| |

20 Great & Incredible Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Growing in the marsh and abandoned by the family, Kya has to survive each day with her guts and survival instincts. Accused by the townspeople for the murder of her once love trope, Chase Andrews, her fight against the laws made everything a wild ride.

Where the Crawdads Sing will always have a seat in my most favorite books of all time. Storytelling of Delia Owens is genius!

Books like Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

And if you’re a fan of the bestselling book Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens and are looking for similar reads to sink your teeth into, you’ve come to the right place!

I have curated a list of books that capture the same engrossing storytelling and atmospheric charm. From the haunting memoir Educated by Tara Westover to the captivating narrative of survival in The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah, these recommended books are sure to keep you hooked until the very last page.

Books Similar To Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens is a compelling coming-of-age story and a murder mystery set in the marshes of North Carolina. The novel follows Kya, a young girl who becomes known as the Marsh Girl as she grows up alone in the wilderness.

Owens beautifully captures the lush and atmospheric setting of the marshes, immersing readers in the natural world and Kya’s solitary life. The novel explores themes of loneliness, resilience, and the power of nature.

If you enjoyed Where the Crawdads Sing, here are some recommendations for similar books:

  • Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover
  • The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
  • Before We Were Strangers by Renée Carlino
  • Circe by Madeline Miller
  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
  • Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng
  • The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo
  • The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  • The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides
  • Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
  • The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison
  • An American Marriage by Tayari Jones
  • Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
  • The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
  • Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
  • The Secret History by Donna Tartt
  • The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  • The Help by Kathryn Stockett

These books offer compelling stories, richly drawn characters, and thought-provoking themes that fans of Where the Crawdads Sing are sure to appreciate.

Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover

Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover

Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover is a powerful and inspiring memoir that tells the story of Tara’s journey from growing up in a strict and abusive household in rural Idaho to eventually pursuing an education and breaking free from the confines of her past.

In this memoir, Tara shares her experiences of growing up in a family that did not believe in formal education and was distrustful of the outside world. Despite facing many challenges and obstacles, Tara’s determination and thirst for knowledge lead her to self-educate herself and eventually gain acceptance into prestigious universities.

Tara reflects on the impact that her upbringing had on her sense of self and her relationships with her family members, as well as the profound changes that occurred when she began to see the world through a different lens.

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

The Great Alone is a captivating novel by Kristin Hannah that shares similar themes and settings to Where the Crawdads Sing. Set in the wilderness of Alaska, the story follows the Allbright family as they attempt to start a new life off the grid.

The protagonist, Leni Allbright, is a young girl who must navigate the challenges of living in a harsh and isolated environment with her unpredictable and volatile father. As they face the harsh realities of the Alaskan wilderness, Leni develops a deep inner strength and resilience.

Like Where the Crawdads Sing, The Great Alone explores themes of survival, love, and the power of nature. It beautifully captures the untamed beauty of the Alaskan landscape and the raw emotions of its characters.

Before We Were Strangers by Renée Carlino

Before We Were Strangers by Renée Carlino

Before We Were Strangers is a contemporary romance novel written by Renée Carlino. The story follows the lives of Matt and Grace, who were once deeply in love and unexpectedly cross paths after fifteen years of separation.

The novel beautifully explores themes of love, loss, and the power of second chances. It delves into the complexities of relationships and the choices we make that can shape our lives.

Readers who enjoyed the compelling storyline and emotional depth of Where the Crawdads Sing may find Before We Were Strangers to be a captivating read. It combines heartfelt moments, engaging characters, and a touch of nostalgia to create a memorable and touching love story.

If you’re looking for a book that will tug at your heartstrings and keep you hooked from start to finish, Before We Were Strangers is a great choice.

Circe by Madeline Miller

Circe by Madeline Miller

Circe is a highly acclaimed novel by Madeline Miller that takes readers on a captivating journey through Greek mythology. The book reimagines the story of the sorceress Circe, who is known for her encounters with famous mythological figures such as Odysseus and the Minotaur.

In Circe, Miller explores the complexities of power, love, and identity through the perspective of this often misunderstood character. The novel delves deep into Circe’s motivations, struggles, and growth as she navigates a world filled with gods and mortals.

Miller’s writing is lyrical and evocative, bringing the ancient world to life with vivid descriptions and immersive storytelling. Readers will be enthralled by the rich tapestry of mythology woven throughout the narrative and the way in which Circe’s story intertwines with familiar tales from Greek mythology.

Circe is a must-read for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing, as it shares a similar blend of compelling characters, atmospheric settings, and exploration of humanity’s complexities. It is a book that will transport readers to another time and place, leaving a lasting impact on their hearts and minds.

Related: 16 Books Like The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, written by Scottish author Gail Honeyman, was first published in 2017 and quickly gained widespread acclaim for its unique and compelling story.

The story revolves around the life of Eleanor Oliphant, a socially awkward and isolated woman in her thirties who works in an office in Glasgow, Scotland. Eleanor’s life is regimented and solitary, and she has a difficult time connecting with others due to her blunt and unconventional demeanor. She lives a highly structured life that includes regular phone calls with her volatile mother and weekly trips to the supermarket.

Eleanor’s life takes a turn when she meets Raymond, a colleague from her office, and they become unlikely friends. Through her interactions with Raymond and others, Eleanor begins to confront her past trauma and start on a journey of self-discovery.

Eleanor’s quirky and observant narrative style provides insight into her unique perspective on the world. Readers follow her as she navigates the challenges of breaking out of her shell and attempting to live a more fulfilling life.

The book’s exploration of mental health and the healing power of human connection resonated with many readers, making it a popular choice for book clubs and discussions on topics related to loneliness and isolation. It’s a novel that combines elements of humor, heartache, and hope, making it a memorable and thought-provoking read.

Related: 10 Books Like When Breath Becomes Air By Paul Kalanithi

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Little Fires Everywhere is a captivating novel by Celeste Ng that explores themes of identity, motherhood, and the complexities of relationships. Set in the 1990s in a suburban town in Ohio, the story follows the lives of two families – the Richardsons and the Warrens.

The Richardsons are a well-off family living a seemingly perfect life, while the Warrens are a mother and daughter who have recently moved to town and lead a more nomadic and unconventional lifestyle. The lives of these two families become intertwined when the Warrens rent a house from the Richardsons and a custody battle over a Chinese-American baby divides the town.

Ng’s writing is powerful and thought-provoking, delving into topics such as race, privilege, and the intricacies of motherhood. The characters are complex and well-developed, each with their own secrets and motivations. Ng navigates these themes with empathy and nuance, challenging readers to question their own biases and assumptions.

Little Fires Everywhere is a gripping and deeply moving novel that will keep you engrossed from beginning to end. If you enjoyed the atmospheric setting and complex relationships in Where the Crawdads Sing, you will likely find Little Fires Everywhere to be a compelling read.

Related: 20 Books Like Divergent by Veronica Roth

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo is a captivating novel exploring love, loss, and the choices we make.

It tells the story of Lucy and Gabe, two college students who meet on September 11, 2001, and are drawn to each other amidst the chaos and tragedy. Despite their undeniable connection, their lives take them in different directions, leading them to make choices that shape their futures.

This emotional and thought-provoking novel delves into themes of unrequited love, fate, and the impact of our decisions on the course of our lives. It explores the complexities of relationships and the lingering effects of past romances. Through its vivid prose and heartfelt storytelling, The Light We Lost will leave you reflecting on the power of love and the choices we make that can change the course of our lives.

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

The Nightingale, written by Kristin Hannah, is a historical fiction novel set during World War II in France. It tells the story of two sisters, Vianne and Isabelle, who navigate the challenges and dangers of the war in their own unique ways.

Vianne, the older sister, finds herself forced to make difficult choices as she struggles to protect her family and home. Isabelle, on the other hand, becomes involved in the French Resistance and takes on daring missions to help save lives.

This emotionally gripping novel explores themes of love, sacrifice, resilience, and the power of sisterhood. It offers a poignant and captivating portrayal of the human spirit during times of great adversity.

If you enjoyed the compelling storytelling and historical backdrop of Where the Crawdads Sing, The Nightingale is a fantastic recommendation. Both books immerse readers in richly detailed worlds and delve into the complexity of human relationships amidst challenging circumstances.

Other readers have praised The Nightingale for its vivid descriptions, well-developed characters, and its ability to evoke a wide range of emotions. It is a powerful and thought-provoking read that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page.

Related: Books A High Schooler Should Read

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train is a psychological thriller novel written by Paula Hawkins. We follow Rachel Watson, a woman who takes the same train every day and becomes involved in a missing person investigation. The novel explores themes of obsession, deception, and the complexities of memory.

Hawkins’ gripping storytelling and intricate plot twists have drawn comparisons to Where the Crawdads Sing. If you enjoyed the atmospheric setting and the unreliable narrator in Where the Crawdads Sing, you may find The Girl on the Train to be a compelling read.

Related: 13 Books Like The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

The Silent Patient is a gripping psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story revolves around Alicia Berenson, a renowned painter who has committed a horrific crime. She shot her husband multiple times and then went completely silent, refusing to speak or give any explanation for her actions.

Theo Faber, a psychotherapist, becomes fascinated with Alicia’s case and is determined to uncover the truth behind her silence. As Theo delves deeper into Alicia’s past and tries to unravel the mystery, he discovers shocking secrets and hidden motives that make him question everything he thought he knew.

The Silent Patient is a page-turner that explores themes of love, betrayal, and the complexities of the human mind. It keeps readers guessing until the very end, with unexpected twists and a shocking revelation that will leave you speechless.

If you enjoyed the suspense and psychological depth of Where the Crawdads Sing, The Silent Patient is a must-read that will keep you enthralled from start to finish.

Where'd You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple

Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple

Where’d You Go, Bernadette is a novel by Maria Semple that follows the story of Bernadette Fox, an eccentric and reclusive architect who goes missing just before a family trip to Antarctica. The book is told through a series of emails, documents, and conversations, providing a unique and engaging narrative style.

This witty and satirical novel explores themes of identity, motherhood, and creativity. It delves into the complexities of Bernadette’s character, her struggles with social anxiety and her unconventional approach to life. The story takes readers on an adventure as Bernadette’s daughter, Bee, tries to unravel the mystery of her mother’s disappearance.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette is praised for its humor, sharp observations, and relatable characters. It offers a thoughtful exploration of the pressures of modern life and the importance of embracing one’s true self.

The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison

The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison

The Silent Wife is a psychological thriller novel written by Canadian author A.S.A. Harrison. It was published in 2013, and unfortunately, it turned out to be the author’s final work as she passed away shortly before the book‘s release. Despite the author’s untimely death, the novel gained significant attention and acclaim in the thriller genre.

The story in The Silent Wife revolves around a couple, Jodi and Todd, who have been living together in a long-term, common-law relationship for over twenty years. Jodi is a psychotherapist, and Todd is a property developer. On the surface, their life together seems stable and content, but beneath the facade, their relationship is crumbling.

It becomes apparent that both Jodi and Todd are flawed individuals, and their lives begin to unravel. Todd embarks on an affair with a younger woman, while Jodi becomes increasingly obsessed with maintaining the stability of their relationship.

The Silent Wife is known for its psychological depth and its exploration of the inner lives of its characters. It delves into the minds of Jodi and Todd, providing insight into their thoughts, motivations, and the secrets they keep from each other. The novel is a slow-burning psychological thriller that builds tension as it explores the psychological dynamics between the characters.

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

An American Marriage is a compelling novel by Tayari Jones that explores race, love, and the criminal justice system in America. The story revolves around a newly married couple, Roy and Celestial, whose lives are turned upside down when Roy is wrongfully convicted of a crime he did not commit.

Jones masterfully delves into the complexities of their relationship as it is tested by the circumstances they face. The novel explores themes of love, loyalty, betrayal, and the enduring power of hope. It provides a powerful commentary on the injustices and systemic racism that plague the American legal system.

An American Marriage is a thought-provoking and emotionally resonant novel that challenges readers to examine their beliefs about love, marriage, and societal expectations. It is a compelling read that will leave a lasting impact.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies is a gripping novel by Liane Moriarty exploring dark secrets and complex relationships within a group of mothers in a coastal town. The story revolves around a mysterious death at a school trivia night and the unraveling of the events leading up to it.

Similar to Where the Crawdads Sing, Big Little Lies delves into the intricate lives of its characters, uncovering hidden truths and unraveling the consequences of their actions. Both books feature strong female protagonists and address themes of friendship, motherhood, and societal pressures.

Liane Moriarty’s writing style captivates readers with her character development and skillful storytelling. The narrative is filled with suspense and twists, keeping readers engaged until the very end.

Additionally, Big Little Lies was adapted into a popular television series, further highlighting its popularity and widespread appeal.

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

The Goldfinch is a Pulitzer Prize-winning novel by Donna Tartt that tells the story of a young boy named Theo Decker who survives a terrorist attack at an art museum and becomes entangled in a world of art, crime, and deception. If you enjoyed the atmospheric and character-driven storytelling of Where the Crawdads Sing, you might also enjoy The Goldfinch.

Tartt’s novel delves into themes of loss, identity, and the power of art to shape our lives. It is a coming-of-age story that spans decades and takes readers from the streets of New York City to the shadowy underworld of the art market.

Like Where the Crawdads Sing, The Goldfinch is a compelling and immersive read that explores the complexities of human nature and the ways in which our choices can shape our lives. Tartt’s prose is rich and evocative, bringing the settings and characters to life in vivid detail.

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Dark Places is a gripping psychological thriller written by Gillian Flynn, known for her suspenseful and twisted storytelling. The book follows the story of Libby Day, the sole survivor of a brutal massacre that took place in her childhood home. As she investigates the events of that fateful night, Libby uncovers dark secrets and confronts her own traumatic past.

Gillian Flynn’s writing style is known for its gritty realism and complex characters. If you enjoyed the atmospheric setting and intense mystery of “Where the Crawdads Sing,” you’ll likely find “Dark Places” to be a compelling read.

Similar to Where the Crawdads Sing, Dark Places delves into family secrets, unreliable narrators, and the impact of trauma on individuals’ lives. The narrative explores the complexities of human nature and the ways in which the past can shape the present.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

The Secret History by Donna Tartt is a gripping and atmospheric novel that explores themes of friendship, obsession, and the consequences of secrets. If you enjoyed the immersive storytelling and psychological depth of Where the Crawdads Sing, then The Secret History is a book you should consider adding to your reading list.

The Secret History follows a group of students at an elite college in New England who become entangled in a dark and twisted secret. As their obsession with ancient Greek studies and a charismatic and enigmatic professor grows, they find themselves drawn into a world of deception, betrayal, and murder.

Tartt’s writing is richly detailed and evocative, bringing the fictional world of the book to life. She masterfully explores the complexities of human nature, delving into the characters’ motivations and the moral dilemmas they face. Like Where the Crawdads Sing, The Secret History delves into the darker aspects of human behavior and the consequences of our actions.

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

The Wife Between Us is a psychological thriller written by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen. The story follows a woman named Vanessa who is divorced from her wealthy husband Richard and becomes obsessed with his new fiancée, Nellie. As Vanessa delves deeper into Nellie’s life, she uncovers shocking secrets that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

The Wife Between Us is a suspenseful and twisty novel that explores themes of love, obsession, and betrayal. Fans of Where the Crawdads Sing who enjoy psychological thrillers with unreliable narrators and unexpected plot twists will likely find this book to be a captivating read.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

“Gone Girl” is a psychological thriller novel written by American author Gillian Flynn. It was first published in 2012 and quickly became a bestseller, receiving critical acclaim and gaining widespread attention.

The novel’s plot revolves around the mysterious disappearance of Amy Elliott Dunne on her fifth wedding anniversary. The story is narrated from the alternating perspectives of Amy and her husband, Nick Dunne. As the investigation unfolds, both Nick and Amy become unreliable narrators, and the novel explores themes of marriage, deception, and the dark aspects of human relationships.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

The Kite Runner is a powerful and moving novel by Khaled Hosseini that explores themes of friendship, betrayal, and redemption. Set in Afghanistan, the story follows Amir, a young boy from Kabul, and his relationship with his friend and servant, Hassan.

The Kite Runner delves into the complex dynamics of class, religion, and ethnic tensions within Afghanistan, providing a nuanced and thought-provoking portrayal of the country’s history and culture. Hosseini’s beautifully descriptive writing draws readers into the lives of his characters, making them feel deeply invested in their struggles and triumphs.

If you enjoyed the emotional depth and rich storytelling of Where the Crawdads Sing, The Kite Runner is a compelling read that will captivate you from start to finish. It offers a similar exploration of complex relationships and the consequences of past actions, ultimately delivering a poignant and unforgettable tale.

Other notable works by Khaled Hosseini include A Thousand Splendid Suns and And the Mountains Echoed, both of which delve into themes of love, family, and resilience in the face of adversity.

Is there a sequel to Where the Crawdads Sing?

No, unfortunately, there’s no sequel of the story of our dearest Kya.

Where the Crawdads Sing book style?

Where the Crawdads Sing has a descriptive and immersive style. The author, Delia Owens, uses vivid language to bring the North Carolina marshes to life. The story is a mix of a coming-of-age tale, a love story, and a mystery. Owens’ writing is known for its ability to make readers feel connected to the characters and the natural setting, creating a compelling and atmospheric read.

What is Where the Crawdads Sing inspired by?

Where the Crawdads Sing is a fictional story, but Delia Owens, the author, drew inspiration from her background as a wildlife scientist. Her love for nature is evident in the detailed portrayal of the North Carolina marshes. The book explores themes of loneliness and resilience but is not directly based on real events. Instead, it combines elements of nature and human relationships into a captivating tale.

Did Chase actually love Kya?

No, Chase did not love Kya. In Where the Crawdads Sing, Chase Andrews does show affection and interest in Kya at times, but the nature of his feelings is complex. Without revealing too many spoilers, it becomes evident in the story that Chase’s actions are driven by a combination of emotions, including personal desires and societal expectations.

Books Like Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens – Final Thoughts

If you enjoyed the captivating storytelling and immersive atmosphere of Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens, you’ll definitely want to check out these similar reads. Books like Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover, The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah, and The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah offer compelling narratives and rich character development that will keep you engrossed from start to finish.

Other recommendations include Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng, The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, and Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, which all provide gripping plots and thought-provoking themes.

Whether you’re in the mood for a captivating memoir, a thrilling mystery, or a heart-wrenching historical fiction, these books will provide the same level of enjoyment and satisfaction as Where the Crawdads Sing. So curl up with a good book and let your imagination soar.


First published – October 23, 2023
Updated – February 22, 2024 – Edited book descriptions and added better internal linkings