grace becomes trapped in a nightmare.

The book delves into the psychological manipulation and abuse that Grace endures at the hands of her husband. The tension and suspense build throughout the story as Grace tries to find a way to escape her terrifying situation.

B.A. Paris masterfully creates a sense of unease and dread throughout the book, making it difficult to put down. The story explores themes of control, manipulation, and the lengths one will go to for survival.

If you enjoyed the psychological suspense and twisted plot of “Verity” by Colleen Hoover, then “Behind Closed Doors” is a must-read. It will keep you guessing until the very end and leave you wanting more.

10. Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

Before I Go to Sleep is a gripping psychological thriller written by S.J. Watson. The story follows Christine Lucas, a woman who wakes up each morning with no memory of her past or who she is. As she tries to piece together her identity and unravel the truth, she discovers a diary she has been keeping, which reveals shocking secrets and a dangerous web of deceit.

The suspense in Before I Go to Sleep builds as Christine’s memory starts to unravel, and she questions everyone around her, including her husband, Ben. Watson masterfully crafts a story that keeps readers guessing and on the edge of their seats.

This thrilling novel explores themes of memory, identity, and trust. It delves into the fragile nature of memory and how it can be manipulated and distorted. The psychological aspect of the story adds to the suspense, as readers are taken on a journey through memory loss and the constant uncertainty of what is real and what is not.

If you enjoyed Verity by Colleen Hoover and are looking for another gripping thriller, Before I Go to Sleep is a must-read. Its unpredictable twists and turns will keep you enthralled until the very end.

11. The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney

The Girl Before is a gripping psychological thriller by J.P. Delaney. It follows the story of two women who, at different times, live in a minimalist house called One Folgate Street. Both women have experienced trauma in their lives and are looking for a fresh start.

The house at One Folgate Street is designed by an enigmatic architect named Edward Monkford, known for his strict rules and obsession with perfection. The women are required to adhere to a set of strict guidelines and answer a series of personal questions, leading to a sense of unease and mystery.

As the story unfolds, similarities between the two women’s experiences come to light, and they begin to question the safety and intentions of the house. The Girl Before is filled with twists and turns, keeping readers on the edge of their seats as they try to uncover the truth.

If you enjoyed Verity by Colleen Hoover and are looking for a similar thrilling read, The Girl Before is a great choice. It delves into themes of trust, control, and the darkness that can lurk beneath seemingly perfect surfaces.

12. The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica is a gripping psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story follows the disappearance of Mia Dennett, a young woman who is kidnapped and held captive by her kidnapper. As the search for Mia intensifies, the truth behind her abduction is slowly revealed, uncovering shocking secrets and unexpected twists.

Kubica masterfully weaves together multiple perspectives and timelines, creating a suspenseful narrative that keeps readers guessing until the very end. The complex characters and intricate plot make The Good Girl a riveting read that explores themes of family, love, and the lengths one will go to protect those they care about.

If you enjoyed Verity by Colleen Hoover, you will likely find The Good Girl to be a thrilling and engrossing read. Both novels delve into the dark and twisted aspects of human nature, keeping readers hooked with their suspenseful storylines and well-developed characters.

If you’re a fan of psychological thrillers with intense plots and unexpected twists, The Good Girl is a must-read. Mary Kubica’s compelling storytelling and gripping suspense will leave you eager to read more from this talented author.

13. The Breakdown by B.A. Paris

The Breakdown is a thrilling psychological suspense novel written by B.A. Paris. It tells the story of Cass Anderson, a woman who becomes increasingly paranoid after witnessing a disturbing event on a deserted road during a stormy night.

As Cass’s fear and anxiety worsen, she begins to question her memory and judgment. She starts receiving silent phone calls and notices strange occurrences around her house. As she becomes more isolated and distrustful, she wonders if she is losing her mind or if there is a sinister presence stalking her.

B.A. Paris expertly builds suspense and keeps readers on the edge of their seats as they follow Cass’s journey to uncover the truth. With twists and turns, The Breakdown explores themes of trust, guilt, and the power of the mind.

If you enjoyed Verity by Colleen Hoover and are looking for a similar thrilling read, The Breakdown is a compelling choice. It will keep you guessing until the final pages and leave you questioning the reliability of your own perceptions.

14. Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Sharp Objects is a thrilling novel by Gillian Flynn that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story follows journalist Camille Preaker as she returns to her hometown to cover the murders of two young girls. As Camille delves deeper into the investigation, she must confront her own troubled past and face the dark secrets that haunt her family.

With its gripping storyline and complex characters, Sharp Objects is a must-read for fans of psychological thrillers. Gillian Flynn’s writing is both captivating and haunting, making it difficult to put the book down. The atmosphere of the small town adds an eerie element to the story, amplifying the sense of suspense and tension.

If you enjoyed Verity by Colleen Hoover, you’ll definitely want to add Sharp Objects to your reading list. Both books explore the darker side of human nature and delve into the secrets that people try to hide. The psychological twists and turns will keep you guessing until the very end.

So if you’re looking for a thrilling read that will leave you breathless, pick up a copy of Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn.

15. The Other Woman by Sandie Jones

The Other Woman by Sandie Jones is a gripping psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story revolves around Emily, who falls in love with a man named Adam. Everything seems perfect until she realizes that his mother, Pammie, will stop at nothing to ensure that Emily never becomes a part of their family.

The Other Woman explores themes of obsession, manipulation, and family dynamics. It delves into the lengths a person might go to protect their loved ones and the psychological games that can be played within relationships. As Emily tries to navigate her new life with Adam, she becomes increasingly suspicious of Pammie’s motives and must uncover the truth before it is too late.

If you enjoyed Verity by Colleen Hoover and are looking for a similar thrilling read, The Other Woman is a great choice. Sandie Jones crafts a suspenseful narrative that will keep you guessing until the very end.

16. The Lying Game by Ruth Ware

The Lying Game is a thrilling novel by Ruth Ware that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. The story follows a group of friends who played a dangerous game of lies and secrets during their boarding school days. Years later, they are forced to confront the consequences of their actions when a body is discovered.

Ruth Ware is known for her gripping suspense and intricate storytelling, and The Lying Game is no exception. The book is filled with twists and turns that will keep readers guessing until the very end. The atmospheric setting adds to the sense of unease and tension, making it a perfect choice for fans of psychological thrillers.

The characters in The Lying Game are well-developed and complex, each with their own secrets and motivations. As the layers of deception are peeled back, readers will find themselves questioning who can be trusted and who is telling the truth.

With its compelling plot and immersive writing, The Lying Game is a must-read for fans of Verity by Colleen Hoover. If you’re looking for a gripping thriller that will keep you guessing, this book is sure to deliver.

17. The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena is a gripping psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story revolves around Anne and Marco, a young couple who attend a dinner party at their neighbor’s house, leaving their baby alone in their apartment. When they return home, they discover their baby is missing.

The novel delves into the complexities of marriage, the secrets we keep, and the lengths we would go to protect our loved ones. As the investigation unfolds, shocking revelations and unexpected twists emerge, keeping readers guessing until the very end.

Lapena’s writing style is fast-paced and suspenseful, creating a sense of urgency that will make it hard to put this book down. The characters are well-developed and flawed, adding depth to the story and making it even more captivating.

If you enjoyed the suspenseful and twist-filled plot of Verity by Colleen Hoover, you will definitely find The Couple Next Door to be a thrilling read. Lapena’s ability to keep readers guessing and her skillful storytelling make this book a must-read for fans of psychological thrillers.

18. The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine

The Last Mrs. Parrish is a gripping psychological thriller by Liv Constantine. The story follows Amber Patterson, a woman who becomes infatuated with the glamorous and wealthy Daphne Parrish. Determined to live Daphne’s seemingly perfect life, Amber worms her way into the Parrish family, orchestrating a plan to topple Daphne from her pedestal.

This twisty and suspenseful novel explores themes of manipulation, deceit, and revenge. As the story unfolds, readers are taken on a thrilling journey filled with unexpected twists and turns. The Last Mrs. Parrish is a page-turner that will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very end.

If you enjoyed the gripping and suspenseful nature of Colleen Hoover’s “Verity,” you are sure to love The Last Mrs. Parrish. Both books delve into dark secrets and explore the complex dynamics of relationships, keeping readers captivated from start to finish.

19. The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda

The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda is a gripping thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story follows Leah, a former journalist who moves to a small town to start over. But when a woman who looks strikingly similar to Leah goes missing, she becomes entangled in a dangerous web of secrets and lies.

Megan Miranda’s writing is atmospheric and suspenseful, capturing the reader’s attention from the very first page. The story is filled with twists and turns, making it impossible to put down. As Leah delves deeper into the mystery, she uncovers shocking revelations about her new town and the people in it.

With its complex characters and intricately woven plot, The Perfect Stranger is a thrilling read that will leave you guessing until the very end. If you enjoyed Verity by Colleen Hoover, you won’t be able to put down this book.

If you’re looking for a gripping thriller that will keep you guessing, The Perfect Stranger is a must-read. Megan Miranda’s masterful storytelling will leave you breathless and eager to read more of her work.

20. The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware

The Death of Mrs. Westaway is a gripping psychological thriller written by Ruth Ware. The story follows Harriet “Hal” Westaway, a young woman struggling to make ends meet as a tarot card reader. Hal receives a mysterious letter informing her of a substantial inheritance from her late grandmother, Mrs. Westaway. Intrigued by the possibility of financial relief, Hal decides to attend the funeral and claim the inheritance.

However, as Hal delves deeper into the secrets of the Westaway family, she begins to suspect that there is more to her grandmother’s death and the inheritance than meets the eye. With the help of her tarot cards and her sharp intuition, Hal uncovers a web of deception, dark family secrets, and a chilling connection to her own past.

Ruth Ware skillfully weaves a suspenseful narrative, keeping readers on the edge of their seats with each twist and turn. The Death of Mrs. Westaway is a captivating thriller that will keep you guessing until the very end.

Books Like Verity by Colleen Hoover – Final Thoughts

If you enjoyed the thrilling and captivating novel, “Verity” by Colleen Hoover, you’re in luck! There are many other books in the same genre that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Some great recommendations include “The Silent Patient” by Alex Michaelides, “Sometimes I Lie” by Alice Feeney, and “The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins. These books are filled with suspense, mystery, and twists that will leave you in awe.

So, if you’re looking for your next thrilling read, be sure to check out these suggestions. Get ready to dive into a world of intrigue and suspense that will keep you guessing until the very end. Happy readin